April Fools Prank at Work. by @socky

in #funny6 years ago

This prank was played on me.

work prank.jpg

I once worked on cryogenic systems. In my work, I proof pressure tested many parts. Normally high pressure proof testing is done with water (hydraulics), but the parts I worked with could not be exposed to any contaminants including water. So proof pressure testing was done with nitrogen. This was extremely dangerous because compressed gas can be explosive and also can launch parts at speeds similar to bullets. In addition to that danger, there was an asphyxiation danger (That is where an odorless gas can fill a space and push out oxygen causing a person to suffocate without warning).

The room I worked in had a massive maze of high pressure gas pipes all over the walls. There were check valves, manual valves, automatic valves, filters, regulators, gauges, emergency systems, etc. The room was tiny and just big enough to have a desk and some chairs. It had an adjoining room the size of a closet. The wall between the two rooms was steel reinforced concrete with a double walled steel blast door. The door rolled on a track, but was so heavy I couldn't move it without putting my foot on the wall to gain enough leverage to move the door. The back wall of the small room was brick but wasn't reinforced. The opposite side of the wall was the outside of the building which had a fence around the area outside of the wall. The closet sized blast room was designed that way in the event of a catastrophic event. How it would work is the blast wall and the blast door was designed to prevent the shock of the blast or parts from penetrating into the work room while the outside wall was designed to fail allowing the pressure of an explosion to escape. The fence outside prevented people from getting too close to the danger area.

You can see the seriousness of the area I worked in. Despite the efforts built into the blast room, the plumbing, instrumentation, valves, and emergency systems were all housed in the room I worked in and completely covered the walls. I was essentially surrounded by a maze of extremely high pressure plumbing.

One day I was performing a proof pressure test and just finished connecting a part to a high pressure line inside the blast room. I exited the blast room and put my foot against the wall to roll the blast door into place. After verifying my gauges and checking the procedure, I started turning valves and adjusting supply pressure from the maze of high pressure gas plumbing on the wall. What I didn't notice is that my coworker snuck into the work room while I was inside the blast room connecting the part. He then hid under the desk and waited for me. This coworker waited until I got the part almost fully pressurized (many thousands of pounds per square inch). He then started making a hissing sound. Hearing that sound, I went into panic mode trying to figure out what went wrong and if my life was in danger. Soon after, I hear giggling from under the desk. I turn around, look at the desk and out pops my coworker laughing away.

prank imoj1.png

Do you have any good April Fools pranks? If so, comment and let me know.

I hope you enjoyed reading my Blog. Please remember to Upvote, Resteem, and Follow. Thank you.

---------------------------------------

For a breakdown of how Steemit Rewards system works:

https://steemit.com/steemit/@socky/steemit-rewards-breakdown-a-simplified-explanation-with-illustrations

Sort:  

Today our college Alumni association posted in facebook that Our alumni association is the best association in the world in reports released by UNESCO....some people started congratulating meanwhile I understood that it is April fool joke...haha

Oh wow, that is great.

In my own case. I used a prank for my parents that I won 500,000 naira through bet9ja, they have been jubilating and my mom has went to get a bag of rice on credit, even my dad went ahead to the nearby bar and ordered to serve everybody there.
The problem am facing now is how to tell them is April fool

Uh oh. Looks like you didn't think that one through.

I told my friend i won 2k$ on a gambling site

and i made him believe he gets 200$ from me :)

He fell for it and i have a 2 hour video of it :)

Haha. I bet he was super excited.

Yeah he was :)

A professor of mine decided that it would be funny to switch out different sized gloves in the lab.

What was more over the top was that he replaced some of the commonly used reagents with different fruit juice, etc. Needless to say, the students were confused as crap as to why things aren't working.

Luckily it was a small upper division underclassmen class, so it was not detrimental to, say, graduate studies, etc.

That is great. Fruit juice.

Very beautiful. funny. life. joke post this post to you for thank you very much, and this post a lot like and like post vote and comments and post share, I like this post a total of all see and this post to everyone can vote

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60929.80
ETH 2371.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49