Fruits & Veggies Monday {Simple Spaghetti with Zucchini, Tomatoes & Lima Beans}

Happy Monday everyone!  I hope you are all having a fantastic start to the week.  It's always fun when @lenasveganliving's #fruitsandveggiesmonday comes back around again to get all of the great food inspiration from across the Steemit-sphere.  Check out her weekly post for rules or to see all of the entries in one spot!


Without realizing it ahead of time, I think I just about went with a "Christmas in July" feel for my meal prepping this week.  Lots of red and green in our bowls with the fresh tomatoes, bell peppers, zucchini, leafy greens and beans that are in season.  That color combination is actually supposed to be quite visually appealing and leave you feeling more satisfied after a meal, so I'll take that as a bonus.  I was more concerned this week with sticking with really simple meals that are of course healthy with as many locally sourced options as possible than color, but it's fun when you end up with a theme. ;)



I'm trying to build up my wellness offerings here locally to expand my business a bit, which means I'm trying to buckle down and get some of the groundwork taken care of this week.  Having simple meals ready to go will definitely help keep me focused on the tasks I want to accomplish each day.  That's the wonderful thing about having quite a few years of solid meal prepping under my belt--I have some great classics to rely on to make things a whole lot easier in the kitchen.



My first easy red and green meal with last a few days for lunch.  I had extra peach basil dressing leftover from my @cookwithus entry that I posted a few days ago, so I put together a quick chopped salad with that drizzled over top.  Cooked lady peas, chopped fresh tomato and bell pepper from the farmers market, a few olives, and some leafy greens made for a perfectly satisfying mid-day meal.


For dinners I opted for a classic easy option--spaghetti!  It doesn't get a whole lot easier than pasta with a veggie-packed sauce.  I used a brown rice, amaranth and quinoa noodle variety, but you could use whatever you have on hand.  The veggies were more of my goodies from the weekly farmers market haul.  It had rained quite hard Saturday morning, so some of the vendors didn't make it out for the market.  Luckily the storms passed over just in time for it to open so we could support the ones who did!



Spaghetti with Zucchini, Tomatoes & Lima Beans

Makes 6 servings

  • 1 (12-ounce) box whole grain or bean-based spaghetti noodles
  • 2 shallots, peeled & thinly sliced
  • 2 small zucchini, chopped
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 3 tablespoons organic tomato paste
  • 1 tablespoon Italian seasoning
  • 4 medium tomatoes, chopped
  • 1 tablespoon vegan Worcestershire sauce (optional)
  • 2 cups cooked lima beans or other legumes of choice
  • 1 cup chopped fresh oregano
  • nutritional yeast for serving

Heat a large skillet over medium heat.  Add your shallots and cook for about 7 minutes, adding a splash of water as needed to prevent sticking.  Once the shallots have softened add in the zucchini, garlic, tomato paste, Italian seasoning and a few tablespoons of water.  Stir together and let cook for another 10 minutes.  Finally, lower the heat and add in the chopped fresh tomatoes and Worcestershire sauce (adds just a little depth of flavor to the sauce).



While the zucchini mixture is cooking, start boiling the water for the pasta.  Cook according to package directions.  When the pasta is just about done, remove your pan of vegetables from the heat and stir in the lima beans and oregano to warm through.

Drain the spaghetti then divide into six bowls.  I go ahead and have my glass containers ready for leftovers. :)  Top each of the portions of pasta with the veggie mixture and a sprinkle of nutritional yeast.  Serve and enjoy!



This is generally how I make my pasta healthier--way more veggies than actual noodles!  You can hardly even see the spaghetti hiding underneath the sauce. ;)  These noodles were ok, but ended up sticking together quite a bit.  I think I prefer the lentil or chickpea-based varieties instead.  We do not eat a ton of pasta, but it is nice to have healthier options when we do. Cheers to a productive week!



Sort:  

What a lovely summery dish! I love how you use the seasonal vegetables! You are a bit inspiration to many of us!

I'm not tired of all this beautiful produce yet, so even when I go simple right now it is still fresh and vibrant! :)

I really enjoy your posts! Can't check them now as I'm on vacation but I will catch up next week as soon as I'm back! :)

Take your time off and enjoy! :) That's the beauty of the blockchain--all the good posts will still be here for you to check out after vacation is done!

Are you aware of @pennsif's Alternative Lifestyle Show on MSP Waves Radio? He did a fantastic Vegan Special a while back and is now looking for more people to come on the show and talk about veganism & health... The show airs live every Friday 10-12 UTC. Would you be interested? This is an invitation on behalf of @pennsif :-)

Oh goodness, this is the second time I think you have put it out there to me, so maybe it's finally time to say yes. ;) I think I can make that time frame work. I still haven't listened to this past week's one with you on there!

Haha, yes, you have to do it now...! (I'm kidding, only do it if you want to, but I for one would love to listen if you do!) I was so tired last Friday when I did the show that I was worried all weekend I'd screwed it up, but I listened to the recording today and thank God it was ok! @pennsif is a wonderful interviewer - creates a really relaxed atmosphere and gives plenty of time to answer so you're not all tongue-tied and pressured. I'll let him know you're a 'maybe' :-)

I just listened to yours an hour or so ago and it was great! Nice to actually hear your voice after so long of typing to you. ;) He seems like a very good interviewer and all around nice guy, so I think that helps.

