SteemitJam Entry [Not?]: STEEM OCEAN (working title) Project Announcement

in #steemitjam7 years ago (edited)

A STEEM Simulator game, will you be the biggest fish in the community?

A game I'm making for #steemitjam, though I;m not sure if I'd submit it as I won't have a working version on time. I'll now say that this is a hobbyist work created for fun.

Roomy.png
(All images are placeholders)

I call it STEEM OCEAN (working title)...

STEEM OCEAN

  • Platform: HTML5 Game.
  • Engine: Construct 2 Personal Edition.
  • Controls: Keyboard.
  • Version: Pre-Prototype.

It's a STEEM simulator project, with users being replaced by fishes, and whale... A picture from the prototype is above... The goal is to become a good STEEMER and become a bigger 'fish' in the community.

The game supposed to be an idle game, after a bit of playing you don't make much of input as you see your Power Rise and turn from a red fish into a huge steemit whale. So even as its creator I'd say it'll probably be a bit boring game (but I'm challenging myself to make it engaging)


The (Planned) Gameplay

The player starts as a "Red fish" which is the lowest rank on steemit according to @steemitboard.

(Red Fish -> Minnow -> Dolphin -> Small Whale -> Big Whale)

As a player you find yourself in the steem ocean where there's a lot of fishes (of all the sizes) making their own posts. You get more knowledge by reading posts of others (so your posts quality increases). And you get more SP (steem power) by

Once you gain enough SP your rank increases. When you comment on people you get followers. Maybe There will be some mini-games for things like "write a good comment' or 'defend your post from flaggers' but that's too far in the future.

The current version which I spent a day making has only the posts and the movement implemented. I have yet to put the other fishes (NPC) nor any of the required gameplay to view it as a game.


Why I'm Not Sure If I'd Submit it?

  • First is because I don't have time and I'm not good at working under pressure... knowing there is a deadline (and half of it gone by) makes it worse.
  • Second is because it has so little relation to the theme "Protect It", I tried to make it more like the theme and I have an idea (How can you protect your posts? and from what?) but it can't be implemented in the prototype version. I thought of many ideas to create when I heard about the jam, but I liked this idea the most... I prepared myself to incorporate the theme in it before the theme announcement as it worked well with most of the themes in the list. Oh, well.
  • Part of reason for this post is to ask you all (especially the GameJam creator @loomy) what do you think, should I submit it?

I probably won't be able to make a working version of it on time. And I don't have a lot of time left and has to do other things today, so that's it. (I have a love-hate relationship with game jams because of this reason).

Wouldn't it have been better if I spent this time making the game rather than writing about it?

This is my sixth #challenge30days post. Image source should be obvious.
Sort:  

I'm happy that the jam pushed you to create something! If it's not related to the theme I would not submit it to the jam. I do think your project is pretty cool though. A tip for game jams is to start a new idea from the theme and not push the theme into the idea. You could implement a mechanic of protecting from bad posts through flagging, it would probably fit the theme and you could submit it. It does not really matter if your game is finished or not when you submit it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59244.75
ETH 2651.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49