Fruit Platter || Pomelo, Pineapple, Strawberries 🍈🍍🍓 || #FruitsAndVeggiesMonday

Hi fam! It Monday again which means it’s #fruitsandveggiesmonday time again. Yayyy! I had to skip it last week since I was very busy with school and had a lot of exams coming up but this week I’m here! It’s already 30th week of this competition! Huge thanks to the best @lenasveganliving for hosting it every week and for her kindness! :)

••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••

I made yet another fruit platter this afternoon. I this time switched things up a bit and used some exotic fruits. Since I have a bit more time this afternoon than I normally have, I thought I would share some interesting fun facts about the fruits I used. I hope you guys enjoy this slightly different type of post.

••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••

••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••

Pomelo🍈

I’ve been obsessed with it since the day I tried it. I first didn’t know you aren’t supposed to eat the skin on the outside of pieces so I ate it with it and it was very bitter. I know I’m a pro haha. I then googled it and found out you are actually supposed to remove the white skin so I did that and it tasted completely different. It was so juicy and sweet! The texture is similar to an orange and I would describe the taste as a mix of a grapefruit and orange with a bit firmer texture.

• it is the largest type of citrus fruit
• pomelo tree can grow from 15 to 50 feet in height
• it produces flowers up to 4 times per year. They are individual, large and usually purple coloured
• colour of the flesh can be white, yellow, pinkish or red coloured
• it is excellent source of vitamins C and A, dietary fibers and minerals such as potassium, iron and calcium
• it’s low in calories
• one quarter of pomelo provides 130% of daily requirements of vitamin C.
• it is used in treatment of gastrointestinal disorders, cough, sore throat, fever, fatigue and insomnia
• its flowers are used in the industry of perfumes
• it usually lives around 10 years in the wild

••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••

Pineapples🍍

• they regenerate! You can plant pineapple leaves to grow a new plant (my mom actually tried this and it worked! It’s just leaves for now tho, no fruit yet. It’s fun, you should try it!)
• Hawaii produces about 1/3 of all pineapples in the world.
• they take about 18-20 months to become ready to harvest
• they ripen faster upside down
• one pineapple plant can produce one pineapple at a time
• they contain bromelain, an enzyme that may help arthritis pain by easing inflammation
• they are a good source of vitamin C
• pineapple plants have really pretty flowers
• once harvested, pineapples don’t continue to ripen
• besides fruit salads and tropical drinks, they are also used to make wine

••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••

Strawberries🍓

• they are the only fruit that wear their seeds on the outside
• Americans eat an average of three-and-a-half pounds of fresh strawberries each per year
• Belgium has a museum dedicated to strawberries
• they are believed to help reduce the risk of heart disease and certain cancers
• they are low in calories and high in vitamins C, B6, K, fiber, folic acid, potassium and amino acids.
• they are the first fruit to ripen each spring
• there are 200 seeds on an average strawberry

••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••

Have a wonderful day!

Nina 🌈✨

••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••

*Credits for the interesting facts go to these websites:

  1. https://www.webmd.com/diet/features/8-healthy-facts-about-pineapple
  2. https://thatsitfruit.com/blog/9-interesting-facts-about-pineapples/
  3. https://www.huffingtonpost.com/2014/02/04/facts-about-pineapples_n_4726366.html
  4. http://www.softschools.com/facts/plants/pomelo_facts/1076/
  5. https://www.organicfacts.net/health-benefits/fruit/pomelo.html
  6. http://www.foodrepublic.com/2013/05/20/14-things-you-didnt-know-about-strawberries/
  7. https://www.countryliving.com/food-drinks/a35552/facts-about-strawberries/
    ••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••

Sort:  

Beautiful, delicious and super healthy my Dear 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇
1 Collage.jpg

Thank you :)

CONGRATULATIONS TO YOU ! A WELL-EARNED AWARD!
4.png

Too funny about the pomelo! I hesitated in buying one for the longest time as I wasn't sure how to eat them either, but once I finally got one I realized they are delicious once you get through the thick rind!

Haha yeah right?! It's such a tricky but amazing fruit :D

There have been a few things like that I will go home and look up first, then go back and buy once I figure out what to do with it! Fresh artichokes still intimidate me. :)

I don't know what to do with most tropical fruits haha :) Thanks to youtube I can learn that. I've never bought fresh artichokes even tho I've done quite some research on them I don't think I'm ready yet. :)

I'd like one please! Looks amazing!

Thank you :)

My pleasure!

I really love the taste and the texture of the pomelo flesh. If there weren't the work to peel them! 😜
Very pretty and informative post! I like it! Tip!

They do take quite some time to peel yeah haha.. :) Thank youu

You are welcome!

Hi @nina.ser! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @pusteblume!

@pusteblume wrote lately about: Steemit-Ironchef Round 10 - Childhood Memories ~ Spicy Rice Pudding Feel free to follow @pusteblume if you like it :)

You can now delegate SP / invest in @tipU for daily profit:) Click here to learn more :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54339.14
ETH 2284.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33