Fundraising a Home for Peg and Pegasus

This kind of thing has always felt awkward to me... but now there's an adorable little life I want to save in the process of saving my own.

The details of my situation are a bit much to unload, but it's essentially death-by-1000-cuts-style abuse. This post would be pages long if I listed all the little things that culminate into what might as well be literal daily jabs in the face for breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

I cry about it more than I'd like, which aggravates my sinuses... so that's annoying. I'd like less of that.

So, my best solution is to move.

Specifically, to a place with a similar cost of living, but more available jobs. Also, away from the coast... terrified of the coast.

So my location of choice? Colorado Springs, Colorado. (or Denver, I'm open to options)

I was told I could get a job as a "trimmer" for $12-$17/hour. I like tedious tasks, as it helps me with creative endeavours. (A trimmer is a person that trims the leaves off of cannabis... All day. I could think about story development the whole time!)

What I'm seeking is help getting out of here. I'm a bit stuck by not having a car; not being allowed to use a car; and not getting decent public transportation this far out of the city. And because I live on the edge of the county, there are only a handful of places in walking distance and they don't offer full time for anyone under management.

Working on the internet is something I've been pursuing, but my living situation is becoming detrimental to my endeavours. My mental health is one thing, but don't mess with my efficiency.

Here is the budget I calculated based on internet searches. Things for which I couldn't find (or won't get) exact prices, I took any averages I could find and added $50 or $100 as a buffer for any inaccuracy.


Budget:

Rent for 2 months:

approx $3000 ($1000-$1500/mo)

I don't know how long it will take to find a job, or how long until I'm paid enough to cover the next month of rent since some jobs pay more often than monthly. I feel like 2 months is a good, safe buffer just in case of anything. Better to have more money than I need than not enough. I hear it's good to set aside something for emergencies anyway.

Also, I want to aim for a lower rent, but I don't want to screw myself out of access to what seems to be the average rent for a studio apartment.

Approximate living expenses for 2 months (food, electricity, water, internet, prepaid phone, toiletries, lady stuff, medication, public transportation):

approx $2880

I'm currently managing to stretch $400 over 10 to 12 weeks for food. I'd be happy to just double that.

Utility costs were taken an "average cost of living" website. Also, I went with Denver just in case that's where I wind up, since Colorado Springs it a little less expensive.

Transportation from TN to CO & Shipping my possessions to a PO Box:

approx $1,600

Actual travel should only cost $200-$300 since Colorado isn't that far away.

But shipping my stuff? That's a wildcard. I have heavy clothing, computer equipment, and musical instruments. I hope it doesn't cost $1000 to ship all of that... but I don't have a means to weigh such large object for the purposes of more accurate calculations. And I have to buy the insurance on my computers and instruments... and pack them elaborately so they're still in tact when we meet again. It may not actually be as expensive as I think it'll be.

On that note... if anything costs less than its budget, the excess money will either go into an emergency fund or be reallocated to other parts of the budget.

Hotel room for 2 weeks:

approx $2,000 (including transportation and food for 2 weeks)

I want to be able to look at apartments in person... check out the neighbourhood; make sure it's safe, clean, accessible by public transportation. Hopefully, two weeks will be enough for that, because hotels are expensive for the same reason jobs are more abundant.


And finally, the adorable little life I mentioned at the beginning of the post.

Photo of baby Peg

This is Peg. She's one of a litter of 10.

These pups were just born on August 29th, and brought to Rhonda's rescue by a very kind soul. I don't have the means to donate to Rhonda's rescue myself... at least not until I get out of here and get a proper paying job... but I could give one of the pups a home. It'll be 8 weeks before they can leave for new homes. But I know they're in fantastic care with Rhonda.

Sure, my budget would be tight... I'd definitely opt for that pet insurance I had to sell when I worked at petco... And I'd probably seek out recipes we could both eat -- because I know how to drive a pressure cooker. ;)

I'll help the cute little critter recover from the confusion of moving from place to place so early in her life (I know that feeling). And when she's old enough, I'll begin training her to for a few very specific tasks. She'll be more than just my best buddy ever, she'll essentially keep me alive.

See, my mother's dog is so intuitive, he learned (on his own) to recognise when I'm dissociating and bark me back to reality. He also seems to know when to bark and when to just sit on my feet. No one taught him this!

He's even saved me from what was becoming a pattern of me dissociating when I open the oven and somehow burning myself when I pull the food out. After the third time, he now comes and does a little patrol, then sits behind my feet.

For some reason, this makes me extra careful... maybe I don't want him too close so I'm more focused... but I haven't burned my arm since he started doing that. Again, no one taught him this. These are just things he does. I will miss him when I leave.

