It's my birthday... and my kids won't think it is important unless I post about it on steemit!

in #funny7 years ago

This weekend I celebrated my 46th birthday. Well perhaps "celebrated" is the wrong word. I don't think I have actually "celebrated" a birthday since my 21st... and I did that by passing out on my lawn.


Screen Shot 2017-07-02 at 11.20.28 PM.png
My 10 year old daughter MJ drew this for me. I asked her to explain it to me. That is her on the left. She is mad because it is my birthday and I get to wear that crown. Apparently she has to wear the hat that says "loser" because it is not her birthday. I asked if I was a monkey. She said, "Kind of." But that is not my cut up tail or stink lines surrounding me. It is confetti! The ball of the exclamation point is also me. I love my kids!!!!

Perhaps it is more accurate to say that this weekend my family acknowledged that I had made it another year. I joke quite a bit about being an old man in steemit terms... but it definitely beats the alternative. There are only two choices: get older ... or get deader. So aside from the aching back, sore knees, bad eyes, and changes to what my stomach will tolerate, getting a year older really isn't so bad.

I am not normally the type of guy who likes extra attention on his birthday. I am kind of attention seeking year round so I figure I should play it cool on the one day that others typically set aside to attract attention to themselves. But this year is different. This year, I discovered steemit... and my kids know it.

In my house, it has gotten to the point that my kids don't think something is important unless I post about it on steemit. They have already assigned me characters to analyze, movies to review, obscure facts to relay and stories to tell. So today my kids asked, "Did you post about your birthday on steemit yet?" Clearly I had not but I promised them that I would.


Screen Shot 2017-07-02 at 11.44.23 PM.png

So how does a 46 year old man "celebrate" a birthday?

It began with my children running into my bedroom at 7:44 AM (they let me sleep in), jumping on the bed and screaming, "It's your birthday! Wake up so we can give you your presents! Do you want pancakes with whip cream and sprinkles for breakfast?"

Allow me to translate that for you. Those sentences really mean, "It's a family member's birthday (it doesn't matter whose) so we get to go places and eat bad food all day. Wake up so that we can give you the presents we picked out and used your money to buy (So basically I bought them for myself). We want pancakes with whip cream and sprinkles even though you don't like them at all and have never asked for them in your life."



After wiping the sleep from my eyes and proceeding to the living room, my kids presented me with some really cool gifts. I was completely surprised and very pleased with how well they know me.

Just in case you are a new reader, my 10 year old daughter MJ and I have a running joke that she doesn't like me. It has grown from me running out of the room to laugh at her unintentionally mean comments to/about me to our full on embracing it and joking about it quite a bit (I know she loves me). Here is the card MJ picked out for me...


Screen Shot 2017-07-02 at 11.55.28 PM.png
I was actually surprised the last word wasn't "farter".

My 12 year old son Timmy is a chip off the old block. I joke around with my kids quite a bit. I have an odd sense of humor and I believe it may have rubbed off on my son just a little. You can see this in his choice of card for me...


Screen Shot 2017-07-02 at 11.24.02 PM.png
I guess I do share a lot of interests with a three year old.

Because my kids wanted to playfully embarrass me all day long, they required me to wear those birthday pins everywhere we went. Being the good sport I am, I obliged... at least until dinner.

Sporting my new "flare" I opened my gifts. My kids know me so well! If there was any doubt that I truly am the geek I portray myself as here on this platform, please allow my children's choice of gifts for me to dispel any misconceptions. I am a geek and I am proud!

They got me four awesome shirts and a really cool outdoor game.


Screen Shot 2017-07-03 at 12.00.18 AM.png
The Star Wars ones are self explanatory. The Golden Girls one is an inside joke based on the Golden Girls appearance on the cartoon Teen Titans Go!


Screen Shot 2017-07-02 at 11.28.18 PM.png
This one was obviously my favorite.


Screen Shot 2017-07-02 at 11.23.06 PM.png
I will write a review of how well this can be played with kids ASAP... I'm not going to bounce my kids on it instead of a ball. I mean I am going to compete against my kids.

My wife, kids and I hung out and ate breakfast. They enjoyed my birthday pancakes while I had some fruit. (I needed to save myself for amy birthday dinner). After breakfast we hopped in the car to fulfill our family birthday tradition.

