You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A walk around my farm!

Such an incredible spring journey through your farm! And how satisfactory it must be to see results when all these trees begin to deliver their fruits. To think that it all starts from just a few leaves and buds!!!
Ok, so I have a bag of whole dried carob. I love chewing on them (without eating the seeds), but how do you turn it into flour? Do you roast first and then blend it? Or just blend it raw?

Sort:  

Thank you @fjorenca, spring is a wonderful time to be among trees!
Now, the carob flour is a bit tricky. Since it’s a very hard nut it requires a professional mill but you can try at home with a blender or even better with a coffee grinding machine.
First you cut the carobs into 3-4 pieces each and you boil them for 5 minutes. You leave them soaking in the hot water for 24 hours. After that, you remove the seeds and cut into small pieces with a knife. You leave them to get dry and then you put them in the oven at 100° C for 4 hours. After that it should be ready for grinding!
Or you can just buy some carob flour :)
P.S. The water that you boiled the carobs in, is sweet. You can boil it some more to make carob syrop.
I hope that's helpful!

This is super helpful, thank you for taking the time to explain it. I have read many online articles about this, but no one has ever mentioned the boiling part. I trust your experience and I will give this method a try. Of course I could buy the powder (I have many times before), but I also enjoy making things from scratch :)

Me too, I always choose the hard way :)
Good luck!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60842.02
ETH 2699.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44