Fruits and Veggies Monday: Sunday Meal Prep Action :)

Hello there friends!  I hope everyone had a fantastic weekend.  We had a few fun birthdays to celebrate, but I still had plenty of time for my meal prep action to be set for the week in healthy meals.  It also means I've got some yummy food to share for @lenasveganliving's #fruitsandveggiesmonday contest!  Check out the weekly post here if you want to support this fabulous contest by entering or just checking out all of the entries.


I believe @pustblume shared some blood oranges a week or two ago that made me crave the jewel-toned, juicy beauties.  Luckily I was able to find a few as they are at the end of the season.  Whole oranges in general are quite healthy with their vitamin C, but the darker-fleshed blood oranges are packed with even more immune-boosting antioxidants.  I saved some to eat the whole flesh, but I bought enough that I could spare a few to make some delicious infused water and to use the zest and juice of another in my cabbage slaw.



They are definitely one of those fruits that is so pretty when you slice open.  It made my water just a bit colorful, as well.  I don't usually have any problem drinking plenty of water throughout the day, but it doesn't hurt to have some with a little flavor to feel just a wee bit fancy.  If I close my eyes I can pretend like I'm sitting at the spa. ;)



Besides those gems, this is some of the other fruits and veggies I got for meals this week.  I had a moment when I first grabbed everything to set out that I forgot what I had in mind for everything.  That's the beauty of cooking, though, you can make it up as you go if you end up without a set plan!  I always know I've got a basic idea of what I want to make, but since I've been meal prepping long enough now I allow for flexibility in my final products for the week.



Despite my seasoned prepping status, there are times I start to get a little overwhelmed when I want to get all of my cooking done at once.  I try to be as efficient as possible in not only my time, but also in saving myself from having to wash a ridiculous amount of dishes.  After pulling out all of my produce, I took a minute to figure out my order of attack to make the process as streamlined as possible.



I started with my cabbage slaw.  Cabbage is another one of those plants I am always in awe of it's beauty.  It's quite a humble and hearty vegetable, but packed with nutrition and so versatile.  After chopping up my slaw, I kept out my knife and cutting board to continue with the raw ingredients for another salad.  If you prep all of your vegetables all at once, it can be a big time saver.  Plus you'll get some nice chopping muscles. ;)



These little ruby bits of deliciousness went in a salad with the cucumber, raw broccoli, chickpeas, chopped olives and some balsamic vinegar.  We'll eat it as is over some of the dandelion greens and with fresh herbs from the garden added in, or I may also make a small batch of grains to serve with it.  I love a fresh salad, but sometimes need that extra filling boost from the cooked whole grains to make sure I'm getting enough calories to support my active lifestyle.



After I finished preparing my raw selections for the week, I moved on to a batch of roasted sweet potatoes and black bean burgers.  Those I was able to fit in the oven at the same time, once again making the most efficient use of the stove and my time.  Thanks for stopping by to see what's cooking in my kitchen.  I look forward as always to see what is going on in yours!

Don't forget to tag #makeithealthy if you want a chance for your post to be featured in @woman-onthe-wing's roundup of healthy ideas shared in the Steemit community! https://steemit.com/makeithealthy/@woman-onthe-wing/the-make-it-healthy-project-how-you-can-get-involved-and-feature-in-the-magazine

Sort:  

Wow! These are really "bloody" blood oranges! Look at their color!
Your meal prep is amazing again. Also a deliciousness for the eyes!

I got lucky on picking some truly vibrant ones! You never can tell, since they look quite mundane on the outside. I am so pleased you enjoy my prepping! :)

Hey, happy Monday. I really liked your recipe this week, as always surprised! I'm gonna try to make that flavored water you made! really excellent!

Thank you kind @gersson! A little bit of fruit or herbs in water transforms it to something even more refreshing! I hope you find a nice concoction you enjoy. :)

Infused water is so delicious :) I tried orange and blueberry a few days ago. so yummy :)

Oooh, I don't think I've had blueberries in mine before. Strawberries definitely, but I bet your combo was really refreshing!

It sure was :)

Those blood oranges look amazing!! I love them, sadly the end of their season is just around the corner so we'll have to wait for them until next season.. I love meal prepping as well. So handy and time efficient!

I'm glad I grabbed some while they're still around! Though I can't complain because I do love berry season, too! :)

I always love to see variety of colorful fruits and veggies and I am never disappointed while reading your entries my Dear. Adding the blood orange water into the mix is an extra bonus. I have to try that myself. To bad I don't have any left, but I will check the supermarket tomorrw. Hopefully they still have some 🍒 🍌🍑🍍🍓🍇
1 Collage.jpg

Thank you Lena! I'm happy to contribute some color to the day! :) No one likes dreary Mondays.

My pleasure Katie and thank you too...........last few days were really dreary here. We had freezing rain.

We had a few really beautiful days, then it was nasty Sunday and really cold yesterday, too. Yuck! We leave for vacation in the Caribbean in a few weeks. Can't wait for definite warmth and sunshine! :)

Please take me with you, lol

CONGRATULATIONS TO YOU! A WELL-EARNED AWARD!
4.png

Haha, come on with us! We're going with Dave's parents, so we'd be happy to have one more. ;) Thank you so much!

You are so sweet Katie, I wish I could. Bon voyage.and make sure you take lots of photos XOXO.

Only one more FAV Monday to go before we leave! At least you know not to worry about me when I miss my first Monday all year! ;) I am going to try to resist the urge to check in too much while we are gone and just enjoy my time away.

Don't you just love coming home with all of these beautiful veggies and fruits. I love unpacking everything and thinking about what I can prepare! The colors alone make you hungry! Those oranges are amazing, putting then in water as an infusion is a great idea. I bet that salad was wonderful1

It really is so inspiring, isn't it? I laugh thinking how intimidated I used to be at trying to come up with my own recipes! Now I have a hard time writing them down because I just make it up as I go quite frequently. :)

Delicious! :)

Thanks babe. ;)

Wow! nice post, nice information and beautiful photos.
You good.thanks for sharing.

I agree that "fancy water" is fun ;) I guess I am accidentally celebrating "fruits & veggies Monday" in my own way today. I am doing a day of a "fruit fast" and only eating fruit today :) All the best!

I'm glad you like simple fancy, too. ;) It doesn't take much to please me. You are right on trend for the day with your meal selections then!

Your post has been featured in Issue #5 of the Make It Healthy Project MAGAZINE. Many thanks for your inspiring contribution!

Thank you my friend! :)

Blood oranges sure look cool!

They really do look neat! My Mondays tend to be anything but monochrome, though I can appreciate the aesthetic. ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62893.52
ETH 3354.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47