Stuffed sweet potato with cheese and wild mushroom sauce and a pearl barley and rice mound

in #fruitsandveggiesmonday5 years ago (edited)

image

Hello and welcome to fruitsandveggiesmonday with @lenasveganliving and @plantstoplanks and this is my entry, it is a bit of a mouth full, but it is cold and snowy and I'm hungry. First off I baked sweet potato and mixed its insides with lentils red pepper and onions, I then baked it with vegan cheese and made a wild mushroom sauce with my wild mushroom stash which I picked in autumn, and lastly I made spicy pearl barley and rice with brocoli and carrot.

Ingredients

3 sweet potatoes
1 cup of lentils
1 cup of bread crumbs
1 onion
Half a red pepper
Fresh parsley
Pinch of salt, pepper and smoked paprika

Right, so I started off with baking the sweet potato for 30 minutes.

image

Cut one side down the middle.

image

And scooped out the inside.

image

And chucked it in the food processor.

image

Then half a red pepper.

image

1 onion.

image

2 garlic cloves and some fresh parsley, with a pinch of salt pepper and smoked paprika.

image

Then 1cup of lentil.

image

1 cup of bread crumbs.

image

Then I blended it up and stuffed it back into it's skin.

image

Then some vegan cheese, but 1 of us is still on a diet.

image

And baked.

image

Then for the pearl barley rice thingie, I made a lot so there will be left over for lunch at work.

For the mushroom sauce.

image

I mixed some fresh mushrooms from the shop and wild mushrooms 1 onion with salt and pepper a tiny bit of water, and then 1 cup vegan milk and 1 tablespoon corn flour.

Ingredients

2 cups Pearl barley
2 cups of rice
1 red pepper
3 onions
2 carrots
3 tomatoes
1 brocoli
3 teaspoons korma curry powder
1 teaspoon fennel seeds
1 teaspoon cumin seeds
1 teaspoon mustard seeds
Fresh coriander
Pinch of salt
Squeeze of lemon
1 veggie cube

image

First go the seeds.

image

Onions and garlic.

image

Tomatoes.

image

Curry powder.

image

Then the veggies.

image

I freeze my lemon to keep it fresh, that is why it looks weird.

image

Then a veggie cube and water.

image

I then chuck in the pearl barley and rice mix and add in the fresh coriander.

image

Once it is cooked, I add in the red pepper, I like still raw.

image

image

And thats it my entry for this week, hope you like it and thanks for stopping by.

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Oooh, I haven't done twice-baked potatoes in quite a while, but now I'm definitely craving some. You are also the king of mushroom sauce! Always a winning topper.

Yeah I am a bit of a mushroom maniac

Of course your entry only looks delish. How do you get your rice to make a perfect mound like that? I’ve always wondered… figuring you stuff the rice in a glass then flip it upside down on your plate… am I close? Stuffed, baked, double baked potatoes have to be one of my favorites. Especially if I’m really hungry, does the trick every time :)

Wow, that looks so delicious, I like this combination of potatoes, lentils and mushrooms, well done @gguy773

Why you always make me jealous with your recipe @gguy773 😯 I hate you for serving this kind of amazing dish while I can't have one on my plate 😂😂😂 you're just soooooo awesome father chef!

You sure know how to blend an excellent flavours together for a highly satisfying meal for this cold weather Greg! And full of nutrients too. Oh and that vegan cheese must add a really nice kick! Well done Chef 🥦🥜😊🍅🌿
1 Collage.jpg

Thanks Lena, it was awesome with vegan cheese, it has been a little cold here, schools were shut, UK can't handle anything over an inch of snow lol.

thank you for sharing, I can't wait to try this at home!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65800.35
ETH 3464.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68