We always seek out some form of entertainment on our special days. Sometimes its an arcade, sometimes its Medieval Times, quite often it is a movie. My family and I love movies. Our love of movies was one of the things that attracted my wife and I to each other when we met. This year, the movie of choice was Despicable Me 3. Luckily it was only 90 minutes long and I enjoyed the previews (I'll write a full review later this week).

After the movie my wife surprised me by...

Dropping the kids off at grandma's house!



I adore my kids... but sometimes its nice to get some time with my wife.

Don't get me wrong. I love my kids and truly enjoy hanging out with them. But after a week in Canada with the entire family, it would be very nice for my wife and I to have some time to ourselves.

Because time was not an issue, we made the 45 minute trek to my favorite Italian restaraunt outside of Italy (the restaurant is not located just outside of Italy. It is my favorite food aside from the food in Italy... never mind). I am lucky enough to be surrounded by dozens of excellent restaurants, but BarTucci is special. It is worth traveling the extra miles. Located in a Northwestern neighborhood in Chicago, this restaurant is nothing special to look at. In fact, it is actually in a strip mall. But it is in a strip mall in a very old and traditionally Italian part of the city. As a result, BarTucci serves the most authentic and delicious Italian food I have ever eaten outside of Italy itself.

At the restaurant, I ate like... it was my birthday! I ordered two of my favorite appetizers, two dinners (for myself) and an extra appetizer to take home. I did share the appetizers with my wife and I only ate half of each dinner... but I definitely was aiming to...



I treated myself to two dinners!

By the time the waiter came with a giant complementary piece of tiramisu, I felt like this guy from Monty Python's Meaning of Life...



But I powered through and finished it anyway.

My wife and I ended the night by digesting our food while enjoying a glass of wine and watching another movie. Then we hung out for a while.

Wait. I think I actually did "celebrate" my birthday.

Thank you steemit and steemit community members for giving me an excuse to permanently record so many of the great memories that were created during my 46th year on the planet. This place and the friends I have made here are definitely one of the highlights of this year!



OK I have to run. I have a sudden and undeniable urge to go and yell at kids to get off my damn lawn!


Images (not taken by me) 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6

Sort:  

I hope your children, then they will grow up, will dig deep in steem blockchain in find there this treasure!

Well played! That is awesome!

HAHAHAH great kids mate! Happy birthday and enjoy it with the family. That is what matters.

Brian, you're a guy with a huge heart and it has been my pleasure to have met you.

I certainly wish you all the best and an amazing Birthday!!

Thanks man! Right back at you!

Happy birthday uncle:-) you are the luckiest person because you have got very loving child. It is the blessing of GOD. sketch drawn by your baby MJ represents her cuteness and innocence... once again many many congratulations on your birthday:-)

Thanks! That is very thoughtful.

This comment has received a 0.12 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @qasimwaqar.

Wow @hanshotfirst what a great birthday read..wow...you got a 100% upvote and follow from me buddy. Steemit is beautiful because of people like you adding value to this platform either through a touching post like this amazing birthday post or through helping others to succeed here.Happy birthday to you buddy and stay blessed.

Dont forget to check out my post for a link to collect free crypto..a once in a life time opportunity and a good birthday gift.

Thanks! I had a lot of fun writing it.

You are welcome buddy. Absolutely, I noticed when reading it...I had lots of fun reading it ...good one indeed

Pushing 40 this year... I've been feeling old.
You just made me feel young again.
Cheers to that.
Happy birthday @hanshotfirst

Great! I'm glad my oldness made you feel young. LOL

Seriously enjoy every year you can!

Wow, what a wonderful birthday experience. Happy birthday bro, wishing good health and enjoyment. Your kids are right by insisting that you celebrate your birthday with this wonderful steemit community. They know how important your to them and how important steemit community is to you. Is good to have a family filled with love. Thank you for sharing with us.Your birthday experience was properly articulate and documented. Nice one. Enjoy yourself. Upvoted

Thanks for upvote

Your welcome sir, you deserved to be celebrated. It is not easy to be alive and to raise family. already following you for more quality content. please duo make out time to visit my blog to ready my two recent article on impact of Steemit and the different between the poor and the rich. Thank you sir i appreciate your upvote.

Awww,you're blessed with the gift of family :) Happy birthday to you.

Hey @hanshotfirst I dont really like drawing attention to myself when it comes to birthdays to be honest I dont really like them, it just reminds me I am getting too old lol

I understand completely! If it weren't for my kids I wouldn't have done much for it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 56948.01
ETH 3056.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40