What's the most beautiful sunset you have ever seen?

in #funny6 years ago

Wow! What a nice title. I bet you think this is going to be a beautiful post filled with puppy dogs, ice cream, rainbows, unicorns, doughnuts... and sunsets.

Actually it's going to be about what a grumpy jackass I have always been.

But since I tricked you with the title, here is a beautiful sunset from Oia in Santorini, Greece.




I did not take this photo. This type of photography requires skill... of which I have none.
This is a "free to share and use commercially" photo from Yahoo!
However, I am pretty sure I saw the exact same sunset nearly 20 years ago.


I have a very nice friend (it's a freaking miracle, I know). She is the type of person who enters a party not knowing a soul, yet when she leaves, the party immediately ends. Over the course of the night, she makes everyone feel witty, interesting and important (no her name is not "alcohol"). She is a real live person who just goes out of her way to talk to people and make them feel special. More importantly she listens to people.

One of her tricks is to come up with a universal question that will get people talking. Recently, she chose "What's the most beautiful sunset you have ever seen?" After using it to make some new friends, she asked me.

Most people would get lost in their memories, stare off into space, and smile as they answer.

Not me.

I clenched my fist, shook it at the sky and began to give a ridiculously over complicated answer to a very simple question.





For some reason, I wanted to share that answer with all of you (sorry). Because I have a terrible memory for names, I needed to ask my wife the name of the location of the famous sunset. I entered the living room and asked, "Hey Helen, what was the name of that place in Greece where we watched the sunset?" She stared at me coldly and responded, "Why would I help you remember that?" Having heard this story before, my daughter who was seated next to my wife added, "You're soulless dad. You have no soul." (This is 100% true. There is absolutely no exaggeration here.)

Eventually she told me.

The most beautiful sunset I have ever seen was similar to the one pictured above at Oia in Santorini, Greece. I saw it almost 20 years ago while I was enjoying my honeymoon in Santorini with my beautiful wife. According to her, the sunset at Oia is one of the most famous in the world. People come from all corners of the globe to experience it. As a result, we simply had to see it.

One night, we grabbed a bottle of cheap wine (actually it was before the Euro so everything was cheap) and headed to the best vantage point on the island. As we approached, I was struck by the sheer number of tourist stores lining the street on the way to plateau from which we would watch the sunset. Every few feet there was another shop (exactly like the previous six) selling T-shirts, postcards, film, batteries and disposable cameras. With every step we took, the prices increased exponentially. By the time we reached the end of the street, a single roll of film was being sold for an amount equivalent to our entire dinner tab. The best way I can describe the street is that it was incredibly "cheesy".

When we arrived at the best viewing location according to Fodros Travel Guide's, it was packed with people. Apparently we weren't the only ones who had heard of this book.




I didn't take this picture either.

There was actually a line to see a sunset. Although that seemed very odd to me, I was drunk on Greek wine and love so I waited patiently to make our way into the crowded viewing area. After making our way to the larger space, we had to jockey for position so my vertically challenged wife could see. It was very crowded. I don't do very well in crowds. I get very anxious and annoyed. Unless I'm slam dancing, I really don't like to be stuck in wall to wall people. But I powered through.

Although I was a little tense due to the crowd, I made the best of it and enjoyed the remarkably beautiful sunset with my new wife. It truly was stunning.




I know this is beautiful (because I didn't take the picture), but it is a little less so when you are piled on top of strangers and some dude's sweaty armpit is right in your face.

Then it happened.

At first, a couple of people began to applaud. Then others joined them. Soon the very large crowd was engaged in a humongous standing ovation... for the freaking sun!

I have always believed that applause are meant to show a person or group of people appreciation for their performance. Heck, I will even applaud for an animal if it does something really cool. But the sun?

The sun can't freaking hear applause. It's the sun!

In addition, what did it do?

Nothing!

It just sat there as the Earth turned on its axis and rotated away from it.

And it does it every damn day!

Furthermore, it has done it every damn day for about 4.5 billion years.

Yes the sun is amazing... but I don't think it is like some spoiled brat who needs to get a blue ribbon just for showing up.





As I stood in utter shock scanning the solar fanatics surrounding me, all of the built up tension immediately exploded from my body in the form of loud, boisterous, hysterical laughter. I buried my face in my hands and couldn't stop laughing. Luckily for me, my wife is tremendously cool and knows me very well. She knew what she was getting into when she agreed to marry me. She just smirked, shook her head at me , and quietly lead me away (she does that alot).

Although it might not be the memory we had intended to make, my wife and I will never forget that sunset. I still laugh about it which causes her to laugh at me.

To this day (because I am a huge jackass), when the moment is right and we encounter some impressive inanimate object, I will lean over to my wife and whisper, "Do you think we should give it a standing ovation?" Then she smacks me on the arm and we laugh.

My favorite sunset has provided my wife and I with nearly 20 years of laughter. I’d say that counts as beautiful.

Now it's your turn. What's the most beautiful sunset you have ever seen? If you happen to be a more talented photographer than I (nearly every one is) feel free to include a photo in the comments below. If this inspired you to describe it in words, that's cool too.


