FRUITS AND VEGGIES MONDAY: I'm Back with Gowok😉

Hellow Steemit Foodies and Fellows🍒🍐🍋

this post is created to join the best contest on monday😉 create by @lenasveganliving, host by @plantstoplanks and post on @vegansofsteemit every monday😊 and if you want to know how to join this contest, make sure you read This Post🌱.

Let Me introduce you to Gowok aka Kupa/Kepa aka Syzygium Polycephalum

The truth is I've been reading about this fruit for years but I never taste it until today😊

366m7jrgvk.jpg

mature fruit and taste less sour


My hubby takes me out to buy some snacks for football match live on tv tonight, we plan to buy mini onde-onde or fried rice ball at Serua. Unfortunately, the seller is taking a day off today😢 so we decided to look for another seller around. We went far west but none sells the mini onde-onde. While keep searching for the seller and the carts, My Hubby stops his motorbike and said "what about gowok?" and turn back to a fruit stall and park right in front of the shirtless big fat man who touch some purple fruit. I went in and asked "what fruit is this?" He said "Gowok". "How does it taste?

Sour😑 said the fruit seller

s7tfeu64uw.jpg

okay... gimme half kilo then😉 I tasted one and it's not sour for me😀


Hubby asked me after I paid for the fruit $2 a kilogram wasn't that the fruit you saw few days ago in Cinere? .. I don't know because I haven't had time to see it closely at that time.

What is Gowok?

I think it's something like jaboticaba in Brazil but actually this is a native fruit to South East Asia. In Indonesia, this fruit has several names and can be found in Java, Sulawesi and Kalimantan island. Never found this fruit in my hometown. And off course I never seen the tree too😊

p0labwdlif.jpg

since this fruit belongs to myrteceae tribe, the flesh is juicy and soft


It has one seed and better not eat the seed😉 taste bitter. A friend told me to eat the whole fruit with salt and chayenne or soy ketchup😊 but I like the sour taste😆 without the purple skin. The purple skin quite thick.

I read some articles on google about this fruit, but only wikipedia indonesia has a short explanation about it. I think there is another name except syzygium polychepalum. It has a medium tall tree, about 8-20 metres height and could lived on 200-1800 m above sea level. The only way to grow it only with seed. We can eat it raw and fresh or make gowok setup😊

irue4seoi1.jpg

I have enough seed to try to grow a gowok tree😊


If you ever eat water apple the taste is almost similar. For my hubby, he can tolerates the sour taste now eventhough when he was a kid he said he likes it. The Gowok tree has red colour and useful to make furniture.

Been living in Pamulang, Banten for almost 4 years, this is the first time I found the fruit😨 I think not many trees around or people don't really enjoy the taste. I like it! At least it's not as sour as bilimbi😂

8bya76rrn1.jpg

I think I need to try to make gowok setup or compote too


But maybe later if I found more fruits😊 I'll eat those half kilo fruits myself now😂

Have you ever seen or eat Gowok or Kupa before?

Thanks for stoping by and Have A Happy Monday🍡🍎🍌🍇🍆🍅🍄🍋🍊🍏🍈🍉🍐🍑🍒🍓🍍🍠


This is an Invitation to join #ccc for Guaranteed 👍 Daily Income 💵 and Payout 💸 for Newbies (2.0) 🐟 🐜 🐛 in #ccc 👣 and Follow 👣 the Honor Code 🏅 - the Creed (Conditions and Limits Inside)
AND
the latest update <<< please click to read.

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Fantastic! Another new one for me to learn about. My goodness there is no end to the amazing plants on this earth! I like a little bit of tartness to my fruit sometimes, as well, so this would be another one that would be fun to try. I have made a quick trip to the international market recently to get canned jackfruit, but I still need to drop by for a visit when I can really take my time and peruse all of the produce!

Jackfruit 😉 @plantstoplanks... jackfruit you said? Let me show you what I eat last weekend😉

i3jv0f6tr8.jpg
*this is gudeg! Made from young jackfruit! A special food from jogjakarta

Sweet and soft... but not too healthy😂 it takes hours to cook this gudeg

I don't think I've ever saw those fruits in my life. They look interesting. I'd try them, at least once! 😁

Well you should if you find any @trincowski 😉 Im glad that I ever taste this fruit too.. there are still a lot of local fruits from any parts of my country that I haven't found and tasted it.

Interesting fruit. Are you going to grow a tree?

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes @paulag.. I never seen the tree of this fruit, so I want to know how it looks like😊 beside.. I have a hubby who knows how to take care of seed too.

Hi, @cicisaja!

You just got a 0.2% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

So lovely to see you my Dear Cici! It's been a while and I missed your entertaining stories and unusual fruits. This one is definitely something I never heard of, but I would love to try for sure! I like little sour taste too 🥭😊🥑
1 Collage.jpg

Thank you @lenasveganliving 😉 I only wait for the special fruit I found to join the FAVM 😊 some people said that this fruit is in vulnarable stage, but I think.. that's just because not many people love the taste.

You are most welcome my Dear Cici. What that means at vulnerable stage? Something like extinction?

Yes.. something like extinction .. because it's hard to find this fruit even at its season every year around august to october

I see! I wonder why.

The tree used to grow at every house yard, but with the imported fruits and cheap price, people start to turn their favour from the local fruits to imported fruits and then the tree owners cut dow the tree (sell the trunk to furniture manufacture) and within 30 years... the fruit is not easy to find anymore

That is so sad!!!

No I have never seen this fruit before!!! loved reading about it. I have discovered so many different Asian fruits and vegetables just under this tag alone! Thank you so much for sharing xx

You are most welcome @riverflow 😉 I just find this fruit after 45 years living in Indonesia 😂😂😂 I don't think 50% of Indonesian have ever tasted all the fruits that native to South East Asia especially Indonesia too.

So.. you are not alone😁 i hope you would have a chance to taste all the fruits you read under the tag ..one day. Thanks for stopping by

Travelling SE Asia next year, maybe I will!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Cool😉 since many tropical fruits are seasonal fruits.. I really hope you'll get lucky to taste at least some of those fruits, traditional markets must be on your list to visit, because not many local fruits available at the supermarket.

Never seen this as well in the Philippines. Hmmn i would like to try if i see one. Is it sour as tamarind?

Hello, @cicisaja! Thank you for sharing your awesome DIY/how-to article with the steem community. However, we've got a place for you where you can post similar articles and get rewarded fairly. Welcome to build-it

Build-it is a tribe on the steem that sharpens your #diy and #how-to skills, in an attempt to save more money for yourself.


The recommended tags required when creating a DIY artcle are #diy, #build-it. #how-to, or #doityourself. You'll get rewarded with BUILD tokens upon every valid post/project which can also be exchanged for steem on steem-engine when you use any of the recommended tags as well as posting via our website.


Need help? Live technical support on Discord or Telegram

|


This project is run and supported by our witness @gulfwaves.net. If you like what we do, click here to vote for us

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59796.03
ETH 2732.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52