You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 🏄Great Surfers of the Bible🏄

in #funny8 years ago

Hi @gonzo,

Please note the topic is humor...

I intend the term (in this context) "tongue in cheek." Now, I mean no offense to anyone who may feel that way about it -- I'm just "pulling their leg" a little bit -- but you can click on the link and find that there are many who feel that the "Authorized King James Version" is the only "real bible" to use.

To a great extent, they may have some good points. For example, I am appalled that virtually all "modern" translations do great harm by paraphrasing Romans 13:1 to insist that it is talking about human government.

And so, in any case, please don't take this post too seriously? I use the King James bible here simply because it has the archaic term "waxed great" which I've adopted as a pun on my favorite sport, namely surfing.

Thanks for asking! :)

Sort:  

No offense taken, I just thought there would be an interesting reason.

Thank you, @gonzo, and I hope you found the answer interesting!

It was and thanks for sharing the wiki link, I have never heard of this movement.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58241.28
ETH 2648.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45