Sort:  

wait until you see my other surprise to having fun in the shop with me... My Rambutan tree is bearing its flowers and the red hairy skin fruit will soon pop out anywhere ..hehehehe

I have heard of Rambutan! I've not seen one in person, or tasted one. How wonderful to have your own tree of them! So, I'm guessing you have to peel off the skin, and then what do you do with them?

Well.. we eat it fresh.. it's sweet. Have you ever ate lychee? The taste is almost similar but rambutan more thick than lychee.

image here's the fruit, will find other picture that show the inside fruit

We can make hot and sweet fruit salad or cocktails but I'd prefer the fresh raw fruit. Not too much off course...too sweet not good for throat😊

I have tasted lychee - from a can! So probably not the same as fresh. Lychee and Rambutan are very exotic fruits to me!

In my garden I grow citrus - lemons, tangerines, and two kinds of limes. And two peach trees and one small apple tree. The apple tree is smaller than a dwarf kind, I think they call it a micro-mini. I have a friend who grows the same kind of tree and she says her dog eats the apples from the tree - and he is not a large dog! I keep mine in a large pot so that the fruit doesn't touch the ground. :-)

No photos = Hoax 😂😂😂 that's what this millenial generation says. Come on... I dare you to show me all those trees 😊 I never seen any citrus-lemons trees, peach and micro-mini apple 😊 show me.. pleaaaseee...

If it wasn't dark outside I go take photos now! I might have some on my computer. Those would look better than how they look now. They need some pruning.

You have never seen citrus trees? So that would make them exotic to you?

An older relative came to visit my parents. She lives where citrus can't grow because of the harsh cold. My parents grew lots of plants and one was a lemon tree, just covered with ripe fruit at that time. "Oh," she said, "can I see it?" Sure, said my mother and took her to the garden. "Could I touch one?" she asked. My mother said she could pick as many as she liked to take with her. Oh the smile on her face! I remember thinking how can a plain old lemon tree be so special? But that was because it was so common to me. Just like your Rambutan is more common. Aren't we funny?

Yess... we're funny 😉 actually I know local lemon tree and have the lime tree too, common one and kaffir lime tree (we use the leaves in many foods recipes too😊) but.. maybe I will behave like her too... uhhmm 😊 I always get excited to any trees with fruits I see, even its the trees that grow in my garden 😂 I don't know... I just can't help myself not to whoooaaa... whooaaa

Kaffir lime leaves I see in recipes, I substitute young lemon leaves. I read somewhere that was okay to do. But I see the real thing at restaurants and can tell they don't look the same.

I had to find photos from my computer to make a post about my fruit trees. They needed haircuts, all of them, and I didn't want to wait to do that. Plus as we move to winter they have no flowers or fruit, so pictures now would just look like green bushes! But just for you here is a look at my fruit trees! (And yes, some with fruit!)
https://steemit.com/gardening/@donna-metcalfe/welcome-to-my-garden-13-fruit-trees

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57621.01
ETH 3094.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32