A walk around my farm!

Monday today and it’s time for the fruits and veggies Monday created by @lenasveganliving.

This week I want to share with Lena and all the wonderful steemers that follow her, a walk around my farm.

Lets start with the apricot trees. Such a tastefull fruit but the cause of a big conflict for me. The mice that live around here believe that the crop is theirs and I believe exactly the same thing :)

03_MG_0738.jpg

And the plum trees, the spring fruit that sends away the remaining winter threads and prepares our taste for the summer treats! I expect the cherry plums to be ripe in 2-3 weeks.

01_MG_0817.jpg

The almonds are still fresh. You can eat them without peeling them. A special treat as it is and a great nut to preserve for the winter.

04_MG_0721.jpg

The pears are on the verge of the transformation from blossom to fruit. I have to wait till the first days of July for a bite.

05_MG_0794.jpg

Of course July and August are the fig months! Nothing more to say. Just wait!

06_MG_0742.jpg

It’s time to check the vineyard. The formation of the grapes just began but the harvest is in 5 months. Patience…

07_MG_0684.jpg

Did you know that walnut trees don’t like pruning? Today we can see the first leaves and some male flowers. The picking of walnuts takes place in the middle of September.

08_MG_0752.jpg

The next picture fits best to the what is it game! Can you guess? We are at the carob trees! A very special food that is not very popular. We use it mostly as carob flour. Excellent for bread, cake or cookies!

09_MG_0713.jpg

And now the pomegranate trees. My favourite fruit. I can spent two or three days in October eating nothing more than pomegranates, as a self cleaning treatment. Just excellent!

10_MG_0778-2.jpg

And last but not least the olive trees. Here we can see the first blossom of the most important harvest of the island and the superior of all food!

11_MG_0763.jpg
All the pictures were taken by me with my Canon EOS 7D with a Canon EF-S 60mm f/2.8 USM Macro Lens attached.

I hope you enjoyed the walk :)

Thank you for reading

Commenting, upvoting and resteeming are highly appreciated!

Sort:  

I am absolutely mesmerized by your amazing photography and the beauty of your trees. Everything looks heavenly 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇
1 Collage.jpg

Thank you very much!

These photos are so fantastic! The colors are so vibrant and you have a photographers eye! Amazing!

Thank you a lot!
I am glad you like it!

It is beautiful!

Your farm is heaven on earth. Wonderful photos!

Thank you for your nice words!

You're lucky to have so many goodies :)

Thank you @erikah for stopping by!
Actually it isn't luck, it's a decision that anyone can and should take :)

My mistake. Sorry.

I hope that my answer didn’t sound aggressive, I just feel that it is very important for people to move away from the cities and embrace nature with love and respect.

You're entitled to have your own opinion and I choose not to continue this conversation. I wish you good luck on Steemit!

Thank you for this wonderful post! Beautiful pictures and nice stories :) How amazing is to live in the nature and observe all these plants bloom, grow and give fruits!

Thank you for stopping by!
You are not living so far away from nature, yourself :)

True! I enjoy that every day :D

You've captured some beautiful shots! It is so interesting comparing the season from your photos and my own walk around the farm photos, taken across the ocean. We are blessed with our individual homesteads

Thank you @buckaroo!
I am going to check out your post.

Such an incredible spring journey through your farm! And how satisfactory it must be to see results when all these trees begin to deliver their fruits. To think that it all starts from just a few leaves and buds!!!
Ok, so I have a bag of whole dried carob. I love chewing on them (without eating the seeds), but how do you turn it into flour? Do you roast first and then blend it? Or just blend it raw?

Thank you @fjorenca, spring is a wonderful time to be among trees!
Now, the carob flour is a bit tricky. Since it’s a very hard nut it requires a professional mill but you can try at home with a blender or even better with a coffee grinding machine.
First you cut the carobs into 3-4 pieces each and you boil them for 5 minutes. You leave them soaking in the hot water for 24 hours. After that, you remove the seeds and cut into small pieces with a knife. You leave them to get dry and then you put them in the oven at 100° C for 4 hours. After that it should be ready for grinding!
Or you can just buy some carob flour :)
P.S. The water that you boiled the carobs in, is sweet. You can boil it some more to make carob syrop.
I hope that's helpful!

This is super helpful, thank you for taking the time to explain it. I have read many online articles about this, but no one has ever mentioned the boiling part. I trust your experience and I will give this method a try. Of course I could buy the powder (I have many times before), but I also enjoy making things from scratch :)

Me too, I always choose the hard way :)
Good luck!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62900.39
ETH 3357.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47