When SNES music glitches, hilarity ensues...steemCreated with Sketch.

in #funny6 years ago

wtf of snes01.png

I died laughing when I first heard this track. But it doesn't hit right away. For the first 40 seconds I was confused, wondering why the composer chose to repeat the same vocal sample over and over (is she saying "come"?) Then the song swells up at the 43 second mark and that "come" sample is pitched to all hell, screaming it's shill melody all over the beautiful strings and harp playing along (listen below):

I later learned this was actually due to an error with the sound emulation as it was ripped from the original ROM file. In the real version, the song strings together many audio samples to make a full vocal performance. Here's that version in it's natural state:

...but I still enjoy the broken version the most.

I'll share more selections from this list (and future lists!) on the regular, so if you enjoy retro game music or just interesting hidden gems, consider following along!

This song is one of many in a playlist I created after listening to all 1,513 Super Nintendo game soundtracks and picking out my favorites (I made a larger post with more info here last year). If you liked this track, check out the others in the youtube playlist! I've also nearly finished new list of music almost 3 times as large, so stay tuned!

Sort:  


Congratulations @gmedley!
You raised your level and are now a Minnow!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hah, awesome, sure would like to see more!
I've actually been doing some "historical" gaming posts lately, covering noteworthy games released in certain years (just made one about 1998) and seeing posts, such as your one about some lesser known fun facts is extremely delightful!

Thanks! I'll definitely be sharing more select tracks in the future. And cool I'll definitely give your posts a look!

That's interesting. I never probably caught this type of stuff myself but thanks for sharing!

Your post was manually selected and voted for by @illuminati-inc (IINC) with support of @curie and its train of votes. About IINC: here. About Curie: here.

Thank you for the support!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 69611.14
ETH 3805.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82