Fruits and Veggies Amazing Monday Created By Amazing @lenasveganliving submission.🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍 Stuffed bell peppers and eggplants.🍆 🌶

in #fruitsandveggiesmonday6 years ago (edited)

28833106_10214961379284914_748369560_n.jpg

So it is another amazing edition of fruits and veggies challenge and today I am presenting my how I complicated cooking stuffed eggplants and peppers recipe. lol I always write about how cooking can be simple and not time-consuming and here I am today doing the complete opposite. This recipe was time-consuming and it was a bit complicated. I also always say to experiment with food and have some fun it also. So even though it was time-consuming I enjoyed doing it. Got out of my cooking comfort zone and tried something different. How did it turn out? Well, you can be the judge of it? lol

Just like always before we get started let's turn on some of your favorite music to relax a bit. My choice of music today was:

Feeling little more relaxed? Great. Let's get into the recipe for today. :)

Ingredients

28810381_10214960689147661_661582028_o.jpg

  • Amaranth or rice (my recommendation is rice.)

  • eggplant, red and green pepper.

  • can of red kidney beans

  • onion

  • 1 potato

  • mushrooms (your choice which kind)

  • zucchini

  • 1 clover of garlic

  • 1 bottle of tomato sauce

  • Spices -pepper, paprika, kurkuma, himalayan salt, rosemary.

Add the ingredients and spices you like to the recipe. Have some fun with it. Make it your own.

Preparation

STEP 1

You will have to pre-soak the amaranth. Minimum pre-soaking time from my knowledge about is 3 hours. My recommendation if you are going to try this recipe is to soak it the night before. Amaranth has some amazing health benefits and it is a nutritional powerhouse full of basically everything your body needs. And, it is gluten-free. So if it's not part of your diet you should consider adding it in. Here is some info about it.

28829407_10214960688267639_59745924_n.jpg

STEP 2

So start by cooking the amaranth first because it takes about 40 minutes to be done. While amaranth cooking it is time to prepare the rest. Start by cutting in half, and cleaning bell peppers and eggplant. With bell peppers, you don't have much work but with eggplants, you have to cut the inside out. Be careful not to make a hole at the bottom because you will lose all the juice we are trying to keep inside while cooking through that hole.

28741212_10214960686907605_680613469_n.jpg

Put little salt at the bottom of both eggplant and peppers. You can also add some pepper as well.

STEP 3

Do not throw away the insides of the eggplant. Save them and cut them into little pieces. Then cut the rest of the veggies in the same way as well. In the smallest pieces possible. Cut the mushrooms as well, but don't mix them with the rest of veggies. Leave them aside. After everything is nicely cut put it all in one bowl and add the tomato juice and all the spices and mix until it all well blended.

28722397_10214960683267514_1677016191_n.jpg

STEP 4

Amaranth should be done by now. Let it cool off for a bit. It should have kind of sticky texture similar to the polenta. I actually like the way it tastes. After amaranth is cooled down a bit it is time to stuff the eggplants and peppers. But before you start stuffing preheat the oven first. Start with adding the amaranth first at the bottom. Then add mushrooms second, beans third, and tomato sauce and veggies mixture on top to cover it all up nicely. It should look something like this.

28741425_10214960683427518_1551655273_n.jpg

Stuff them all in the same order and place them on a tinfoil for baking and you are basically done. All you have to do now is place them in the oven and wait until it all bakes. It is actually not complicated to make this dish, but it is time-consuming preparing it all. Cutting the veggies, and preparing the amaranth and cooking it. So my suggestion to you makes this a family made dinner. Get your kids involved. Get them to help you cut everything up and prepare it. Make it a fun family meal preparation day. Listen to some music together. Have fun with it. Everything tastes better if its prepared with love.

