Gardenscapes - The only mobile game I didn't uninstall after few weeks

in #game7 years ago (edited)

After you see the first picture, you will tell me that I'm playing an infantile stupidity. Well, it is stupid, but not infantile. It's the only game I didn't uninstall after a couple of weeks.

Gentlemen won't love this game. At home, I'm always listening to my boyfriends yelling, that I play some stupid game, and I should play something better, but I will not. It's a great game for killing time in the public transport and, in general, killing free time at all. I won't play Hearthstone, Clash of Clans and other pay to win games. And I also refuse to play mobile MMORPG games because they can't be played offline and occupy too much space on the phone.

So what do you play?


If someone asked me this question, then my answer would be: "Candy Crush with a garden theme." That's it. The main goal is to win levels and earn money for improving your garden.

Screenshot_2017-10-26-13-13-39.png

What's going on in the game?


You are the owner of a big house, which includes huge neglected garden plots. Your butler is Austin (That strange guy with a mustache on the first picture. Sometimes he is saying something, but I don't care, I just want to play.) Of course, you want your garden to be the most beautiful in the universe, but of course, it is not for free. You have to earn it.

Screenshot_2017-10-26-13-12-27.png

How?


You simply have to play a sufficient number of match-3 levels for which you get the stars and the game currency. In each level, you have a task you have to accomplish and a limited number of moves/time.

For each level, you get 1 star, which you then use to improve the garden. Individual improvements and other interactions cost between 1 to 4 stars. You can see in the picture that I need another star to repair the pier.

Screenshot_2017-10-26-13-13-00.png

Game currency you can spend to speed up individual improvements, buy boosters to make the levels easier, or buy more moves/time when you run out of it.

It sounds pretty simple, right?


But it's not. From the beginning, the levels are relatively easy, but their difficulty increases. It may happen that you will try to win some level for several hours, days and even weeks. This is the main reason why people uninstall the game in the final. They are just noobs who just want to win, and as soon as an obstacle emerges before them, which is unable to be solved in 5 minutes, they rage quit the game.

Countless times, I happened to be stuck at some level, and it took several subway rides before I managed to overtake it. Even lives don't make it easier. You have five, and regaining one of them lasts half an hour.

Screenshot_2017-10-26-13-13-13.png

But there is no need to despair. The game is now much easier than before. When I started playing it, the only way to get bombs and other boosters was to buy them for a game currency or to break a piggy bank. Now there are much more ways to get them.

There is a lottery on which you can win something every day. Including extra lives. The only condition is that you need to be connected to the Internet.

Screenshot_2017-10-26-13-11-11.png

There are also various events here. Two of them are repeated every week. For a certain number of levels, you get unlimited lives for a few hours + boosters, or there is an event where you will get a reward only if you can win a certain number of levels in a row.

Now we have an event where we have to buy a specific number of Halloween decorations to get a reward.

Screenshot_2017-10-26-13-11-48.png

I'm personally in Level 870 (I was able to win three levels when writing this post). Overall, the game has around 1800 levels, and their number is still growing. I haven't even spent any money on this game, and I won't do it.

I like the game because it's not easy and because of it, sometimes you have to invent a strategy and train your brain.

It is available for iOS and Android :)

BONUS - Transcript of comments from people who rage quit the game:

Difficult levels that take me even a week

Some levels are unnecessarily difficult. The game is not fun.

Too not entertaining and tedious to get through the harder levels... bad for me, but the idea with the garden is super

It would be an interesting and excellent game if it were playable and wouldn't be so much waiting there👎

Without money, the power of a man is far from good.

Who did the game should try to play it, 40 life away and I still stand on one level

The game is excellent, but if you can't get over a level for a month, it stops to entertain you, so I'm sorry if there were more moves, it would be better


Sources:

Introductory image

💙 Thank you for reading! 💙

May the seed be with you! :D





Sort:  

Love this game, and just like for you, this game has been in my phone for a while. I haven't spent any money on the game, but have gotten to over level 1000.
I originally downloaded the game, because it is made after the characters of a computer game of my childhood, going by the same name. It was a hidden objects game back then, but you did the same, improve a run down garden.
Also, the developers recently came out with Homescapes as well, Austin is there, too! :D It has a different style, but sometimes, when I run out of my lives in Gardenscapes, I play Homescapes!

Lvl 870, 1000 ...It sounds pretty crazy to me :D So much time. Homescapes I discovered too when I was looking at those comments in Google Play. Sometimes I went there to have fun over the misery of the others. I will play Homescapes when I have a new phone and lose my progress from Gardenscapes :D

Haha, I think Gardenscapes is the better game, Homescapes is a good back-up option, though!

@royrodgers has voted on behalf of @minnowpond.
If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

            To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

What a shitty game, upvoted

What is shitty for you can be awesome for others :)

@eileenbeach has voted on behalf of @minnowpond.
If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

            To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.
Qurator is proudly supported by @reggaemuffin, vote for him as a witness here.

kinda like farmville? lol 😊

Not really. It's more like Candy Crush. :D Garden is not essential. Nothing is grown, you just choose the best decorations for it.

@mrainp420 has voted on behalf of @minnowpond.
If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

            To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63188.04
ETH 2570.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79