You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: FRUITS AND VEGGIES MONDAY | Steamed Corn using rice cooker

Good thinking, using the rice cooker. There are lots of ways to cook it. When I was a kid, my friends and I would sometimes "appropriate" some ears of corn from the fields and/or gardens, build a fire, and put the corn on the fire with the husk still on. When the husk started to get dry and burn, it was time to take it from the fire. Delicious!

Sort:  

Wow ! This is something new to me.
I've never tried putting the cordon fire with the husk still on.
I guess it's because when I do buy it, the husks would already have been removed.
I shall try it the next time around.
Thanks for the tip :)

Another way it can be cooked while still in the husk, is in a microwave oven. Just put an ear in and let it go on full power for 3 minutes. A really big ear might take 4 minutes. Some people don't like to cook things in a microwave though, because microwaves affect the molecular structure of foods and liquids, which in turn affects the nutritional value.

I try very much to avoid microwave cooking too
But sometimes, its the only option..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61986.52
ETH 2406.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65