Walking with Bozz: CCC Museum - Part 2

in #esteem6 years ago

Yesterday I wrote a post as part of #wednesdaywalk about my stroll through the CCC Muesum near North Higgins Lake in Michigan.

The problem is, I took way to many pictures for just one post, so here is the second part of that trip. If you didn't read the first part, you might want to go back and browes through that.

Okay, now that you are caught up, you will remember that we just left the ice house. A short walk to your right will take you to the entrance of the cone barn and you can actually see the side of it in my first picture of the ice house.

syp8penw08.jpg

The cone barn is a pretty cool structure and they have a couple of neat displays inside of it that I will be highlighting in just a second.

Here is the sign that sits in front of the cone barn:

uobpra058v.jpg

This sign was also just outside the cone barn:

tjsuisr9it.jpg

As I mentioned, inside the cone barn there were several displays showing the tools they used for the various steps of reforestation.

95ggqde6g7.jpg

wctjmn9j4y.jpg

It was really interesting to see how they did everything by hand. This reminds me of the post I read by @steemflow the other day and the grinder that he showed.

In addition to the tumbler, they also had an old fanning mill setup. What is a fanning mill you may ask? Well I just so happens I took a picture of the sign near it so we can both learn about it together!

wpvxcerkkc.jpg

0jik8tdlnk.jpg

It is very interesting to see that even though the machine is quite old, they still used electricity to run it. I would expect in the days before electricity, it probably would have been operated by a peddal or perhaps hydro-power.

I took a couple more shots of things inside the cone barn before I headed back out into the sun.

u6nsojppv0.jpg

ft99kzr1d3.jpg

v19gjss2i3.jpg

There was no one else at the museum when I was there, so it was kind of lonely in the old buildings. It was nice to get back out in the open where I could breathe the fresh air and see the sky.

My next stop where the old seed beds where they would start the trees.

c5nu6uv7br.jpg

3af0vqd5uq.jpg

From the seed beds, I headed towards an open pavillion where they had this ram pump setup.

a66eoll4x2.jpg

a49sbka6hv.jpg

I apologize for cutting off the bottom of the sign. That was a big oversight on my part.

I took some more pictures in the area of the ram pump that I will share in a post tomorrow and then I headed towards a rock that was sitting by itself in the middle of one of the paths.

i8g9hp4twj.jpg

I know it is hard to read so I will quote the text for you:

Under the leadership of President Franklin Delano Roosevelt, civilian conservation corps camps were established during the early thirties. FDR recruited thousands of unemployed youth and sent them into battle against the destruction and erosion of our natural resources. This action brought together two wated assets - the young men and the land - an effort that saved both
presented by M.C.C.C. Alumni

Is is really amazing how out of the Great Depression, they were able to create this program that not only revitalized peoples lives, but also the earth which we had been taking from and not giving back to for so many years.

The next stop on the tour is the old bunk house and it holds the main wealth of information about the CCC.

vmfp0i9jk1.jpg

gtho0ssnui.jpg

bdlp3df327.jpg

ols02y295w.jpg

mnlxnggraq.jpg

Sorry about the text on that last one. I had to resize the pictures so they wouldn't take forever to load and the print got a little fuzzy. I will save you the time of quoting all of the text for you, but the old pictures are interesting to look at.

After you leave this building, there is just one more stop before you get back to the entrance of the museum.

c5wcoxxk7x.jpg

This statue of a CCC Worker stands proudly before an open field to remind us all of the time and dedication these men put into our local, state, and national parks.

Thanks for coming along with me. It has been great taking this step back into time with you.

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif


Earn free crypto income with Mannabase

Sort:  

That is turning into a very cool walk.

We had a fanning mill for our seed wheat. Yes we saved our own seed. The mill had various sizes of screens and shakers so the broken and sub sized seeds hit the floor. That was chicken food! It was a serious PIA to run so that meant me and my brother generally got the task. It took about 6 hours of hot sweaty dirty work to clean 200 bushels of wheat, enough to seed about 300 acres.

It's an interesting place. Thanks for sharing it with us.

No problem and that is another awesome story! I would expect nothing less. Very cool that you were familiar with the machine!! Tomorrow is going to just be some macro shots I took while I was at the place, but it should still be cool!

Wow,, great muesum sir. Completely.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you!

I am glad you followed on and showed us more such cool stuff in that museum

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 272 (10/05/18)

Thank you!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Awesome! Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60209.30
ETH 2627.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55