The first edition of the SteemitJam has begun! The theme is "Protect it". Read this post if you are participating!

in #gamedev7 years ago

The first edition of the SteemitJam has started! The deadline to submit your game respecting the theme "Protect it" is January 8th at 1am GMT (48 hours from this post).

If you have not read this post you should read it before participating.

steemitjam.png

Modification of the 'winning' system

I greatly appreciated the feedback I have received from the Steemit community. I decided that there will not be any 'official winner'.

Instead, I encourage people to write blog posts on their favorite games. These posts will bring attention to the author of the respective game. I will personally review each game (Oh and don't forget to support Linux systems! I also have Windows on another computer though). I will say what I liked about them and what is to improve. I will also pick my personal favorites for different categories (Fun, sound, art, innovation and overall). I encourage people to do so, but it is not mandatory.

SteemitJam related posts

All SteemitJam related posts should go under #steemitjam. Once your game is finished, please submit it under #steemitjamsubmission.

Theme choice

I selected a random theme from the list on the bottom of this post. The generation was made seconds before I published this blog post (I'm writing it entirely and then generating the theme at exactly 1am GMT). I'm using my Trustless Random Generator as a proof I did not select the theme a few hours ago.
Here is the output of the generation :

From the btc blockchain...
Hash used : 00000000000000000025902e05b01e2ecbb24d32c8ffb6b71aa96c7f5d7abae1
Hash time : 2018-01-06T00:55:31.460314031Z
Seed used 223255641, which is d7abae1's hashcode
Result : Protect it
Sort:  

Hey @loomy, I paushed making the game without having a playable version, if you have time I wish you read my 'Project announcement' and tell me your opinion: https://steemit.com/steemitjam/@ahmadmanga/steemitjam-entry-not-steem-ocean-working-title-project-announcement

and it's on!
let's make sure you stick to the theme protect it

Have a great day! I'm going to bed now! :) Gotta be rested!

btw i didn't know about ludum dare until you mentioned it. it's a great concept. much of my perception has changed after looking into it.

for this first steemitjam i might take it easy, meaning i'll be focusing on basic code and framework and less so about art.
but as we have more and more steemitjams i'll gravitate heavily towards making everything on my own. 100%.

Great, in my opinion it's better to have bad art than take free ones in a jam. This is my last entry (Scroll down a bit, then you can see that I did not care about the art). Join Poet's discord if you want to chat!

Congrats for the start!!

I had my idea for a game and decided to only make it if I can incopurate the theme in it somehow.

While I can put "Protect it" in this game I don't know if I can put it in the prototype/alpha version which would be made now.

Still thinking if I should change my game mechanic to make the theme Protect it more important, make the game without incorporating the theme in the first stages (which will be made during the contest)... or make another game all together. What do you think?

Sure! I always do something new in a jam though, but if you think the theme can fit in, you can try it!

Maybe we can word some bit of text that everyone can stick at the end of their posts to link here so if anyone stumbles onto any related post it'll be easy for them to find the rest of the info?

Something like:

This is a steemitJam post, a game development challenge in 48 hours. The theme was chosen randomly and is Protect It.
If you'd like to see submissions, check the #steemitjamsubmission tag, or #steemitjam for all other related post.
Here is the announcement post.

Also, I made a discord server head over if you feel like chatting!

I'd so join if my javascript was sharp. I already have an idea!

I lost more than half of the 1st day & barely made the bare bones by now. Wow!! I feel tired... I just hope I can make it.

Make sure you sleep! That's the secret trick! ;) I can't wait to see your entry!

This is a great idea!

Unfortunately, this game jam has reached the deadline. I hope to see you in the next one :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60787.79
ETH 3242.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46