The Divine Move (Game of Go series) #8steemCreated with Sketch.

in #game7 years ago

Hello Steeamians !

Today is a day where I review my Go game, here is one that I played today. I wanted to improve myself and gain at least the rank 9kyu in order to be a simple digit kyu player. I hope you'll enjoy this game !



Just know that this game is simply amazing ! If you like strategy game like chess, it's even a better game, simpler but deeper.
I made a post with the basic rules, you can find it here.

So I really encourage you to check out the game and here are more links that could help :
A site where you can easily play.
An amazing Youtube channel
Some playlists for beginner (FR)
A playlist for beginner (EN)
A post about Go vocabulary



Now, back to the game !

This game is quite special since I played it not on the internet but at my place with my brand new Go board ! So while we were playing the game, I played it on IGS also in order to take screenshots after. My opponent was around 12kyu but we played without handicap.
We started with a standard opening, nothing special here.

Capture 1.PNG

Then, after he closed his corner with D17, I approached his other corner with F3, we did part of a joseki and I was quite happy to give him this overall shape, very flat. After his move, I also close my corner with a 4th line stone Q5.

Capture 2.PNG

After that he wanted to split me and played R10, once again, I was quite happy to take territory with R8 while attacking his stone. He made himself a nice space to live with R13, then I closed my upper right corner.

Capture 3.PNG

After a little reduction around E10, I defended my lower side and he invaded with M3.

Capture 4.PNG

I chased him down until there where I think he lives quite easily. The run is over... But I had another plan in the head, even if he managed to live with his bottom group, I gained some influence in the middle, enough to attack his group on the right.

Capture 5.PNG

I tried but it was harder than I expected, he was strong enough to live. Then I launched a reduction with D16 without any real plan but the idea that it should work.

Capture 6.PNG

Afterall, I managed to escape, I was happy with that but I made my reduction group on the left weaker after this exchange. I felt the obligation of adding a move to help it, I chose E8 which also put a lot of pressure to his group.

Capture 7.PNG

I cut a part of his group with G12, I was pretty confident after that but he fought back with the next sequence where he made a nice cut starting with E14, then with F15.

Capture 8.PNG

The sequence ended with his stabilization move that you can see below.

Capture 9.PNG

Next, I tried to invade his bottom left corner and saw an opportunity to kill his huge dragon near E5. (it’s an expression to call a big stick without any eyes) So a huge fight is about to happen !

Capture 10.PNG

He cut my old reduction group which didn’t live so now it’s all-in, one of us is going to lose this fight and with it, the game !

Capture 11.PNG

It was very very very close and I won just with one move ahead. It was a great game, very pleasant. Also, playing on a real board is so different than online, the feeling when you place your stones is just amazing !

Capture 12.PNG

 


 
I hope you enjoyed this little game review, tell me in the comment what do you think about this content.
Here is my profile page on OGS, add me as a friend and we'll do a game !
Check out another of my Go review here

See you tomorrow !

Sort:  

Stunding post. Thanks for sharing..Upvoted .Follwed u plz follow me.

My Sone love this Game a lot...Thanks , you make my and Son day much better...

I happy to hear that ! :D

Congratz on winning.

Nice game... I'll try to see the degree of difficulty and play

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58644.49
ETH 2625.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38