FRUIT & VEGGIES MONDAY #26: Homemade Potato Crisps (Some Flat, Some Spiral!)


Don't bother buying potato crisps/chips from a store... they are easy to make at home and a much healthier option for adults and children alike.  Even crisps advertised as being MSG free are still usually cooked in some kind of processed vegetable oil, made with poor quality potatoes, and waaaaay too much salt.  For the sake of spending half an hour making them yourself, it's more than worth it!


You know me well enough now to know I don't ever buy my 2 year old son snacks from a shop but always make them myself.  I wouldn't want him to miss out on things other children consider 'treats' such as crisps and chocolate bars, but these things aren't treats when they're loaded with processed and artificial ingredients, but rather they're harmful to our children.  So my advice is always to learn a few simple snacks to make at home, and then everybody is happy and healthy!


(I came across this curious Irish proverb last week - "It is easy to halve the potato where there is love" - anyone able to shed light on what it means???!  Perhaps it's obvious and I'm just not getting it?!)


I have two methods of making these potato snacks... one is using a vegetable peeler, and the other is using this cool little gadget called a 'Magic Spiral' (you can buy them online, very cheap).



Simply insert the plastic bit into the top of the potato, and swirl the metal bit around and around!



Lay them carefully onto a baking tray, drizzle with a very small amount of oil (a healthy oil such as coconut, avocado, flax, olive) and sprinkle with black pepper or spices, whatever you like!  Bake them in the oven at about 200 degrees Celsius for about 20 minutes, until they're looking golden and crunchy. 



This other method using a vegetable peeler is super easy.  Simply peel slices off the spud!  Then lay them in a single layer on a baking tray, drizzle of oil, sprinkle of seasoning, bake at 200 degrees Celsius for 15 minutes or so.



These have a tendency to stick a little so use a metal spatula to free them!



Crunchy and delicious!



Many thanks to @lenasveganliving  for continuing to host this wonderful contest, and thanks also to the  sponsors, judges and supporters!  For details how to join in, see here


For more health information, tips, recipes (vegan/vegetarian), crafts, and more, please follow me!
 

To find out what my "Make It Healthy Project" is all about, and how you can be involved in growing this project, please click here

Initiated by...

("5 Cs" shared with kind permission of @kiwideb)

Sort:  

I don't eat potatoes cause they are fattening!
and they make me fart a lot - I'm not ashamed to admit that hahaha
therefore it's bad for me except the baby potatoes they don't give me gas
but only the organic ones
unfortunately, most potatoes are GMOs so I don't eat them

the last time I did was in Germany with something similar to what you did
but no MSG they just added salt
have you tried doing this in an air fryer instead?
I did with a sweet potato - keeps it almost fat free :D

When it comes to plants I don't worry about fattening qualities, just balance! Not that I need to watch my weight now... if I lose any more I'll disappear :-) You make me laugh about the gas haha :-) Yeah I too only buy organic these days, can't trust anything else. And you're right sweet potatoes make wonderful snacks also... I do this with quite a few different veg. Parsnip is tasty! I would be growing my own veggies if the climate allowed, but 1. it's too wet, and 2. the ground is full of rocks rather than soil, so we don't even get rabbits around here as there's nothing for them to burrow into, it's crazy! I don't have an air fryer, no money for fancy gadgets. But you're right, if one can afford these things they're great :-)

Tipuvote!

Looks great and simple! I never saw that swirly gadget before.. makes a nice spiral shape!
Im also not into buying all that processed food and try to make at home as much as i can. I stopped buying potato chips even though i love them! 😄 but ill try this out, seems like a nice healthier alternative 🤗
Thanks @woman-onthe-wing!

They're just as good as store bought! The peeler method seems to give the perfect thickness... so satisfyingly crunchy! :-)

Oh my Dear, thank you so much for this post, I haven't done potato chips for a while and now you reminded me to do it again. By the way, I should definitely get one of those spiralizers... it's so cool 😄

They really are cool... addictive! I used it with butternut squash successfully too, they make a tasty little snack!

As if I didn't adore you already--now this?!! I love potatoes, so this tugs at the heart-to-belly strings. ;) I have never seen that spiralizing tool either, so thanks for sharing!

Ha ha yeah we're spud buddies! I did actually think of you as I was putting this post together :-) You definitely have to get a Magic Spiral if you can get one, they're so fun and with a bit of imagination you can create a really arty dinner!

Spuddies!! 😂

Ha ha good one :-)

This is amazing Joanna, I am going to try this for sure. I have a different, spiralizer but I know it will work, Thank you so much for this wonderful recipe, I am sure our boys will love it too 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇

What do you use yours for Lena? Creating fancy garnishes? I've had it for years but forgot until one day I found it at the back of the drawer and started making spirals out of all the veg and fruit I had! I wonder what other exciting things we can do with our spiral gadgets... ;-)

Haha! What a simple way to make potato spirals :) Thank you for sharing!

Thanks @yetaras! The trouble is once you start making potato spirals you start looking around the kitchen finding other things to make spirals out of, and before you know it your whole dinner is a plate of spirals haha!

I love how you show a step by step guide :) All the chips looks Amazing =) I definetly need to try and make some of my own.
As for the irish saying, I think it means that it's easy to share where there is love :)

Ah, I see now, and I think you must be right! There are some really peculiar Irish proverbs that require a bit extra pondering :-) Glad you like the look of the crisps, they're fun to make (and eat!)

Haha, I'm glad I could help :)
I have some sweet potatoe that needs to be used up. I'll see if I can make some chips out of them :) Thank you for the inspiration.

Omg such an amazing recipe thank you so much!! I usually make potato chips in a microwave and they come our super crispy but it can take a while since you can't do large quantities at a time. Next time I'll definitely make them in an oven! :)

Yes the oven is definitely easier for large quantities :-)

Store bought chips have always been a massive weakness of mine, somehow I just can't resist their taste and texture - thank you for sharing this recipe though, now I can make all the chips I want at home just healthier! 😆

What seasonings did you use for your chips? It looks so good 🤤

They're honestly just as good as store-bought... especially the ones made with a veg peeler, as it seems to be the prefect thickness for a satisfying crunch! I used black pepper and chilli flakes on these... nice and spicy! Cumin, cayenne pepper, anything like that is great... or even things like cinnamon or nutmeg are really tasty too! Wherever your mood takes you :-) I hope you try homemade and I'm sure you will be converted!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63950.69
ETH 3311.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92