Random English Phrases on Tshirts in Panama

in #funny7 years ago

Yesterday I went shopping with a few friends for the day. It's always interesting to see what kind of rejects Panama gets. It is almost like they will sometimes say, "Oops, we printed this all wrong. Let's mark it for $5 and see if it will sell in Panama." Believe it or not, I found all of these shirts and the pillow at a nice, regular (not dollar) store. They make me laugh that people (who aren't native English speakers) could buy these shirts and walk around in them not necessarily knowing what they do...or don't say.

pillow.jpg

Although this is a cute pillow with good colors and cute owls on it, the "Sample text here" makes it a great example of the rejects that are for sale here! I can just see an unsuspecting, non-English speaking Panamanian buying this pillow and putting it on their bed, thinking it's the cutest thing ever! Perhaps someday they will google what "Sample text here" means and find out exactly what the pillow says that they know own. Seeing things like this always reminds me of people who tattoo random Chinese words on themselves. Ha.

The shirts I see on people at times are also comical. Like the man I saw wearing a shirt that said something about this "cheer beauty" turning into a beast. Or the little girl who had on a shirt that said, "You be my glass of wine and I'll be your shot of whiskey." I found a maternity shirt for sale once with a picture of a baby stroller and baby on it that also said, "Enter text here." Another time, there was a girl with the marijuana leaf shirt at church and another churchgoer with "100% Real" on the front of hers. I get it. When you are getting clothes in another language, you may not necessarily know what they mean and just having a fitting, clean shirt is nice! It just makes me chuckle to myself sometimes.

IMG_9436.JPG

These shirts I found yesterday at the Target equivalent here in Panama called Conway. The prices on the shirts ranged from $5-8. Had they been $1, I totally would have bought one! I just wonder if these were printed in error or if there was a mix up with the person in charge of choosing an English phrase to print. They say "DON'T LET ME extra lover," "Happen," "DO YOU nothing without," and "VANITY FAIR Thank You My Good Friend." They still make me laugh! I found another that I forgot to take a picture of that said, "Lemon Soul." The tshirt itself was so cute, but I just didn't understand the saying on it. You're sour?

When I see items like this, I always say to myself that it was "lost in translation."

Have you seen any type of shirts like this that made no sense in the intended language?


@dumar022 @whysoserious - Not sure if this is still going, but this post seems pretty applicable. Ha. Original post rules

!steemitworldmap 9.059013 lat -79.471001 long David District D3SCR
Check this out on the steemit World Map

The STEEM Engine

Sort:  

A reality in life. I think they won't use it or they will chose the another if they know the means of the text.
How about you?
Are you agree with my opini?

Yes, they probably wouldn't use it if they found out the meaning. Or use it because they think it is funny. Ha.

Yes. But there is only a few people use it cause of the funnies.
In my country it's also happen.

Hahaha here in Argentina we have a lot of that too, you can always see people walking around with the most random phrases, I still have one that I got as a birthday gift that says "the rest youth. Life give into the night" hahaha.

The owls are cute though.

Lol! That is pretty funny. I would wear a shirt like that! Ha! :)

I see them all the time! There was once in Thailand I saw this shirt that had 'same same' printed in the front and 'but different' printed at the back. It sparked a debate between me and my wife what it meant. It went from sexual preference all the way to aliens impersonating humans.

Lol - that is pretty funny! Yeah, no telling what that shirt meant. I could see how it would be open to interpretation and lost in translation somewhat...

Hahaha, yeah... There were "random English" shirts all over Spain, too. Some of them didn't even really make sense!

Did you ever see this one? I was going to get it, when I taught English there.

Ha ha! That would be a great one to wear while teaching English!

Funny! It makes me think of the people that make oriental tatoos without knowing the real signification of it, and that get "noddle soup" instead of a philosophical quote :-)

Yes I know, huh? I put a link to a tattoo article with random Chinese words above. Too funny.

Yeah, that's very funny. I've seen a lot of t-shirts with inscriptions in the Russian language in Vietnam. Sometimes I had a hard time understanding the point. Even more funny were the advertising leaflets in shops and restaurants. We even photographed some of them, to show it to their friends and laugh.

Ha - yeah it is funny some of the mistakes one can make when trying hard to do something in another language. ;)

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=apanamamama
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=random-english-phrases-on-tshirts-in-panama


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly � Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue # 68 (3/9/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today!

Interesting shirts. Makes me wonder what our shirts say that have chinese symbols on them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60327.79
ETH 2348.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53