Sort:  

Click the wiki link @creatr offered. There is a distinct subculture of Christianity that insists that the KJV is the only "real" Bible, and they offer a lot of reasoning to support their case. Most of that reasoning is bunk.

I was just looking at the link, I have never heard of this movement before, I found it very curious.

Some of the reasoning, however, I do follow. I mentioned one "specific" to @gonzo. Another quite important one, I'll add here...

The King James is based on source material known as "Textus Receptus," which means "Received Text." Many of the "modern translations" are based on what is actually a few older manuscripts. Scholarship more recent than King James has compared and collated a huge collection of copies of the New Testament (~5000 copies) into what is called the "Majority Text Type." Turns out that "Textus Receptus," while not identical to the "Majority Text," is considerably closer to it that the few older manuscripts on which modern translations are based.

There are of course arguments on both sides. I favor the following: The reason there are a few "older manuscripts" that have been preserved to the present day is that they were intentionally not used because they were know in their time to be corrupt, not accurate or deliberately modified. The "Majority Text" type however, exists in such a large quantity (although not quite as old) because it was recognized as legitimate and accurate.

Hi @gonzo,

Please note the topic is humor...

I intend the term (in this context) "tongue in cheek." Now, I mean no offense to anyone who may feel that way about it -- I'm just "pulling their leg" a little bit -- but you can click on the link and find that there are many who feel that the "Authorized King James Version" is the only "real bible" to use.

To a great extent, they may have some good points. For example, I am appalled that virtually all "modern" translations do great harm by paraphrasing Romans 13:1 to insist that it is talking about human government.

And so, in any case, please don't take this post too seriously? I use the King James bible here simply because it has the archaic term "waxed great" which I've adopted as a pun on my favorite sport, namely surfing.

Thanks for asking! :)

No offense taken, I just thought there would be an interesting reason.

Thank you, @gonzo, and I hope you found the answer interesting!

It was and thanks for sharing the wiki link, I have never heard of this movement.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58981.78
ETH 2669.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44