Deleting my Last Remaining YouTube Channel - 1.1 Million Views - Because Monetization Was Disabled

in #fuck6 years ago (edited)

Last year I deleted my other channel for the same reason, which also had over one million views. In that first case I learned over the course of a few years that there is no point in wasting time to "appeal" these arbitrary decisions. Users are not notified of the actual reasons that monetization is disabled, just some vague generalities that have no relevance to the channel content. So instead of wasting my time again I just hit "delete" and it feels great.

If you find yourself wanting to switch over to decentralized social media but can't make the jump, take this advice: JUST DELETE IT!!! This is what it finally took last year to give me the push I needed to start using IPFS, Akasha, DTube, Steemit and more.

So below are a few screenshots and background info from my deleted channel called "pursuingnothing", which used to be at: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCykvvzcTSt-3eqisgdgOuUg

In the case of both my demonetized channels, the "political" content was most likely the cause, but of course Google won't tell the user that because such action is.......illegal in much of the world. The first time it was "illegal click activity", the details of which, they "could not reveal to a third party". Yeah that third party was little old me.....the user. In this latest case the reason for demonetization was "duplicate" videos. Again, Youtube failed to give any details....because all 29 videos on that channel had been recorded with my own hand and I was the original uploader. The similarity among both deleted channels is that they contained videos I recorded depicting police violence that received lots of user criticism and calls by the offending police departments to remove the content.

OK fine, fuck you Google. I've removed the content for you, and I'll soon have it all back permanently via IPFS.

resizeemail.png

inelligable.png

millionviews.png

listofvideos.png

Sort:  

Congratulations @pursuingnothing! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Semi Finals - Day 1


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63747.71
ETH 2543.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66