Mint rubbing for beginners

in #fun6 years ago

I love spending time in front of my laptop and, on a good day (when markets are decent), I can at least pretend I am doing something useful. You know, creating amazing content and getting rewarded for it, which means providing for my family etc etc.

mint.jpg

After scrolling down my feed today, it’s obvious few Steemians have bothered posting and even fewer are in a mood to read. Under the circumstances, my writing this post is nothing but mint-rubbing. In case you’re unfamiliar with the concept, mint-rubbing is a national pastime in my country and a time-honored tradition.
‘What are you up to?’
‘Nothing much, just rubbing the mint!’

Here’s the definition:

mint rubbing (from Romanian “a freca menta”) – time and life management technique developed in Romania and practiced by millions of people worldwide.

Some would translate it as 'wasting your time', but it is much more than that. Everybody can waste their time, but you need a certain degree of sophistication to rub mint. In the olden days, this noble art was also known as cutting leaves for the dogs or chasing flies out of public gardens.

Years ago, someone created a site dedicated to the noble art of mint-rubbing, but since maintaining it required some effort, it was abandoned. I was absolutely horrified to discover the old domain name now belongs to some Germans (of all people!), who by the looks of it are determined to make something useful out of mint!
I’m very good at this, don’t get me wrong: I’ve wasted all my lives at Candy Crush, searched up useless information, checked the markets again (waiting for a miracle). Even now, I’m typing with just one hand as I’m busy eating peanuts with the other.
At least I’m honest about it. Just like my country men.

mint2.jpg

Later on I’m planning on rubbing some more mint spending some quality time with my eldest child, @honeydue. As she is such a sweet girl, she’s discovered a great show to watch and generously shared it with me. As a good mother, I’m going to share my gin-tonic with her and some very good ice-cream. Since we’re not going to the Moon, I figured the least I could do was buy a decent chocolate ice-cream.
Hopefully the markets will pick up sometime soon and we can all forget about mint-rubbing and start writing serious posts again.

Thanks for reading

rebeccanew.png

Sort:  

It's better to rub mint than looking at coin market cap these days. Better put your mind on something else.

Love this! I will use this during my workday today. Wouldn't mind having that tshirt either lol

Hope our method worked! Just be careful so you don't get into trouble. In my country it's easy as everybody is good at mint-rubbing, including managers, so it's not such an issue. Even our president is a pro at it :))

Well you don't put the blame on steemians but on the fall in price. Some people don't get even cents on their post payout but then I am enjoying the ride by joining some communities and keeping my hands active in writing and gathering the small cents payout and hoping when it rises again then I can be smiling to the banks

Yeah, we need to stay positive!

the least I could do was buy a decent chocolate ice-cream.

Well, of course, just cause we're not Lambo-ing doesn't mean we should be rude..

Best time to earn that steem as when the markets down post post post you earn more steem when the prices down so when the prices go back up you have more in your account.

@ladyrebecca i have read your all lines your thoughts of rubbing mint is not waste of time it is even beneficial as the bacteria from the mint are very useful for skin!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54451.29
ETH 2281.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33