Presentation of my brand new Go board ! (And other stuff)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #game7 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians !

Even if today is a Go post, if you have not noticed, each four day I post about Go, it's not going to be a review of one of my game. You probably know it since you read the title but it's my collection of Go.
I play Go for about a year and recently, I decided to invest in my favorite game ! I don’t know for your country but in Belgium, it’s really hard to find a store which sells Go stuff. Once, at the Go club, I heard that there is a little shop at Brussels which offers Go board, stones, books, … And last week, I finally went there, I was like a little boy in a toy’s store. If you’re from Belgium and you want to check out this shop, here is the link.

DQmPK7y5MXihrRSrnQhukyEbK4xesaDrfepAkx7iM34RoYo.jpe

I basically bought a Go board, stones, bowls and 3 books. Before this beauty, I played on a very little board as you can see below, I also take a picture with it near the new one so you can see the differences. I think it’s important to have a great board because Go is a game which deserves it ! It’s so pleasant to play with big stones, the feelings are different.





I also bought 3 books, two that I don’t know a lot about and one that I was sure to buy. This is the “Opening theory made easy”, and this is simply the best book I read. I think you can read this book as soon as you pass 20 kyu, that means when you start to know the basic of the game. The book is composed of 20 basic principles really well explained and which will help you to have a good comprehension of the game. For me, even if I knew those principles I didn’t understand them really well. I knew what I was supposed to do but not why and trust me that makes a big difference.



Just know that this game is simply amazing ! If you like strategy game like chess, it's even a better game, simpler but deeper.
I made a post with the basic rules, you can find it here.

So I really encourage you to check out the game and here are more links that could help :
A site where you can easily play.
An amazing Youtube channel
Some playlists for beginner (FR)
A playlist for beginner (EN)
A post about Go vocabulary



Here is my profile page on OGS, add me as a friend and we'll do a game !
Check out one of my Go review here

See you tomorrow !

Sort:  

Classic. Love it

"Opening theory made easy" woww i will buy soon, realy interested . How about price this book @jarendesta

It's not too expensive for a book, I paid about 18€ for it :)
Tell me what you think of it once you read it ! :D

Nice!
I didn't knew this game before, recently I saw a little movie about robots, and they invented a robot which was making weird moves in Go, though eventually it was so brilliant, it won miraculously. Thanks for sharing!

Can you tell me the name of this movie ? I'm interested :D

I can't remember the tv-programme, though I think this link will tell you the same: http://www.bbc.com/news/technology-35785875
If I'm right it was a Google-produced robot which beat a Go-master!

Yeah it's pretty well-known in the Go community, we even review alpha-go games :p
It's so impressive to see him play ! :D

That is a very nice board, and those bowls look beautiful.

Unfortunately I do not know how to play and do not even know chess
My father is an expert in the game and he loves it a lot but he plays it online as an Android app in the phone
Your publications are distinctive and very nice
I always upvote for you (:
regards

Thank you, I appreciate ! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59993.26
ETH 2312.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49