Are You Doing it Right?

in #gallerani6 years ago

When dieting, many people like to make a million excuses or they look for a million reasons why they may or may not be doing their diet properly.

The first question I ask myself when I'm having some doubts about my diet is: is the weight scale moving? Am I losing weight each week?

If the answer is yes, then I should keep doing what I'm doing. I'm losing weight and weight-loss is my goal.

If the answer is no, then I should re-evaluate. Why is the weight not moving? Is a better question to ask yourself than "why am I totally screwing up!?"


My Process For Finding Out Why I'm Not Losing Weight:

So now that I've established that I'm not losing weight at the current moment, I need to figure what exactly is causing that to happen.

The first place I go is caloric intake - am I eating too many or too little calories? How do my macronutrients look? Am I getting the majority of my calories from fat and a moderate amount from protein and a tiny amount from carbs (for a Keto diet regime)?

Everything should check out ok. The next step is checking my workout routine - am I doing cardio? How much am I doing?

Now comes a decision: would I rather cut back on the amount of food that I'm eating each day or would I rather add a little extra cardio to each of my 5 sessions per week?

I typically will choose to take a little away from my diet rather than exercise more.

My exercise routine is already pretty substantial. Overtraining does come into play at a certain point and it can actually be a separate factor when it comes to weight loss.

Here are a few other checks that I'll make in my head:

  1. Am I overly stressed out?
  2. Am I sleeping enough?
  3. Am I getting hidden calories from some unknown product?

Losing weight is a balance. You need to balance your diet and your exercise and not get stressed out over it. Stress is caused by the release of cortisol which is a fat-storing hormone!

Sort:  

Try eating only veggies and a variety of beans. Meat only once a week. I haven’t eaten fast food or any processed food for years. 6 pack and can sprint 100 meters in 13 at 36 yo

im sorry but silly advice, how does that helps??? where are you getting energy from, veggies??? balanced diet is the key, not eliminating food sources. Meat once a week? where are you getting proteins from, beans? very weird choice. Might be working for you but not for everybody. You wouldnt last too long eating like this. Yes processed food is a no go, good decision to avoid it but the rest must be very well balanced.

I’ve been eating like this for years, shredded! Yes beans chick peas have lots of protein. There couldn’t be a healthier diet! Undeniable fact :) my age is actually reversing, I’m now 25 again lol

This is not a fact, an opinion ;) glad it works for you though. You still need meat as you are not getting vital amino acids and other nutrients that you can't get from plants :)

The meat and dairy industry have brainwashed everyone

Reading books helps ;)

I have a bachelors bsac degree in food and nutrition. 👍

nice..

Discipline is must to loose weight

100% agree! Discipline is the key!

@sadkitten is countering 85% of @gallerani self-votes for 1 week starting Friday, August 17th 2018 because it is part of last weeks top self-voters. For more details see this post.

you should also be losing weight for yourself :)

I always am trying!! It's all about the lifestyle ;)

Sometimes the best scales are a mirror. Specially for men trying to get a good in-shape body, if you are weight training you will be putting on muscle which weighs more than fat does! Then water retention makes a big difference also, maybe after a cheat day the scale says you are 2kg heavier, and probably more than half of that is just water retention! Good post anyway!

I agree, but we can often lie to ourselves about the mirror. The best approach for me is to weigh myself every morning on an empty stomach and also look in the mirror and assess.

Food, food, food is the key, its 80% of the actual success. You can train until you turn green but if you are eating way too much than you actually burn, results will be very slow. Quality kcals, not eliminating anything, proteins, healthy carbs and fats, not a rocket science really :) and dedication of course, it takes time but once you see results, motivation is usually sky high :)

Nice factors to take care of while dieting. We should not be looking for r3asons of not dieting well. It should be part of the routine. Thanks for talking on the issue. It was helpful from ya @gallerani.

Exactly, always keep it as part of your regular routine!

Thank you Ali!! I always appreciate your support!

@sadkitten is countering 85% of @gallerani self-votes for 1 week starting Friday, August 17th 2018 because it is part of last weeks top self-voters. For more details see this post.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

To the question in your title, my Magic 8-Ball says:

As I see it, yes

Hi! I'm a bot, and this answer was posted automatically. Check this post out for more information.

I agree with you, but anxiety is also a negative factor

I agree, anxiety is definitely a negative factor in weight loss

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63071.06
ETH 3121.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84