INSPIRED BY POPEYE - FRUITS AND VEGGIES MONDAY

IMG_4160.JPG

"Please may I have a fruit smoothie. But make it green!" Back in my Raw Food Restaurant, my favourite customer was my friend's 6 year old son. Because my little restaurant was in his mom's health store he would sit at my counter every day after school and watch me make lunch. His and the many other customers. Jamie would choose the fruits but he refused to touch the smoothie until I made it green! It was easy to load a spoon or two of spirulina, barley green or my organic mixed green powder. But the best was to get him to pick some leafy greens out of my restaurant's little garden. Those we added to the smoothie. The other customers would watch in astonishment as this 6 year old would devour the green smoothie the way most children gulp down a sugar and preservative loaded milkshake.

IMG_4208.JPG

We have a lot to learn from children. It is a proud moment for a parent when they make healthy decisions. Jamie as a teenager still insists on greens - in fact he turns his nose up at milkshakes. And my baby boy is now starting to discover the colourful flavours. It delights my heart that he loves the healthy options. He loves helping me make fruit smoothies. And eat them! You've all heard about our healthy kitchen adventures. But today for the lovely @lenasveganliving's special #fruitsandveggiesmonday I'm going to inspire you. Popeye style!

IMG_4224.JPG

It is such a blessing being able to wander around our veggie garden selecting fresh organic veggies. No matter what the season - it's now Spring - we always have a selection of dark leafy greens. Because of their high levels of antioxidants, dark leafy greens have powerful cancer fighting properties. They are also high in iron, folate, calcium, magnesium, Vitamin C and K which is essential for health. The darker the green the more dense the nutrients. Greens are essential for cardiovascular, digestive, skin and eye health. Having a big salad of greens means you are literally eating a bowl of anti-inflammatory food!

IMG_4154.JPG

Of course a green smoothie is definitely not for everyone. I have to make it when my husband isn't home because he turns every shade of green just at the thought. Considering his love of salad it doesn't bother me that he squirms over a green smoothie. Our son and I love them. I always add a little fruit to take off the dark edge of those wonderful greens. Today we chopped in pineapple and pear. We included two young carrots. They were extra sweet. For the greens I pick the tender middle leaves; kale, brocolli, beetroot leaves, spinach, young celery and a selection of herbs. Of course the secret ingredient is one yummy avo. That makes it really creamy. With a dash of salt, and ginger. A fast blend in the VitaMix and our snack was ready! Of course I took just a little too long taking photos and my little boy decided to begin without me....

IMG_4163.JPG

Sort:  

You make your smoothies thick and eat with a spoon?

@moneymosey oh absolutely! Love them thick. The excess I freeze and my little one eats them like a popsicle

the popsicle version sounds great also!

Oh so yummy!!! Nothing like a nice fresh green smoothie. I just made one yesterday too and will post it tomorrow, but I don't have a garden like you :( I would love to be able pick fresh greens for my smoothie everyday like you do. It must be an amazing experience. I also love the story about Jamie; what an exceptional boy! Although I am sure your boy will be just like him Tracey 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇
1 Collage.jpg

Thank you @lenasveganliving and I hope you will one day have your special garden as well as your bigger kitchen! You know Lena what makes the story about Jamie so amazing is the further history. His mom is my oldest friend. We've known each other all our lives, but lost contact in our young adult lives, until she opened her health store in my first, late husband's hometown. He took me to her health shop for a fruit smoothie and we immediately reconnected! Years later I opened my raw food restaurant in her health shop (after my first husband died and Renee asked me to put my passion into a health restaurant!

Way to start 'em young @buckaroo :) And I love the little hand too! Lil' hands and feet ... I just want to kiss them! Hope that didn't come off sounding too weird haha

I am glad you are eating that as I don't see any meat lol. That is a rare thing to see in our country. i also love my fruit and veggies but I really love my meat as well.

Hilarious @cryptoandcoffee! Exactly what my husband would say. "I'll eat the salad. But. Where's the steak?"

It was way too green for me. We are normal and that ain't normal lol.

So cute… your little angels hand is a great photo touch too. It’s amazing that he chooses nutrients over sugar. His momma must be a good teacher 😉. Good to see ya for F’s and V’s @buckaroo.

Thanks for you sweet words @puravidaville. Yip adorable little hands

This is wonderful! Love the little hands from your helper, so glad to hear he eats these wonderful smoothies with you. You're setting a perfect example for him! Wonderful post @buckaroo!

I'll take a green smoothie and a spoon, please! This is the only way to have a smoothie. Awesome that kids like them too.

Right this way ma'am!

Nice! I can't wait to get some fresh greens from the garden next year! Til then, I'll settle for salads. Probably won't mess with smoothies cause I prefer to eat my food than drink it, but it's the same idea. Glad your kiddo and your friend's son love it!

We're working away from the plastic wrapped preservative laden "food" products more every day. The kids still live their chips and candy, and the wife is still occasionally getting fast food, but I've sworn off it. I'm leading the charge so to speak, and they're reluctantly following. But they're following, so it counts. Lol

Small progressive changes.

Wow! It is really surprising that a child likes green juices 😅 I think that people eat according to what our parents taught us. My mom cooks in a very natural way, she uses many vegetables and herbs, she doesn't like meat (although the rest of my family does), and I adopted her eating style.

I love green juices, my favorite is pineapple with celery, cucumber and ginger 💚

Green juices. Green smoothies. But I agree @milkabustamante, it is definitely because of what our parents teach us. I also believe a lot is passed on by the pregnant mom to her child. I always eat this way but more so when I was pregnant. So my little one has loved green and healthy fruits and veggies from his very first taste. I also love ginger and pineapple in juice (not so much cucumber though)

this smoothie looks so yummy!

I think I enjoy my green smoothies more than the fruitie ones @proanima

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55528.94
ETH 2373.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36