Fruits and Veggies Monday: Vegetable Golubtsy (Stuffed Cabbage Rolls)

Hey Sunshines,

This is my first time doing a post for #fruitsandveggiesmonday I have been watching @lenasveganliving contest for so long that it's about time I got the courage up to post, now that I finally decided to go Vegan, more leaning towards raw vegan but I think I'll miss cooked foods too much, so we'll just have to go with the flow with percentages later.

This is my take on a Golubtsy stuffed with vegetables, the traditional Russian Golubtsy (Stuffed Cabbage Rolls) are stuffed with mince,rice, garlic and spices with a sauce on top of the Golubtsy.
This is also a dish in other countries also that some have their own traditional name and why of making and serving it.

First we steamed the cabbage leaves, you need the big outer leaves so you can stuff and wrap them. We steamed them in a tray above boiling water, the traditional way is to boil them in salted water.
Chopped up all our vegetables that we wanted to put inside, we used - avocado, sweet potato, carrot, zucchini, silverbeet, garlic, ginger, spring onions, out of glass jars fermented cabbage (sauerkraut ) and pickles.

Place the vegetables on to of the steamed cabbage leave on one side, to give room to wrap up.


Ready to wrap up like a parcel, We just folded one side over, then the top, then the other side.

Ready to eat, you could add a sauce if you liked, like coconut yogurt or a basil and pesto sauce. We just had it plain, it was really nice although I was so hungry making them I thought I could eat all three, only managed to eat one.

This is something that you can use leftover vegetables in and make different ones it's so versatile.

Whats your favorite veges combos in wraps?


Thank you for stopping by really appreciate it, have a fabulous Day/Evening!


Steemit if full of great community's here are two you may like to check out:

The @adsactly society is fabulous - Don't take my word for it check them out on discord if your interested in the crypto sphere, society.

#makeithealthy project is being held by the fabulous @woman-onthe-wing so you don't need to go healthy by yourself.


Thank you @teamnz for the personalized banner

Sort:  

Mouth watering pictures, love it

Thank you @hananan it was delicious.

You just got a Team NZ upvote!

This is a curation bot for TeamNZ. Please join our AUS/NZ community on Discord.

Why join discord room? Here are 10 reasons why.<

Enjoying the bump? Please consider supporting your fellow Kiwis with a delegation. How? Read here.

For any inquiries/issues about the bot please contact @cryptonik.

How delicious and super healthy!!! Absolutely love it; I only wish I could have one right now. Well done my Dear 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇
1 Collage.jpg

It was delicious and super healthy at the same time. If only we could click a picture and it would materialize... Thank you so much @lenasveganliving it was a joy to finally join in...

This looks so tasty, I am a huge cabbage fan. I don't know why I haven't tried this, great idea @biglipsmama!

It was really tasty, you have to try it being a cabbage fan.

Hello congratulation for your first post on the fruitsandveggies challenge and your recipe looks just delicious i never heard about this dish before:)

Thank you @drawmeaship, it took a lot of courage but finally did it.
I hadn't either till I was made it long ago, but it's really easy to make this quick version than the traditional way.

yummy, This looks so tasty.

It was so tasty.

Yum! I’m unfamiliar with this dish and excited that you shared it. I often have cabbage laying around and lots of veggies so this would be easy to add into the rotation of my weekly menu. Great first entry @biglipsmama. Welcome to the fruits and veggies family :)

Thank you @puravidaville for the lovely welcome, it's a fabulous way to use up leftover vegetables and cabbage and play around with it.

Ahh.. I haven't made this one for so long because it took time to prepare the filling (well.. if you are vegan, there're many option to fill in😊) my best tips to keep the look of the cabbage leaf fresh is put it in the ice water after steaming it for a few minutes.
Thanks for sharing @biglipsmama 😉 the veggies you add in the stuffed cabbage are really complete and so tasty.

I kinda cheated the Traditional way so it didn't take that long, So many options for Vegan's and for people with autoimmune disease also as it's so versatile.
Thank you so much for the tip @cicisaja, didn't even think of that will have to try that next time I play around with some different fillings maybe black rice and vegetables.

You are absolutely right 😉 @biglipsmama, sometimes I just prepare some chicken ragout or veggies a day before.. to get the right soften stuffed cabbage for my toothless Father In Law, I steamed it again for 5 minutes too.

But after all.. this stuffed cabbage always a best option and delicious😉 we eat this with hot rice and some curry or chili sauces too.

Congratulations on your first post for Lena @biglipsmama! I have to agree with you. When I am vegan I prefer raw too. That's how I ended up opening a raw restaurant. Your dish looks scrumptious!

Thank you so much for the support @buckaroo, A raw restaurant has crossed our minds also as there is not many options here apart from protein bars and raw balls in the super market, as we are learning there is so much more than just the desert side of raw.

If you have a power blender, dehydrator and vitamix then you can pretty much make anything. My most popular meal was the raw vegan lasagne. Made only with veggies, nuts and legumes. It was delicious. Have you got any of the raw books? Our South African Rawlicious is fantastic. There are American raw foodists but I can't think of their names at the moment. They are invaluable on this journey

Great to see you participating on Fruits and Veggies Monday, @biglipsmama! You did a really great job with your very first entry! When I was a little girl, my mom would make stuffed cabbage rolls as well, a bit different than yours, she for example puts them to the oven after they're filled. But as you mentioned, in different countries they're prepared differently. I remember that as a child I absolutely hated cabbage, and when my mom was making them, I was complaining so much about the smell, haha. Now I love cabbage and would love if she prepared some stuffed cabbage rolls for me. The ones my mom make are super delicious but take so much time to prepare! Yours would be quicker to make, so perhaps I'll have to give your recipe a go! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62102.06
ETH 2415.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49