My hope is to train Peg to perform similar tasks. To help me, and comfort me. And of course, to be my best buddy. ^_^

Puppy Budget:

approx $1900 (or maybe $900 if good luck prevails)

This would cover supplies, food, veterinarian bills, and transportation to her new home with me. I have access to tons of puppy stuff already, so we're good there.

I wasn't sure of the specifics of everything, so I inquired with Rhonda and her reply was as follows:

Puppy budget. Oh, my. Well, she will be spayed before leaving here, so you don't have to worry about that. Yearly vet visit with vaccines, usually $200 to $300. Pet insurance--whatever that costs. Food? She'll eat less than some dogs, so probably less than $100 per month. But there's also the matter of pet deposits and the higher rent of pet-friendly housing. Most places gouge you on that. This isn't just a consideration for the present situation, but for the future when you do move again. Pets complicate things greatly when it comes to moving. You also have to think about how you will get to Denver with a puppy, or how you'll get a puppy to Denver. That kind of transport would probably run close to $1,000, although sometime Pilots -n- Paws will fly them for free, if they have volunteers on that route.

So, I would take the higher number with vet bills and put that as an upfront cost: approx $300
Cost of food for 2 months: approx $200
Transportation for Peg to Colorado: approx $1000 (but also maybe free! hopeful there)
Potential Pet deposit + rent for 2 months: approx $400

I perused a number of pet-friendly places on Zillow and the deposits seem to top out around $350 and monthly pet rents around $25.

Peg is small and cute, appearing to be a mix of Border Collie and Italian Greyhound, so I don't expect to face any breed or size restrictions (even when she's full grown).

Also, female moving to a big city alone? Probably a good idea to have a dog or a gun... and I don't really want a gun (too clumsy). Also also, I feel like I kind of owe her now. Without the inspiration of her cute little face... and the ticking clock on her growing up and moving on to a shelter... I probably wouldn't have mustered the courage to post this, let alone write it. I think she was the true push I needed to give in and ask for help.

So, this is my cry for help... for me and for little Peg.
Please help us find a new home!


Budget Summary:

puppy budget = $1900
travel & shipping of stuff = approx $1,500
hotel for 2 weeks = approx $2,000 (including transportation and food for 2 weeks)
rent for 2 months = approx $3000 (1500/mo)
2 months of living expenses = approx $2880
Po Box = $102 for 3 months
total = $11,382

I wish it was less expensive, but it is what it is.

Now if, by some miracle, I manage to raise more than I need to move, I'll be donating the excess to Rhonda's rescue.

Taking it even further, any excess funds that I have after I've settled in, found a job, and set aside a couple hundred for emergencies will also go to Rhonda's rescue.


I'm also offering the following services:

Voice Over

Preferably short pieces due to time constraints, but not a strict restriction. No political or NSFW pieces, though.

Graphic Arts

Icons, simple logos, character renders, architectural models, landscape renders.

Oracle Card Readings

Bet you didn't see that one coming. Just know, I can't tell you your future. But using an oracle deck of my own creation, I can read the energy of a situation. I mostly use it for worldbuilding and character development, but it works for real life situations as well. I also won't read the energy of anyone that's not present for or requesting the reading, as it's an invasion of privacy.

Price: Negotiable.
Anything over 1 SBD would be great!



Thank you for reading.
PegasusPhysics ^_^

Sort:  

Try www.upwork.com and www.fiverr.com if you'd like to do work online. Plenty of people looking for visual artists/designers online.

Thank you. I'm giving Fiverr a go. I talk about it in my latest post. I also made a matching steemgig ^_^;

Sigh....I knew I saw something...in your eyes...the first time in the #rapchallenge . I really hate you're going through this...You're strong...You're very very strong...and I want you to know that people that go through the most usually end up having very triumphant endings. I definitely don't have that type of money...But I'm working on it. If you have an e-mail, I would like to send you something though. I think it will help the core first and help to fix what you are going through.

and I want you to know that people that go through the most usually end up having very triumphant endings

Yes! This is one of the things that keeps me going! It's what keeps me convinced that the permaculture arts & engineering village I want to build will actually get built!

Also, holy crap! Thank you for inadvertently inspiring a way better acronym for the village!!! Paev! Like, "pave the way". I don't even care if the full name is a bit clunky, lol, I can finally start posting this to steemit with updated ideas and information! Seriously, thank you!

If you have an e-mail, I would like to send you something though.

