Another Fungi Friday and More Macro Photography

in #fungifriday6 years ago

2i3g80r4zi.jpg

The last couple of days I have been writing about a walk I took through the Michigan Civilian Conservation Corps Museum. You can read about it here and here.

It was a really great stroll and as you can see from the pictures, the day was beautiful. Actually it was almost perfect for being the first day of fall.

When my wife and I left for this trip, I knew I wanted to take some good pictures, so instead of relying on my cell phone I decided to bring along our Sony RX100 III camera. Unlike most point and shoot cameras that have a relatively small sensor, the RX100 has a 1" sensor, so it takes really good photos even though it isn't a DSLR.

I had been wanting to try my hand at some real macro photography and my cell phone just wasn't cutting it. One of the first things I took a photo of was this mushroom hanging out on the edge of the woods near our campsite.

He looks like he had seen better days and was now just a broken afterthought of the proud fungi he used to be.

repdgowmlg.jpg

Back over at the CCC museum, I found myself standing by an old path looking over this stretch of land. The ground was covered by this almost blue sort of stuff. I still don't know what it is, but wanting to try some macro shots, I stooped down to get a better angle.

zdyetckcuu.jpg

rnktaefam1.jpg

I want to call it lichen, but I don't really feel like we are far enough North for it to be that sort of thing. It looks like it probably is on the ground year round even in the hot Summer months. If you happen to know what it is, please leave me a comment and educate me.

Quite honestly, I think it looks more like something that belongs at the bottom of the ocean clinging to a coral reef instead of sitting out in a field in the middle of Michigan.

Even on the small viewfinder of the camera I could tell that my macro skills needed a little honing. I kept walking over at the museum hoping I could find something else to get a close up shot of.

I was just about ready to head back when I came across the statue that was on display and surrounded by these beauties:

n3iyhdtac2.jpg

fpb7ecgp41.jpg

Apparently, I have quite a bit more work to do on my macro game than I thought I did. For some reason the camera was autofocusing on the flowers beyond the one that I was actually trying to take a picture of.

I think I still got some beautiful shots, but not really the ones I was intending on. You know what they say though, the third time's the charm and finally I was able to come away with this:

cadxncsmkk.jpg

Still not perfect, but I am getting better for sure. I am really fascinated by the subsection of Steemit that is focused (pun intended) on macro photography. My dad is a photographer, but I had never really realized there is such a big market for it.

I look forward to getting out more with my Sony and exploring this genre of photography. Hopefully in the future I will have much better shots to share with you.

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif


Earn free crypto income with Mannabase

Sort:  

Your photos are lovely! I love those purple asters. And we used to have that Mossy stuff growing in the woods when I lived in Central Wisconsin. It was all over the place but I have no idea what it's called.

Central Wisconsin would put you probably right near the same latitude as this was. Thanks for the compliment and the comment!

Great shots!
I love lichens. They have big puffy ones down here in GA too. My kids like to pick and collect them, haha.

That is pretty funny! I thought lichens were more of a tundra/cold climate type of thing. I guess you learn something new every day!

I did too, but then my kids found all these fluffy things growing down here in south GA, so I looked it up, and they are lichens too! They seem to grow all over the place...

I think you are off to a great start with your macro shots. I need to practice more too or better yet wait until we upgrade. I’m not sure if it’s me or the camera but it is really hard focusing for the macro shots. Keep on working on it, I know I will. I want to get really good at it because I love how those shots look. Those are really pretty flowers.

I will try to keep plugging away at it. Thanks for the compliment and the comment!

Absolutely! Looking forward to seeing more :)

I think it is Lichen too. They grow almost everywhere and in almost any climate. Did you touch them? We have those in Portugal too. I am not sure if they just dried up so much, or that's how they are.... but they are card and crispy to the touch, though looking like a soft pillow.

And you even got a shroom!
Happy Fungi Friday :)

No, I don't think I touched them. I was stooping down so I was trying not to lose my balance. I was there all alone and I had left my phone back at the campground. The last thing I needed was to fall and not be able to get help :) That would be just my luck!

Oh, so better not! But when you get the chance try. They are very cool!

It's a good time for mushy spotting. Another month and they will be dying or dead.

I am really enjoying all these posts, some real cool details you shared with us here
the RX100 I have heard great things about

It is pricey for a point and shoot, but pretty awesome. It even has a shoe on top so I did a shoot for my brother in law in a studio with a flash rig one time. Having the 1" sensor makes such a huge difference. It can also take photos in .raw format.

well I think it is a big step up above the average point and shoot, I was considering getting one at one stage for something smaller to carry into the city, but ending up sticking with my Mirrorless

FOR TSE: Much much better load-times on your posts the last couple of days. TYVM!!

No problem! Thank you!

zummm zum!


You have been elected by the @steemrepair and upvoted with the trail for your quality contributions to the Steemit community. To join this initiative follow Steemauto curation trail. Use tag #steemrepair to qualify for a possible reward upvote.

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 273 (10/06/18)

Hi @bozz!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.382 which ranks you at #6924 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 28 places in the last three days (old rank 6896).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 271 contributions, your post is ranked at #70.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60340.89
ETH 2615.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56