On The Concept Of An Offline MMOG

in #games8 years ago (edited)

I was inspired recently by a collaboration video recently with @andrachy and @churdtzu. If I am being factual, I might have dismissed it, had I had read it correctly. He was walking about an MMOG using blockchain technology. Sweet! This is a guy who gets some eyeballs on his work and he's interested in something I have been thinking about for awhile, I gotta reach out to him. I'm dusting off old ideas and getting ready to type something up. I like to do my due diligence and be informed, I need to know what aspects about this has him passionate and appeal to those same concepts. So I start watching, let's see who my target is.

Oh, I Missed That Part

To be efficient, your brain fills in areas of certainty or extreme familiarity. The word starts with an O and has a lot of letters after that, plus the words before it were massive and multiplayer. After a confusing start, I start to realize what he is saying. It's an early idea, but it was the reverse of what everything I had been thinking about.

Offline? How's That Going To Look?

It's a bit of wall when you think about it literally, as I tend to do. Offline, there's no way to convey the information. I had to challenge myself to get a bit loose with the definition of offline to mean something like logging out. Thinking about it a little more, the most popular game currently appeals to players with it's augmented reality. What if offline meant without that little window that shows a film display overlaying the world we are in. What if we got rid of the phone as the window to the world we are playing in?

Incentivized Play


I came across a reddit thread when I was trying to think how to phrase the question to get results. Here is what I stumbled across:
Outside - The Free To Play MMO
Reddit, with a simple reward system of kudos and downvotes. Has a very early idea of an offline MMO. Life is lived, but how you are thinking about each day begins to change. They don't offer a portal to a digital world, they offer you a way to connect deeper in this one.

Gamifying Reality


Approaching life the same way you would a game your excited to play, that starts to change your life. Imagining how that looks is a bit difficult. I had an idea, but then I was forced to hold off this post for two days, and it grew as it got simpler. We have a platform already here that incentivizes behavior; creativity, fraudulent behavior (if they get away with it), optimizing curation rewards and much more. What could we change to bring that to the world?

Change One Thing

Imagine what it could mean if the rewards of a post could be selected to pay to author, or be paid to escrow.
If I could make a post about my amazing hike, and the rewards from the post would go the first person that satisfied the conditions they went on the hike themselves.
If I could create a challenge, make the first 20 commentor's eligible for the reward, they just have to unamiously agree which one gets the reward.
There is no limit. Anyone could really post anything, and we get to decide which games we want to play, and the reward available to see. Instead of posts, we have Quests and instead of an avatar, you are the hero.... or maybe the villian.

Ultimately, It's About The Players


The above are suggestions only. I present my ideas about what it could look like, but ultimately every part of the game would be about the players. The economic inventives steemit offers would continue, but imagine creating rewards for people that have been inspired by you. Quest Issuers would keep the steem power of the post once the conditions are met for two reasons.
Firstly, it doesn't ask for a change to the system as I would hope an escrow account or conditional payout could be instituted as it only affects the steem dollars which are always transferable.
Second. Who doesn't like a good dungeon master?

The Dream

Steemit has reawakened a part in the majority of us the world has said has no value. When was the last time any of us has had to dig deep within ourselves to amuse/entertain/inform/delight/etc. Life has taught us it is not rewarding to dig below the surface of ourselves, steemit has rewarded us for doing just that. I can easily imagine a platform like this rewarding play and self-discovery the same way. Imagine flying to the Bahamas to claim a prize diving off the coast of New Providence Island, exploring a cave behind a waterfall for treasure. I will borrow a phrase from @churdtzu... Imagine being a real life Indiana Jones.

This post was inspired by these two articles and concepts. I highly recommend reading and listening.
@paradise-paradox: Indiana Jones in real life: A game concept
@andrarchy: My interview with @churdtzu About my MMOG
photo credits
Hidden Treasure Wall: http://chickgeek.org/video-games-in-real-life/
Colorful Throne: 46 Game Of Thrones Memes That Will Give You Life
Steemit # introduceyourself collage: Every one I have been able to find so far.

Sort:  

Thanks for the mention @clevecross. Actually, @andrarchy was the one who coined the "Indiana Jones" phrase. It's a fun way to convey the idea.

In the interview we brought up how Ethereum and Steemit might be combined, and that might be a way to implement the things you're talking about. The Ethereum contract somehow locks up the post rewards from Steemit, and then you have a team of moderators who decides when the mission is complete. Might be tricky to implement, but now that the idea is out there, it's only a matter of time until someone figures out how to do it.

Great post.

Yeah..... It would be tricky, especially the implementation/terms of completion part, but wouldn't it be a lot of fun? lol. I am trying to think up something fun and simple for the SBD rewards..... a large scale would require something more.... funds "locked up" as you say, even ideally growing interest so it gets bigger over time...... but I can start simple.

This phrase resonates deeply with me: "Steemit has reawakened a part in the majority of us the world has said has no value. When was the last time any of us has had to dig deep within ourselves to amuse/entertain/inform/delight/etc. Life has taught us it is not rewarding to dig below the surface of ourselves, steemit has rewarded us for doing just that."
I think you're right it does! I look forward to playing your games, and having you play some of mine.

Thank you very much. I am being a good dungeon master and thinking up something to offer with the rewards from this post ;)

@reneenouveau Welcome to the dungeon of my mind...

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.3

Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise. Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56430.09
ETH 2323.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35