Have you ever been fired from a job for a really stupid reason?

in #funny7 years ago (edited)

Sometimes people get fired for really stupid reasons. If you are Milton from office space, you may even be fired but not know it.



Yesterday a member of the New York Mets organization was fired... and everyone knows it.

One of the most popular members of the New York Mets franchise was released from the team after a shocking video of him surfaced.

The person in question is so popular that you might even call him "Mr. Met"... because that is indeed his name.



I think Mr. Met needs to meet Mr. Tailor to do something about those pants.

Mr. Met has been the face of the New York Mets franchise since 1964. Because the identity of the person inside Mr. Met is kept secret, it is unknown how long the current Mr. Met has held this job. One thing that is known, is that his tenure ended on Wednesday May 31, 2017.

According to witnesses, several fans were heckling poor Mr. Met all night long. The incident came to a fever pitch after one of the hecklers insulted Mr. Met's mother, Grandma Met (I assume).

Mr. Met reacted like any good son (who does not have the ability to speak) would. He visually defended his mother's honor with a combination of universal gestures which loosely translate to, "Sir, please desist. My mother is a wonderful and kind woman. I have the utmost respect for you and your delightful friends, but I would appreciate you showing a measure of decorum in this situation."

Here is the video of that masterfully delivered message...



Apparently the management of the Mets misinterpreted Mr. Met's gesture (which included the raising of one of his three fingers and moving the other hand out of the way to ensure that his other digits would not distract from his gesture) and relieved him of his duties as Mr. Met.

Due to the incredibly serious nature of the incident, the Met organization released the following official statement:

“We apologize for the inappropriate action of this employee. We do not condone this type of behavior. We are dealing with this matter internally.”



A spokesman for the Mets explains that the fan told Mr. Met, "Your mom has huge... hands. I want to play with them all night long." Mr. Met was not amused.*

The Mets are clearly more strict with members of the organization who happen to have a baseball for a head compared to those who catch, throw and hit a baseball (Cough. Cough. Jose Reyes. Cough .Cough.)

There was a new Mr. Met in the fabled uniform today.



How do I know this is a new Mr. Met? I don't. No one does. This is dumb.

This incident lead me to ponder a question...

Have you ever been fired from a job for a stupid reason?


I sure have...

In 1988, when I was 17, I got my first job. I took the job so I could earn enough money to visit a girl in Wisconsin who I had met on vacation that year. (But that is a whole other embarrassing story).

I worked in the paint department of Montgomery Ward. Apparently having me as a past employees was just far too detrimental to the chain of department stores. In 2001, all of the Montgomery Ward department stores went out of business.



Doesn't this just scream 1980s department store?

But back to the paint department. I had absolutely no qualifications for the job. I had never painted anything in my life (unless it was with my fingers). I had no interest in paint. I just wanted to get my hands on that $2.30 minimum wage... I am not kidding. That is how old I am. My first job paid $2.30 per hour.

Luckily a monkey could perform the job. Customers picked the color and finish of their paint. We grabbed a can of the base paint, looked up the color combination in a book (no computers... old remember?) and adjusted the levers on the colors. We added the correct amount (usually) secured the lid, and put the can in the "shaker".



This is a high tech paint shaker. How can I tell? Because it says "High-Tech" right there. Duh!

Ok. Pretty easy. No problem.

However, for some reason, approximately 1 out of every 10 cans had some kind of hole in it. Therefore, when a 17 year old with a mullet picked it up, white base paint spilled all over his corduroys. We had no smocks or coveralls. We were expected to dress like every other pimply faced teenager working the registers.

It got to the point where I was spending more for work pants than I could make $2.30 at a time.



Wait. I am positive I typed in "paint on pants". Ohhh these are paint-on pants.

I finally had it. I convinced a coworker that we should start wearing old sweat pants to work. We did it for several days. Each day, the pants became more and more saturated with paint. We looked incredibly gross.

Finally one day, the manager came to speak with us. I turned on my full teenager and said, "Man, I'm sick of ruining my pants. If you don't pay for my pants, I'm wearing these."

He said, "No you are not."

I'm sure I responded with something super clever like, "Oh yeah? You're not the boss of me."

Well actually... he was the boss of me so he said, "You are fired. Just finish your shift."

Ummmmmm finish my shift? I was 17... and a huge jackass!

I spent the next hour doing baseball slides up and down the aisles of the department store.



I'm old remember?

Then security asked me to leave.

I did.

But I did make $2.30 while I was sliding around. Take that Monkey Wards! (That was our nickname for the store. I told you I was clever. SMH)

So now it is your turn.

Have you ever been fired from a job for a stupid reason? What was it?


*This is actually former Met player Michael Cuddyer from several years ago. He knows nothing about the Mr. Met incident... unless he is Mr. Met!

*Sources for Mr. Met story:
https://www.theguardian.com/sport/2017/jun/01/mr-met-fired-obscene-gesture-new-york-mets

https://www.nytimes.com/aponline/2017/06/01/us/ap-bbn-mr-met-fired.html

Images 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8

Sort:  

great posting

Thanks for stopping by to say hi!

