Happy haggis recipe

in #fruitsandveggiesmonday5 years ago (edited)

image

Happy fruitsandveggiesmonday everyone! It's fruitsandveggiesmonday with @lenasveganliving and @plantstoplanks and this is my entry, it is a happy haggis because no animals were injured. Haggis, as most people know is a Scottish dish with sheep offal, which is awful, haha you see what I did there, and it is like a big sausage with oats and spices. I tried eating haggis a few times before going vegan and hated it, mainly because the thought of eating sheep guts. I tried the vegetarian version which you can by at the shops here and it was quite good, so I thought I could recreate it, and here it is.

Ingredients

2 carrots
2 onion
75g rolled oats
75g pumpkin seeds
250g mushrooms
4 garlic cloves
75g margarine
1 and a half teaspoons ground coriander
1 teaspoon nutmeg
Half a teaspoon pepper
1 teaspoon yeast extract or Marmite
75g pearl barley
Pinch of salt
400g soaked green lentils

First I put garlic, pumpkin seeds, mushrooms and carrots in the food processor.

image

I sautéed the onions in a non stick pan till soft.

image

Then I added the mix from the processor and cooked till reduced, so no water is left from the veggies.

image

I then transferred to a larger pan and added the pearl barley with 200ml water and the spices, salt and yeast extract.

image

I cooked this until all the water had reduced and let it cool down.

image

Then I transferred to a bowl and added the margarine, lentils and oats, mixed up well.

image

Then I got some parchment paper and placed half of the mixture and rolled up some huge sausages, two of them.

image

image

I tied up the ends with a bit of string so it doesn't unravel.

image

Then popped them into a pot of water and boiled for an hour.

image

Once they were cooked I put them in the oven with the roast veggies with the paper left on.

image

image

OK, so haggis is meant to be eaten with mashed turnip and potatoes, hence the name haggis neeps and tatties, but I made a potato and leek soup for starters and could not find turnips in the shop, so I roasted sweet potato and parsnips, it's some kind of tattie and neep I guess. Oh here is my soup.

image

I have posted the recipe before, don't peel my potatoes twice like 😉, but I do have a chocolate oat crunchy to share if you like.

image

Ingredients

300g dates
300ml boiling water
300g rolled oats
300g pecans
3 teaspoons chocolate powder
1 banana

Wow look at all those threes! So I left the dates to soak in boiling water for about an hour and chucked everything into a blender and well, I blended it, and baked it.

image

image

Yum yum. Hope you like it.

Funny story about haggis, Scott's like to make fun of people who ask what haggis is, they say it is like a wee animal, like a rabbit, but with one leg shorter than the other so it can run around the mountain, there's a clockwise and anticlockwise haggis. I heard of a foreigner going around the Scottish Highlands in search of the haggis, he went back to the guy who told him about the haggis and said he can't find one, the guy said it is because they are very shy, lol 😂

image

image

Sort:  

Vegan goodness! Looks like a very tasty treat indeed

Now this haggis I will eat any day, it looks and sounds delicious and full of flavour and definitely happy, unlike the carnivorous version which I'm afraid I will not try, served with Leek & Potato soup plus ending it off with a choc oat crunchy really makes this a perfect meal!

Thanks @lizelle, the carnivorous version is a bit gross, I have never liked offal even before I was vegan. Glad you like it 😀.

Always delicious
It’s always great to read your recipes and see this yummies on your pics.
Resteemed :)

Super delicious!

That is amazing Greg. I had to Google this dish to see what it was, because i never heard of it. It reminds me of something similar that is traditional in my country, Slovakia but it was thinner and made of pig. Yeah awful!!! Although I used to eat it. Oh well, that was loooooong time a go. I guess I should try your version. It looks like a wonderful recipe. Great job Chef 😉
5jmvkoxih6.jpg

Thanks Lena, haggis is quite popular here especially on Burns night, it is when they celebrate their poet Robert Burns, he wrote Auld Lang Syne, it is that song everyone sings on new years eve.

You are most welcome Greg. I had no idea!

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Well I never thought I would say I'd like to try haggis, but you might just have changed my mind! 🤣 Kudos on bringing yet another really interesting recipe to the table. All those ingredients sound like they would be super satisfying for a comforting meal.

Thanks, yeah it is really worth a try, something I will definitely make again.

Dear gguy773:

We are SteemBet, the next generation STEEM based gaming platform. We are honored to invite you to join our first fantastic dice game, which is just the beginning of SteemBet game series. Our dividend system has now launched. The prize pool has already accumulated 2,000 STEEM and more than 60 players have participated in staking mining token SBT. A huge reward of 40,000 STEEM is awaiting! Join us NOW with other 500 STEEM users to loot HUGE dividend reward!!

SteemBet Team

Official Website
https://steem-bet.com

Discord Server
https://discord.gg/95cBN3W

Telegram Group
https://t.me/steembet

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58296.82
ETH 3138.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.22