The Pine Pollen Plague

in #funny7 years ago

Nature's Official "It's Spring" Announcement Technique In North Idaho

IMG_6199.JPG

The Rhubarb, it endures!

Today my husband told me he needed our little blue car to transport some children to pistol practice. It's only three miles up to the library, so I told him that I would drive our old Suburban Beulah the Battleship so he could have the car for the much longer trip to the shooting range. I was happy to oblige for as a person of a height challenged stature, I quite enjoy driving that big steel beast.

IMG_6192.JPG

This is the hood of our Suburban, at least the pollen tries its best to be topographical in its coating mannerisms, provides a bit of visual interest don't yah think?

A short while later, decked out in my librarian-wear, I hopped into the front seat of the Suburban and began my seat forwarding ritual so that I could reach the pedals. It was then that I absentmindedly turned on the windshield wipers for my view out of the windshield was obstructed. It then dawned on me that the obstruction was pine pollen, for the pine trees in our vicinity appear to be having a competition with the worlds volcanoes. That song, "Anything you can do, I can do better" sprang to mind as I watched clouds of yellow green pine pollen mist float by.

IMG_6189.JPG

This shot is of the library's entryway rugs. Most illuminating.

A short while later I was happily completing opening procedures in order to get the library up and running for the day when I spied the main headline in our local venison wrapper. The pine pollen plague had made the front page:

IMG_6191.JPG

Throughout the rest of the day the side effects of our pollen problem were evident as most of the patrons came through the door exhibiting pollen overdose symptoms, coughing, sneezing, and puffy, red eyes were present in abundance. The moaning and gnashing of some of our more vociferous members was heard as they lamented the great dusting that Nature was assaulting our community with.

IMG_6195.JPG

The current state of the concrete in my carport, and yes I did draw a faint smiley face in the pollen. Just because.

The thing that I find most amusing about the whole scenario is that this phenomenon happens every single year. I might accept that it is a tiny bit more voluminous than normal, but what I think might be the case is there are a ton of new people that have graced our panhandle with their presence and perhaps they've just never went through a pollen plague before.

As any helpful 'brarian would do, I have some pollen plague survival tips for neophytes:

DO NOT wash your car until the pollen ceases. To do so would be a waste of your time and resources. Your car is going to look like it was sprinkled with lime green pixie dust by the spring announcing wood gnome for at least another week. Just grin and bear it, maybe it's good luck!

Speaking of pixie dust, I know that the pollen is a beautiful shade of chartreuse, but as far as I know it doesn't have any magical health powers like bee pollen, so I would hold off sprinkling it on your french toast.

Don't try to hold in that sneeze. We are all doing it, it is super trendy, like, we could totally start a thing on Instagram of #pinepollenpics showing off our faces mid sneeze. Totes.

IMG_6201.JPG

Tingy has the right idea, chill eyes half open style until the plague passes.

In closing, just remember Panhandlians, this too shall pass.


Want to read more @Generikat posts?

Click Here

And as always, all of the images in this post were taken on the author's pine pollen covered iPhone.

Sort:  

I sprinkle bee pollen over my breakfast every morning. It's great stuff! But, wow! That is a lot of pollen. We have the same problem in Tucson. Only, it's dust instead of pollen-and it's everywhere. Great post! Thank you.

Good morning! I love bee pollen, for years we kept bees around the farm, and I just loved the girls, lol! There is nothing better than wandering out to the orchard and letting honeybees crawl all over you, my husband gets jealous because I don't even need a bee suit. Speaking of the other half, he lived in Green Valley for years, which I think is just down the road from you in Tuscon, so I have heard of your dust legend. Thank you so much for the comment and I hope you have a fantastic day!

We have three hives. My husband lets the bees crawl on him. I love watching them, but I haven't had them crawl on me...not yet. Wow! It really is a small world. Yes, Green Valley is about 40 minutes from us. Did your husband grow up there?

Awe, that is so cool that you have three hives! They are so wonderful! My husband spent about five years in Green Valley taking care of his uncle, he is always talking about how much he misses the desert and hanging out on Mt. Lemon and such. 😊

Mt. Lemmon is very scenic, and to this day I am still amazed by the different landscapes you go through from the bottom of the mountain to the top in a fairly quick time. You go from desert to forest in about 30 minutes.

Pine pollen is good stuff! I just processed a batch today. It's amazing stuff -- more fine than the finest flour. It has a nice nutty flavor. Here are some great pine pollen cookies, complete with spruce needles. Forest cookies! :D
xtsu DSC02423 small.jpg
Maybe somebody needs to invent a big pine pollen vacuum and then people could just eat all that pollen!

Those cookies sound interesting! I imagine they're good for you. I never heard of cookies made with pine pollen. Now, I want to learn about them!

Pine pollen is good in biscuits, pancakes, muffins -- most anything baked. But it's good for making fresh noodles and in smoothies, too. I better write a post or two!

Yes, you should write a post. It will be interesting. I am constantly reading about food and nutrition and I never came across pine pollen. I'm in Tucson so there are no naturally growing pines trees here, but in the mountains surrounding us there are. My interest is piqued and I'm going to research it.

Ahh! HH! What the heck! You are amazing! There are so many questions running through my mind right now. Please tell me that you are going to chronicle and post all your pollen awesomeness! Yes, I am using an absurd amount of exclamation points, but it's due to your awesomeness, so totally acceptable.

Haha! Yes, I better write about pine trees and pine pollen. It's one of my annual spring things to do. People make big money off of selling pine pollen, but I just harvest for my own use. There are a lot of health claims about it, but I just like to eat it. It's tasty! And if you are surrounded by pine pollen, you can harvest all you want for free - and some effort, lol.

I so, so, so am anticipating the pine pollen post(s), for apparently I have an abundant supply of yummy baked goods to create featuring that star ingredient! Effort or no effort the pine pollen will be collected! 😊

A squirt of blue washer fluid to help the windshield wipers remove the yellow pollen creates a delightful green toxic ooze all along the periphery of wiper range.

Caution: Unlikely to provide superpowers if consumed.

I don't know, the ol' digestive tract might gain something super, well maybe "go through" might be a better way to phrase it! Yay!

Poor vehicles look like they are suffering from an infection right now....

Nurgle is pleased at least.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56934.21
ETH 3091.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38