Making a Cribbage Board to Have Fun with Family/Friends

in #game6 years ago

Cribbage is a fun game to play, old school style without any electronics. Usually it's played with 2 players, but you can play 3 in the standard game play, and even up to 6 by playing in pairs together. The game is also called crib. You need a deck of cards, but you don't need the board, as you can just write down the point as you go along and add them up.


Making the board

I decided to make my own cribbage board since I didn't have one. I started out with a piece of wood from a deconstructed palette I used to make a big wooden garden planter.

Then I cut off one end that had nail holes in it.

With the rest of the board I proceeded to measure out the game board for playing. Then I cut off the excess to have my main crib board. It took a while to plan everything out.

Then the long and more boring and tiring part came to drill holes in all the spots. 120 holes, times 3 players, is 360 holes to drill. Plus the 121st hole to win, and the 6 starting holes to hold your pegs. I did it over a few days, as my hand was pretty sore to do it for excessive periods of time.

The wood was rough and easily gave splinters, so I went to buy some medium grade sandpaper and made the board all nice and smooth.

Next up came the coloring. Red, white and blue and the standard colors. This I also did over more that a day, as it was sore for my fingers to color into wood. I used pencil crayons.

Next I added the demarcation lines for the 5 point intervals. This makes it easier to count your points when you play, and to know where you are at.

Finally, I added a border around the main path to make it easier to see.

I'm pretty proud of what I made. My significant other was surprised that I made it myself. She said it looked professional.

I hope you like my cribbage game board. I also think you should try out the game yourself. You can play with someone and learn it together with just a pen/pencil and paper along with the deck of cards of course. Or you can find online places to play with a computer or with others. I find it fun. I hope you do too :)


Thank you for your time and attention. Peace.


If you appreciate and value the content, please consider: Upvoting, Sharing or Reblogging below.
Follow me for more content to come!


My goal is to share knowledge, truth and moral understanding in order to help change the world for the better. If you appreciate and value what I do, please consider supporting me as a Steem Witness by voting for me at the bottom of the Witness page.

Sort:  

Nice board!

Cribbage is a great game to play especially with 3 people. I'm impressed with your cribbage board, that's not easy to make and it will be more fun playing since you made it 😺

Thank you :)

Nice diy project I love those. I made a couple games over the years. Cribbage is fun my grandfather was a pro.

Thanks ;) Play hard!

WOW, this brings back memories of camping and sitting at the picnic table playing cribbage with the family. Those days are long gone but the memories are forever. Great job! I wouldn't even attempt making my own without a decent drill press. :)

Hehe, that's where I learned too. Thank you :)

this board is looking good that what you got after your hard work a good result

Need thoroughness and perseverance in making this game

Creating things is a reward unto itself! Well done.
( I'm a board/war gamer - and have no idea how to play cribbage! lol - how embarrassing)

Thanks! Yes, creating things brings a sense of accomplishment and pride in one's abilities ;) It's fun, try it out ;)

wow, great friend. Thank you for collaborating so that this type of amusement comes back I am sure that many families and groups will put it into practice and that excites me

More fun works alone even if only simple works, than good works but other people's products.

A lot of work and dedication!! Very impressive!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67315.59
ETH 2604.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71