I got fired from a job because I asked for too high a raise. You don't ask, you don't get right? In that case ...I didn't get :-(
I was devestated.
What do you do when that happens to you?
Mope around and regret what you did OR brush it off and welcome it as an opportunity for life taking a different route than you were expecting.
It turned out that it was the best thing could've happened to me.
I picked myself up and got jobs elsewhere with no issue and eventually ended up at the same place I originally got fired from and I made more money there than I've done anywhere else!
In the immortal words of Winston Churchill, acknowledged by many in the UK as the Greatest Briton, "If you're going through hell, keep going".

That is a great story of perseverance! Great Churchill quote!

The manager would have been much more clever had he said "You're right, I'm not the boss of you...because you're fired!" lol.
Actually I do have a story.
I was working as a waitress for a greek restaurant that had recently opened. I was a great waitress, in fact every waitressing job I acquired after this one (which was my first) found me an invaluable employee. But I digress.
I was a college student at the time and I happened to work with a woman who was...well quite a bit older than me. In fact she was even older than I am now. She had a problem with me from the very beginning, though I will admit that one comment I made did not help the situation. I think it was something along the lines of "Have you always been a waitress?" Fairly benign, but since she wasn't my biggest fan to begin with, she took this to mean I was calling her old, or some such thing. Needless to say she was downright rotten to me after this...for a whole three days until I was called into the manager's office. Who told me that piggyback rides through the restaurant by other employees was not appropriate behavior. Um, what? I had not ever had a piggyback ride by any of my co-workers at any point. Of course I stated this. When I learned who I supposedly got a piggyback ride from- a dishwasher who went by Opie- I knew exactly who had made up this story, since the older woman was also not a big fan of his either. I declared this to the manager, told her that the entire story was a fabrication because this woman disliked both myself and Opie (from what I remember of Ope, he was a funny guy, though sometimes his humor ran on the offensive side, and apparently he'd offended said Older Woman)
I was told by the manager that as it was my word against a respectable employee who had been there longer she was forced to make an executive decision. Needless to say, I think I was more pissed off that I was essentially being called a liar on top of an irresponsible employee.
I walked out and watched as Opie walked in. I knew what was about to happen and a grand idea occurred to me. When he came out, he was red in the face and immediately said, "That fucking bitch, is she here today?" Conviently for her, she was not. Or at least if she was, she was in hiding. I calmed him down and said, "Well, if we're going to be fired for something we haven't done....
He completely agreed. We were both still wearing our uniforms as he gave me a piggyback ride through a full house, and of course him, being well him, said a great deal of "lovely" things about the restaurant and its food as we made several passes through the dining room.
Hahaha! Thanks for reminding me of this story, that was some fun times!

LOL. Awesome story! It was so awesome to have a job you did not need. That WTF attitude gives you so much power to stand up to nonsense.

Did Opie land on his feet?

I somehow missed this reply, the last two weeks were really hard trying to keep up with everything, but happily things have gotten back to normal :)

I agree, it was actually fun to work during that time period, when you could do like @meesterboom's post and tell your boss to 'shove this ten foot pole up your hole" hahaha!

Sadly, I lost track of Opie, we knew each other before social media and I don't recall his last name, so I can't even look him put him up and check. But he was a really smart kid (smart asses generally are LOL) so I'm pretty confident he turned out just fine :)

Ugh, I hate judging by seniority. Makes you think why she was still a waitress at her age, huh. It's great that you fulfilled the fabricated story hahaha!! I really enjoy reading about grand exits like these. Makes me wish I had been fired more hahaha!

Tell them Mr Balls

He was just doing what he was hired to do, be Mr balls

LOL LOL I have never seen this gif. It is brilliant!!!

I know right hahha

I thought I woke up this morning, but reading this, I think I have some more waking up to do. Two great stories. Make sure the balls stay out of the paint.

Actually I am going for the exact opposite. Be on the lookout for my modern art series I am going to start. I'll be painting with all sorts of body parts...

My first credit card was Monkey Wards department store card. That was the easiest credit ever. I was always the key holder in my jobs. I was born 50 years older and I'm becoming less responsible every day. @hanshotfirst, always entertaining my friend. Enjoy your weekend.

Nice! Benjamin Button of the job world!

haha, yeah being from NY originally my friends hit me up with that clip. Rough season for the Mets, everyone is injured and Mr. Met has had enough! lol

At least he went out with a bang!

Mr. Met is the best haha XD @hanshotfirst

He is definitely a classic icon!

haha this actually explains a lot
you were 'working' at a ward
in charge of mixing the very important paint
with all these other 'employees'
sliding around the place with padded walls i bet
surprised they let you out

They didn't. I'm still here. I do enjoy the finger painting though... and all the visits from leprechauns and unicorns... except when the leprechauns tell me to burn things.

Time for meds. Gotta go (I hide them under my tongue. Don't tell).

Hi I enjoyed your post just want to say thank you for following me too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60937.87
ETH 2674.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49