Hi @plantstoplanks - it would be great to have you on the show. It is Fridays 10pm - midnight UTC - I believe that is 6pm - 8pm Georgia time.

Are you on Discord? We can fix up a time if you would like to be a guest on the show.


Host of The Alternative Lifestyle Show on MSP Waves Radio.

Editor of the Weekly Schedule of Steem Radio Shows.

Founder of the A Dollar A Day charitable giving project.


Hey there @pennsif! I can't disappoint @woman-onthe-wing, so I'll be happy to make an appearance when you've got a slot open! I'm on discord @plantstoplanks#1375 :)

That will be great. Would Friday 3 August be good for you?

I have sent you a Friend Request on Discord so we can connect.

Oh you did?! Well thanks very much! I probably don't sound anything like you imagined, no-one ever does ;-) Yes, he's made for the radio, a really great interviewer. I download the shows and listen to them at leisure, and really enjoy them!

You have a lovely voice! I was laughing how some of the audience appreciated your pronunciation of scones. ;) I need to do that too and just listen at a later date. I think if I get in the habit of listening while I'm doing my cooking it would be a good way to not miss out on some great content!

Oh yes, that would be a perfect time to listen to it, good idea! Yeah I noticed that too when I listened to my slot, 'scones/scownes' haha. It's times like this when I'm glad I'm from northern England and don't pronounce things in a poncy way :-)

Looks really appetizing! It's been forever since I've eaten pasta and now I started to crave some, with nutritional yeast of course! 😋

There is just something really satisfying about a bowl of pasta! I'm glad there are so many varieties available now that are a bit healthier than the traditional versions. One of these days I'll try to make some vegan Parmesan as a topper, but until then just a little sprinkle of nutritional yeast is just the thing to finish it off! :)

It's crazy how many options there are at the moment! Vegan Parmesan sounds delicious, if it works out well, I hope share some photos, and a recipe! 😋

MMMMhhh I can imagine how delicious this is!! And so colorful! Also loving your new logo Katie!
Happy Monday!!
xx

Thank you!! @dksart did a great job once I finally gave him better direction with what I wanted for my logo. I know what I like in my head, but it's hard to describe it sometimes, haha!

Yes I can understand that!! Awesome job by @dksart !!;)

I absolutely love these colors, whether is summer or Christmas, although I rather not think about Christmas just yet, lol. Absolutely mouth watering and highly nutritious. The fact that all your produce is from local farmers is a big bonus of course, Well done Katie 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇
1 Collage.jpg

Haha, I figured it was early enough that it wouldn't get anyone too nervous talking about Christmas. ;) You are right, though, vibrant colors are welcome on my plate or bowl all year long! I am going to go into a deep depression once the farmers market closes for the year, but luckily I shouldn't have to worry about that for a good long while!

Lets not think about it just yet, lol

Haha, ok, my lips are sealed! ;)

CONGRATULATIONS TO YOU! A WELL-EARNED AWARD!
4.png

Thank you Lena! 🤗🤗 And always fun to see my little blue friends from @barbara-orenya!

I Always a pleasure Katie, I am as happy as you are 🌸💖🌸

Excellent, thank you!

Looks like I've found exactly the right person for my dilemma:

How do you prepare zucchini to be able to eat them during winter months?

I have several big zucchini pieces and we can't eat them all. And we would really like to conserve them in some way for the colder days ...

Ooh, you are lucky to have an abundance of zucchini! There are a few different ways you can preserve them, so it all depends on how you want to eat it later on.

  1. If you just want to use it in things like smoothies, zucchini bread, oatmeal, or similar items where it is more or less hidden or just provides moisture to a recipe you can shred it up, squeeze out some of the excess water, then place it in a freezer bag in 1.5-2 cup portions. It will definitely lose a little texture after you freeze and then thaw out, but it still retains its nutritional value and provides moisture for those types of things.

  2. If you want to keep it in chunks or slices for soups and stews, then I have heard it is better to blanch first then lay out flat to freeze. Chop up your zucchini to your desired size bites, toss into a pot of boiling water for a minute or two, then immediately take out and drop into a bowl of ice water to halt the cooking. Then lay out on a baking sheet to freeze before putting into a container. Freezing them flat just helps keep the pieces from sticking together in one big zucchini ice cube. ;) After its frozen you can transfer to a bag or other container.

  3. I have not done a lot of canning, but zucchini makes a great pickle so you could always pickle some for the winter months.

  4. Depending on what you want to make with it, you could also go ahead and make the finished product to freeze. Chili and some soups, zucchini bread or muffins, meat or veggie loaf with zucchini mixed in--all those types of things tend to freeze well at least for a few months, so that's another option, as well.

I hope that helps a little bit! Good luck and enjoy your harvest! :)

What a delicious sounding recipe @plantstoplanks, thanks for sharing. Mega meal prep envy!

Thank you so much! Nothing fancy, but it sure does taste good! :)

Sounds light and delicious! Perfect for this heatwave we're currently experiencing.

Yes! This is definitely good warm (or hot) weather food. :)

mmmh, that looks so delicious!

Thanks! It is hitting the spot this week so far! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59705.02
ETH 2619.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39