FRUITS AND VEGGIES MONDAY | Did you know that pumpkin flower can be eaten ?

To be honest, I never knew that either until my hubby and I went to an authentic Vietnamese restaurant for lunch on one Sunday afternoon. This was after the Sunday service at Notre Dame Church at HCMC.

It is only with my hubby, I would be willing to try out new places that's not on Trip Advisor 😍 After all, being in this city and as a female, there is only so many places that I can go!

fpq2wnhu1l.jpg

Now, this dish is rather unique, firstly because I've never heard of pumpkin flower or even knew that it existed. Second, that pumpkin flower can be cooked and eaten.

6nrq90vg98.jpg

Now, tell me if you have seen this flower before ?

7myybe7raq.jpg

Best thing is since it's Halloween season, maybe we can use the pumpkin flowers to cook rather than throw it away.

I'll definitely share more in my next post. Hope you enjoy my photo taken from my Huawei

xvkj4fvznj.png

Come & join FRUITS & VEGGIES MONDAY by @lenasveganliving
• Take and post at least 3 photos of fruits and vegetables. (It can be variety or just one kind from the garden, supermarket or anywhere you wish, PLANT BASED RECIPES ARE WELCOMED).
• One entry only!!!
• PLEASE MAKE SURE THE ENTRY IS 100% ORIGINAL CONTENT!!! (images and text)
• Text must be at least 100 words.
• Use hashtag #fruitsandveggiesmonday
• Mention the creator @lenasveganliving, the host @plantstoplanks and the title FRUITS AND VEGGIES MONDAY

bad gif.gif

signature_2.gif

ezgif.com-video-to-gif.gif

Sort:  

I approve of this plant-based posts.
Upvote👍
Resteem🐗

Thanks so much!!

Posted using Partiko iOS

My family is Cambodian, and we also eat a lot of pumpkin flower. You just have to remove the stamen, as it's a bit bitter.

Stamen? You mean the long stem needs to be cut off. Yet they serve it to us here.
How much of the stem should I remove?

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @ireenchew! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest⁴ commemorative badge refactored
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

I never knew you could eat pumpkin flowers @ireenchew, did they taste good? 👍👍

Posted using Partiko Android

Actually they do taste good.
I even saw them fresh at the local market yesterday.
Wanted to buy but since I've already bought all the vegetables I could eat for the week so I skipped it
Maybe I'll buy this weekend and try to cook it myself

Posted using Partiko iOS

Although I have seen it and I know about it, I never tried it yet, but I wold love to. I bet it's delicious. I am happy you shared it with us Ireen 😊
1 Collage.jpg

I'm glad I shared something that is considered rare and it's amazing how many advise I get 😍

Posted using Partiko Android

Boleh la. Mari kasi sappork kaw kaw kawan 🙂

U like DBKL 😅😂

Posted using Partiko Android

Ipoh mali. DBI 🙂

Posted using Partiko Android

Been eating squash blossoms for years, never venture past. Looks great

U mean there are other flowers that can be eaten like this?

Posted using Partiko Android

We fill squash blossoms with hummus n tempura fry them for a great app or a great topper on a pasta

Wow !! This sounds amazing.
I've never tried anything like this nor have I ever heard about it before
Next time you prepare this, you've got to share with all of us

I've seen it before! It's the flower that blooms into the pumpkin itself. It's not really a pretty flower, but a flower it is! Pumpkin is very healthy, in fact (at least until we mix it with a tonne of sugar and bake it into a pie), but is really, really nasty in coffee and beer (and don't let anyone tell you otherwise)

Oh wow!! I wish I could see a real pumpkin flower still stuck to the pumpkin.. Or the flower itself becomes the pumpkin..??
That would mean that I've eaten many pumpkins 😬🙄

Posted using Partiko Android

Yep, the flower becomes the pumpkin! I've tried growing pumpkins in my yard and get lots of flowers, but then rabbits sneak in and eat them up. Grrrr.

Oh dear.. That's so unfortunate
Then again, that's mother nature's cycle of life

I've seen the flower so many times but also didn't know that it can actually become the meal itself before turning into a big, beautiful pumpkin. :D Thanks for sharing!

My pleasure. It's my first time too
And so glad to share this with everyone.
Indeed a great learning :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62985.27
ETH 3098.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83