Have you ever had to hunt for change to eat?

in #funny8 years ago

enter image description here

Disclaimer: this is not a “poor Lee” story, read the whole post to understand.

I fondly recall the 5 and 6-figure months. 30k for a beautiful deck. No problem. 12k for a 2-story spiral staircase – done. 72-inch TV. Pool table. Land Rover, BMW, quads, first class seats to anywhere, luxury suites, travel around the world, and so much more.

Financially, things were awesome.

But business had been declining for a while. Discourse in a relationship causes that to happen. My life was unbalanced and eventually this led to a divorce. It’s all my fault, I own the full and complete responsibility for that.

After the divorce things weren’t sunshine and roses.

By mid-2010, the income had all but stopped. In fact, there were many times when I had to dig for change in the couch cushion of the run-down place I was staying. I took odd jobs doing whatever I could for a few dollars. Every once in a while I got a good copywriting gig – thank God for my writing skills.

But usually I was digging for change.

I recently told a friend this story, and I felt like I needed to share it with you.

Not to get pity or be a victim, but to empower you that no matter how awful the situation looks on the outside 1) it can sometimes get worse, but 2) it will usually get better. If you believe it will.

The “digging for change in the couch” thing was a very interesting part of my experience and this part really resonated with him so we talked about it for a while longer. I told him “the funny thing is there always seems to be enough for me to grab Taco Bell or a value meal someplace, it’s not great food but it kept me going, it kept me pushing forward.”

He asked me if there was ever a time I dug for change and there was none there. I told him, oddly, I trusted there would be and there seemed to always be just enough for a meal. He marveled at this level of faith and asked “yeah, but how do you KNOW there is always going to be change?”

I told him…

“Because change comes from within.”

Think about that for a few minutes. I would bet that anytime you have ever overcome ANY obstacle in your life it was because you finally DECIDED to. Right?

Your destiny is in the decision.

Lee Collins
http://lee-collins.com
http://facebook.com/leecollins
https://www.linkedin.com/in/leecollins1

Sort:  

I've decided to upvote this.

Thanks Jugg!

I leave the change there until I have hit rock bottom financially haha

Congratulations @leecollins! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @leecollins! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Home stretch to the finals. Do not miss them!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @leecollins! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57396.91
ETH 2446.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41