Oh wow, that's very kind of you! Thank you. ^_^
I'm on the same name, just on gmail (hope that's not too cryptic, I just don't want any bots to grab it, lol). Every little bit helps and I'm grateful for anything at all. The fact that people care makes the days more bearable. <3

"i see the wave, rarely dipping lower than the last low, but often cresting higher than the last high..."
This was some stream of consciousness writing that occurred before I wrote the stuff about the village... I wasn't even sure if I was going to include it in this reply... but now I kinda feel like it belongs.

That's a huge amount there !! All the best hun. I too love puppies and dogs. It's quite lovely how you named your steemit by his name in the beginning. I hope the best for you both :)

Oh, the puppy was named after me. That's what made it so much of a synchronicity. I saw the picture first. I had no idea that puppy was named after me until after I feel in love with it lol. ^_^

It is a huge amount. And it kind of feels impossible. Which is scary. Because my pool of options is very shallow. If I had the power to make things cheaper, I'd use it in a heartbeat.

Oh. Hahahah.

And no nothing is impossible. Just raise your frequency, vibration!! Universe will help you if you do so. It happened with me as well. Start thinking that it's easy, and more then that, start FEELING it. Things will change :)

I appreciate the kind words, even if they are far easier said than done. ^_^

I know. Would not believe it too if it didn't happen to me. But trust me, miracles do happen. :) Take care.

Well, I'm happy for you. :)

Perhaps you can elaborate on how one might think and feel like it's easy? Especially when all of one's prior experiences prove the contrary?

"Just raise your frequency, vibration!!"

Perhaps you could explain how that's done as well?

I'm happy to attempt just about anything, because I'm really over this situation. But the methods for doing the things you suggest aren't particularly intuitive.

Well ok. I can’t inform everything I did because it’s hard for people to digest. But yes some practices are scientifically proven. So 15 minutes before sleeping and 15 mins after you wake up are the most crucial period to fix things in your subconscious!! What you have to do is that you have to imagine, whatever you want at this period every day and have faith that it has happened already. During sleep, it will all get transferred to the unconscious and it will make things happen on its own. If its hard to imagine then watch videos related to the same as pictures leave a better impression in helping us imagine. All the best :)

"I can’t inform everything I did because it’s hard for people to digest."

I'm a cartomancer. Open-minded comes with the territory. ;)

This 15 minutes thing, I already do. I'm not sure if it's a precise 15 minutes, (could be more, could be less) but I do this anyway because it's nicer to think about where I'd rather be when I'm going to sleep. Also, I lucid dreams nightly and if I don't influence the dream myself, it's very likely to be a zombie dream... which aren't nearly as fun as zombie entertainment, lol.

But what do you do when you don't get to decide your thoughts when you first wake up? For example, when someone regularly wakes you up and demands something?

I live in Littleton which is a suburb of Denver. .. rents are very high here but there are plenty of jobs. As far as trimming you'll habe to get a MMJ badge to work in any part of the cannabis industry. Colorado springs is cheaper but so is pay. And there aren't many dispensaries three did finding work may be difficult. . if recommend looking on Craigslist for someone to share a room to start. ..

Thank you for the info.

I had a feeling I would have to get some kind of card or badge like I did when I was a bartender. Does it come with residency requirements? Like, would I have to wait until I got an apartment before I could apply? Or could I jump on that on day one of my arrival in Co.?

It sounds like I'll be looking for a somewhere on a transportation route, but not quite in the city. Fortunately, I only need a studio apartment, and I budgeted for the higher end of the average.

As for finding someone to live with on craigslist... I think after this situation, I need to not live with other humans for a while... possibly forever. Sick of people taking advantage of my disorder, and disrupting my productivity.

There's actually a lot of Hoops to jump through to get your medical badge I'm not sure about residency requirements but I know that there's a background check and a couple other things

Cool. I'll research it. I'm imaging they probably copied the liquor licence model.

We have a great group forming up in Colorado! I'm so excited for you to come join us!! If you want some help figuring out Denver, DM me on discord.

I definitely will! It would totally help if I could narrow down places to look for apartments and work. That way I can get set up faster once I get there. ^_^

i want to join can you give me the link?

Good luck Pegasus. I hope you can find a way to figure things out. Traveling across the country certainly ins't cheap. Any way you can apply for some jobs ahead of time so you might be able to be sure of income when you get there? bex crosses everything you find a solution

Fortunately, it's not all the way across the country (like new york to l.a.)... just across a couple of states (makes it a little cheaper... but only just a little). It's actually only a 17 hour drive - which I could do no problem if I had a car.

In fact, if I had car, I'd be gone. I wouldn't have internet for a while, but I'd drive out of here and live in my car for as long as necessary. I'm no stranger to showering in a public bathroom sink.

