Ask the Car Guy @socky Oct 2

in #fun6 years ago

What is your car trouble?

I want to give back to Steemit community and provide some help on something that I know very well. Cars and how to fix them.

Engine.jpg

Please ask me about your car issue. Won't go into gear. Strange sounds. Don't know if you should take your car in to the shop. Just ask.

car fix1.jpg

Send me the make, model, and year along with car symptoms.

Please remember to VOTE and ReSteem

---------------------------------------

For a breakdown of how Steemit Rewards system works:

https://steemit.com/steemit/@socky/steemit-rewards-breakdown-a-simplified-explanation-with-illustrations

For a breakdown of Steemit Keys:

https://steemit.com/life/@socky/do-you-understand-your-steemit-keys

For a breakdown of why Steem Power is Important:

https://steemit.com/steemit/@socky/why-is-steem-power-important-beginners-read

Sort:  

Now that’s an awesome idea, I’m sure we’ll be utilising your expertise.

I'm here when you need an answer to a car problem :)

When I honk my horn the interior light on the passenger side makes electrical zapping sounds like it's ringing and no horny... I'd try to fix it but I think it's cool... Wtf u think it is

I almost missed this one.

I wonder if the light bulb is aftermarket like a led light. I've seen them do some really weird things. I would bet that the horn and the interior light are on the same circuit (fuse). The horn is essentially an oscillator creating a buzz that flexes a diaphragm (speaker). Somehow that off and on bit from the horn is causing electrical noise. Most electrical components that oscillate will have a diode shunt to dissipate inductive current. How do I know this? Because I am an electrical engineer. Things like relays and solenoids will have the diode to prevent spikes in the electrical system. The horn is essentially a solenoid that operates at a high frequency.

If you are interested, how this works is any inductor (anything with a coil of wire) will build a magnetic field. When the current is turned off, the magnetic field collapses. When this happens the collapse of the magnetic field will induce current back into the coil. To prevent the current from going places not intended, diodes (one way electrical valves) are put in place to shunt the current. These will be built into most devices.

I would bet that the horn itself is the source of the problem. If it is an old car, I wouldn't worry about it. If it is a new car, it could play havoc on the computer.

Old car idk about the horn circuit but it comes on with the cigarette lighter... So you're saying a diode died possibly?

Update: it was a fuse and the power was sneaking throughsneakpathcourtesy.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63237.60
ETH 2647.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81