Home made oat lasagne sheets with buckwheat mince

in #fruitsandveggiesmonday5 years ago (edited)

3jxo3va54k.jpg

Hello everyone it is fruitsandveggiesmonday again with @lenasveganliving and @plantstoplanks. Today I thought I would try to make some lasagne sheets using raw oats, just blending them up in the food processor and making a dough, it came out quite nicely and I was able to roll it out quite thin. I used yeast extract to make the buckwheat have a meaty taste so it is more like mince, This meal can also be glueten free if Marmite is used which is meant to be glueten free, obviously best to check the label, I used a generic yeast extract because it is lower is sodium, glueten doesn't affect me. To make this lasagne I made three sauces, buckwheat mince, white mushroom, and a cashew cheese sauce.

ingredients for buckwheat mince

  • 250g uncooked buckwheat
  • 1 onion
  • 4 garlic cloves
  • 2 tomatoes
  • 2 tablespoons tomato puree
  • 2 teaspoons yeast extract
  • 1 teaspoon dried basil
  • 1/2 a teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1/2 a teaspoon smoked paprika
  • pinch of salt and pepper

I start of by cooking the buckwheat for 5 minutes until it was half cooked, I sautéed the onions and garlic then added the tomatoes, puree spices and yeast extract, then added the buckwheat and some water and let simmer for 15 minutes.

ingredients for white mushrooms

  • 250g button mushrooms
  • 1 onion
  • 4 garlic cloves
  • 1 tablespoon corn flour
  • 1 cup of plant based milk
  • pinch of salt and pepper

I start by sautéing the onions and garlic, then add in the mushrooms, add some water with salt and pepper,simmer and after 15 minutes add the milk mixed with corn flour and stir till thick.

ingredients for cashew cheese

  • 200g cashews
  • 300ml boiling water
  • 30g nutritional yeast
  • 1 teaspoon whole grain mustard

To make the cashew cheese sauce I allow the cashews to soak for an hour in boiling water with the nutritional yeast and mustard, then I blend thoroughly.

Oat lasagne sheet recipe

ingredients

  • 500g oats
  • 500ml water
  • pinch of salt

First I ground up the oats.

90cyyqzra7.jpg

Then mix it with water and salt until it becomes a nice dough, then wrap it up and leave in the fridge a couple of hours.

xuiaqb39ei.jpg

Once all the sauces are cooked I rolled out the dough into thin sheets and layered it. A layers between the sauses, I made two layers of mince, one mushroom and on top is the cashew cheese.

prcmvv7fmv.jpg

rhe3isxgoi.jpg

bsqucgjp2y.jpg

vuxogh5bo7.jpg

wz76xf3hvn.jpg

2bkgpv4h8g.jpg

0sq6azj8va.jpg

d2o1qqgstu.jpg

12qiwfg06l.jpg

1pvwax9buf.jpg

Well that is my entry for this week's fruitsandveggiesmonday, I hope you like it and have a great week, thanks for checking out my post.

Oh and look what my daughter found, a four leaf clover.

image

Sort:  

That was really a different recipe for lasagna! Thanks for the inspiration.

Posted using Partiko iOS

This pasta al forno looks delicious yumyumyum


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

This not only looks gorgeous but must have been delicious! Never heard of oat lasagne sheets, is that the Scottish influence @gguy773? Great dish and photography!

Thanks, oats are really cheap and healthy over here, and I have loads, so I was thinking of new ways to use it, other than eating porridge for dessert 😂, because I don't like porridge for breakfast. I am picking up some photography tips from you and @lenasveganliving, it's a work in progress.

I'm not a big porridge fan either although oats is so healthy, my mom still makes her own little pot of oats on alternate days, she'll be 88 in Sept!
Oh dear, I'm still learning with the food photography! One thing's for sure, natural light outdoors makes a huge difference! Your photos really look lovely!

Oat lasagne sheets--who would have thought? What a great idea! Especially with all those yummy sauces layered in. Comfort food all the way!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks, helps with the horrible weather, had to scrape the car this morning, when will this end, 😬, hope my cherry and peach trees OK. Off to check.

Wow, this lasagna looks really delicious, well done!

Thanks 😊

Yaayy.. your daughter will be a lucky one today 😉 4 leaves clover and a delicious lasagne from daddychef 😍

🍀 🍀 🍀 🍀

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Four leaf clover??? She is a lucky girl! You better dry it and frame it. I have one too, but I didn't find it; I got it as a gift, so I am not sure if that counts, lol.

Anyway, your lasagne turned out quite amazing Greg. Another creative idea; making your own sheets. And the buckwheat filling is must be delicious. You inspired me with your buckwheat recipes so I bough it, now I just have to come up with some recipes that I know my family will like it, lol. Nevertheless, well done Chef 🍅🌿🍅
1 Collage.jpg

Thanks Lena

Wow, that looks really good, @gguy773 :D I wonder how a vegan lasagne would taste now .... Very nice post!

That four leaf clover is sure to bring you some luck, I hope ! :D

Thanks 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63373.75
ETH 3170.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88