Considered renting a car and driving my stuff, because I could fit it all in something like Nissan Rogue... but it actually came out to the same price as flying myself and shipping my stuff. shrug

Accommodations whilst I search for an apartment are a big chunk of that budget due to hotel prices... But maybe I can catch a special on that.

I'm not sure if I can really apply for those jobs without being there, but I'll check. I don't have any qualifications, so I have to take entry level work. And there's so much competition, you kinda have to be available yesterday.

If I could just get there... sigh

Renting might be cheaper for taking Peg.

Hmm... Maybe. Would have to drive from Colorado to Appalacia and back... rental fees, insurance, gas prices, toll booths, food... Might come out to the same price.

Rhonda mentioned "sometime Pilots -n- Paws will fly them for free," so definitely going to pursue that.

I'm feeling you on this one @pegasusphysics. I need to move as well, by the end of January. I don't know where I'm going but I will be leaving here. Also I will be sending a support package for food for my pup Zeni and it will be for your pup Peg as well and 50% of all post I write through the end of the year will go for the pups. So for now don't worry about Peg he will be fine, you focus on moving and getting to a more peaceful place. Whatever I can do to help just let me know. If I can I will.

Awe, thank you so much for helping to feed little Peg! Every little bit helps. ^_^

By the end of January? Oh man... that'll probably feel just as short as eight weeks... as November and December are not great times for moving.

Any ideas about where you might want to go?

Looking at Colorado, Arizona or Canada, whichever Steemit Community in those areas will have a big impact on my decision, since Steemit is such a big part of my world these day. Also as soon as I get the payout for the 95.00 post I did 3 days ago I will transfer SBD for about 50lbs of dog food. I will keep you posted.

That's amazing! Rhonda will be happy to hear that. ^_^
Canada's a decent choice too.
Don't know much about Arizona apart from gorgeous landscape photos. They hiding cool stuff out there?

Yep maybe we should become roomates. Working on the finances right now. Some people pay their bills off of STB and they are not whales, so I am working on making that happening as well as selling my products offline, I make jewelry, fabric totes and do spiritual life coaching and like yourself I do readings. I have two different reading sets that are awesome. I have always loved Canada, but I don't think it is my first move, going to another country may take some time. However Arizona, Colorado, Seattle. those I am looking at closely I would love to go and live in Colorado but the cost of living is twice as high as it is here in Georgia, so time will tell. I will see you soon in the Writer's Block/playwrite workshop to get more work done. Have a great day @pegasusphysics.

It's funny, you're at least the third person that's made a roommate suggestion. And I get it, because it halves the expenses. But it's just too easy for someone to take advantage of my disorder if they live with me, so I'm never taking that risk again. No exceptions.

That's not to say it's something you'd do. It's just safer for me if I learn from 16 years of bad experiences and don't do the roommate thing any more in this lifetime.

And that's not hyperbole... places one hand on Oscar Wilde Omnibus, holds up the other For however much longer I live -- even if science reaches a point where it could make me live 3000 years -- I will never live with another human again. Period.

Cost of living is definitely a big thing to consider.
The prices of things between Colorado and Nashville are fairly similar. Especially since I buy most of my food online and it ships from the midwest (often times, from Colorado). Also, their public transportation system is way better than the one here in Nashville -- At least from what I've read and the maps I've seen. Hope that's not a bait and switch, lol.

And one very big and important detail: I qualify for medicare in Colorado... yet not in Tennessee. There's also a place in Colorado that specialises in mental health care for my specific disorder (amongst others). There are zero places like that in Tennessee.

Sometimes, other benefits outweigh the downsides. Transportation? Jobs? Health care? A doctor that may actually be able to help me? Yea, that beats any slightly higher costs Colorado might have.

But then, this is what fits for me based on my situation. What fits for me may not for you, as you might have entirely different needs from the place to which you move. For example, if you already own a car, the quality of public transportation may not even be a factor in your choice. If you already have a means of making money, then the availability of jobs may not be a concern. And so on.

Moving is so complicated, expensive, and annoying. I guess that's why pretty much no one likes it... except maybe moving companies. ^_^

Congratulations @pegasusphysics! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

This post was resteemed by @resteembot!
Good Luck!


Curious? Check out:


The @resteembot users are a small but growing community.
Check out the other resteemed posts in resteembot's feed.
Some of them are truly great.

This post was resteemed by @steemitrobot!
Good Luck!

Resteem your post just send 0.050 SBD with your post ID on memo. We have over 1K followers. Take our service to reach more People.

The @steemitrobot users are a small but growing community.
Check out the other resteemed posts in steemitrobot's feed.
Some of them are truly great. Please upvote this comment for helping me grow.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86