And for the record, if the beauty of nature causes you to spontaneously burst into applause, that is completely cool with me. There is something beautiful about being so moved by the wonders of nature that you need to express it physically... but it's still going to make me laugh. I promise to do it quietly so I won't ruin your moment.

Images 1, 2, 3, 4, 5

Sort:  

Reading your articles is like watching an intense and emotion-packed movie! You completely get lost in the moment and when it's over you have the sensation that you'll need a couple of minutes to re-enter reality again :-) Fantastic!
According to your own words you are not the best photographer, and according to your daughter you don't even have a soul (which I would vehemently deny), but you're definitely one of the best storytellers I've ever been following. Thanks for that! :-)
Loved and resteemed

PS: I'm currently moving from one house to another and have no access to my huge and slightly antiquated "photo boxes". But I'll find that one sunset of mine.... promised ;-)

Oh I figured you'd have some of the best. I bet you have caught more than your fair share of beautiful ocean sunsets!

And thanks for the kind words and the resteem. It really meant a lot. As I hit "post" on this one, I hesitated and thought, "Are you really going to post 1300 words based on the simple punchline of people applauding for a sunset?" I shook my head and decided to just go with it. This story has been a running joke with my wife and I for years. I am glad that you enjoyed it.

I follow @surfermarly and luckily she resteemed this post:) it attracted my attention thus I read the whole story. It was an amusing and easy read, thanks! :) The idea of people standing in queue and than applauding does seem a bit ridiculous :) But honestly? Damn, I wish i had your writing skills! 😅 without them the story wouldn't be as captivating as it is. 🥂 English is not my native language, but that's never as an excuse :) Anyway, here I am, your new follower and a declared envier 😅

Thanks! That is very kind of you to say. This has been a running joke with my wife and I for years so it kind of wrote itself.

I have seen far too many to pick a favorite - on the Pacific Coast, a farm in Gainesville, FL, sailing in the Caribbean, Gulf Coast FL - I wish I had photos of the very best, the ones that take your breath away and you can hear the sound of one hand clapping - now that is applause!

Wonderful post - thank you @hanshotfirst

Beautiful well done ..
I liked this view ..
Sounds fun experience, good for you
Thanks for sharing your experience with us

23117023_886090224892482_5690198729509812095_o.jpg
I've got tons of beautiful sunset pics, just need a good camera and magical location.

The sunset of Cox's Bazar in Bangladesh is the most beautiful. I think everybody has a lot of sunshine in his country, but the sunset of my country will give me all the beauty of this world.

images(1).jpg

That's fantastic!

Burn baby, BURN! That is amazing.

Really good story. I enjoyed every word.
I am from Bulgaria, very close to Greece. Next time, when you guys come just let us know ;))) maybe I will make you nice family sunset photos ;)))

FB_IMG_1521669118242.jpg

And yep....that's my photo :)))

FB_IMG_1521669165333.jpg

And my boys on those photos ;)))

Great sunset and very cute kids!

Nice sunset. Let me share this one I got two weeks ago when we went to a surfing beach north of our country, the Philippines. It is summer here and people love to flock in beaches and resorts. Cheers :)
P1080050.jpg

Absolutely the one I witnessed in Greece. The atmosphere... the whole night which we were awake... it was miraculous...
I took pictures but as you said they are far from being good and professional 😐

All that matters is that the pictures provide you with wonderful memories.

honestly, I hardly check my old pictures... but you did the amazing thing with bringing up such subject which engaged me and many others, since everyone have had such moments and recalling them is sweet. well-done

I can just imagine how it felt as the slow clapping turned into something bigger and you wondered how thunderous it would get. One person clapped and because we are such followers the entire crowd believed that they must clap too. Lol my favourite example of this is a video I saw where people were sent to sit in a room and two people were planted to react to a bell. They would stand and sit every time the bell rang. All of a sudden everyone was joining in with no idea why they were doing it. Lol
The best sunset I have ever seen was in the Cheesiest place I have ever been. Niagara Fall, Canada is a walking money suck with amusements and novelties to last forever. Everyone should visit though, a great experience. And if you catch the right day you just might see this:

Wow! That is beautiful.

I actually just went there for the first time ever last summer. I absolutely loved it. The person at our hotel referred to one street as "Kid Vegas" and it was the perfect description. After a couple of hours, my credit card was smoking! But it was so much fun.

I am actually not a big nature guy (if you couldn't tell form my reaction above) but Niagara Falls blew me away. Taking one of those boats right up to the Falls my be my favorite experience in nature ever.

https://steemit.com/life/@hanshotfirst/a-dad-s-purpose

Oh, the Maid of the Mist is an experience everyone should have!!! Kid Vegas!!! Lol what a great name for it. Haven’t heard that. I will actually be back in Niagara Falls in 3 weeks. My daughter has National’s for cheerleading. Btw: that’s not my picture either. We actually lost a ton of our pictures when one of our computers fried. Grrrr.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87