28832420_10214960691427718_250938614_n.jpg

I know what you are thinking? Screw the baking part... It looks so good I might just dig right now. lol Don't do it. hehe

Place it in the oven and let it bake for about 30-40min. I really did not look at how long it took to bake it. I just checked it every 10-15 minutes. I can tell you one thing. My apartment here in Italy sure smelled amazing as all the delicious juices and flavors started to bake and blend together. I was thinking that even if my experiment does not turn out good at least it smelled good. 🤣 After about 40 minutes here is how it all turned out. First the eggplant.

28741289_10214960691507720_1075480151_n.jpg

And the second the green pepper...

28537914_10214960692867754_731675635_n.jpg

It actually turned to be delicious. I was actually surprised how it tasted and blended well together. It is vegan, gluten-free, delicious, and nutritious. Basically, all that your body needs is in this meal right here. Even though I would rate this little fun experiment with food project a success I already gut some ideas on how to make it even better next time I try it. But, it sure is fun to get out of my cooking comfort zone, use my imagination, and come up with some new recipes. Especially if they turn out as good as this little cooking experiment. But, there is room for improvement no doubt.

My Suggestions For Improvement.

Even though amaranth is amazing it takes a long time to prepare and it does not really absorb much of the flavor from other ingredients. I think in this case I would replace amaranth with either couscous or rice. As they have better ability to suck in all the flavors. The second improvement would be to make my own tomato sauce for the veggies. These are just coming from the top of my head right now. But I would love to hear what you can suggest for me try adding or doing differently?

Anyways, guys, that is about it for me. Thank you, Lena, for such an amazing challenge and I hope you guys enjoy my submission. This is one amazing way to promote healthy vegan dishes and I am honestly learning from each week of other people's submissions. As I am still discovering the world of veganism this challenge is sure helping me a lot. It inspires to try new things and add some more deliciousness to my vegan journey. So thank you all.

Good luck to everybody this week, looking forward to seeing other submissions, much love,

dbjegovic 💓💓💓

2017-09-29-22-51-45.jpg

Sort:  

Yummy! What a filling and comforting dish!

Thank you @pusteblume. I can safely say experiment succeeded. At it was delicious and nutritious. :)

This is an amazing recipe Durko, I cant believe how did you even come up with it. I bet it;s super delicious and obviously highly nutritious. I really like the idea of using Amaranth, even tough you think rice may be better.

Thank you so much for joining us again my Friend 🍇🍍💚🍓🍉

@lenasveganliving I honestly don't know as well. Just popped into my head the other day and I decided to try it. I am always preaching in my posts about trying out new things so maybe it was time to actually do it myself. hehe :P

Actually, when it cooled down a bit amaranth glued everything nicely together so amaranth is definitely a good choice as well. Plus it is far superior to rice and couscous when it comes to nutritional value. It just takes a long time to cook and to prepare it. So if you don't have time rice or couscous is a more of a convenient substitute. :)

I am happy I found time to participate in this amazing challenge and I am sure you are going to see some amazing submissions just like every week. Good luck judging. :P

Have an amazing day my amazing friend. XOXOXO

I totally agree.............. I am definitely going to try amaranth soon and CONGRATULATIONS TO YOU ALL ! A WELL-EARNED AWARD!
4.png

You know I've been vegan for 5 years and vegetarian for 30 years before that but I have never tried amaranth!

The photos are amazing . I can almost taste the food the pics are so clear. I will definitely try this great food idea out in the next day or two.

Thanks for post this! You have inspired me to try something new

hahaha amaranth is amazing and incredibly nutritious and you should definitely get familiar with it. I believe I posted a link for some more information inside the post. :)

Just a little tip if you try it don't overstuff the eggplants as when it starts baking it will overflow on the sides. And, cut the potatoes into really tiny cubes so the bake faster. :)

I am really glad you liked my recipes and the photos. It really did turn out great and I would love to see your post trying to make it. :)

Have an amazing day. :)

Looks great and it is a vegetarian vegetarian recipe. I should post my cooking skills also I make a mean carbonara :)

You should my friend. Show off those cooking skills. hehe :)

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #foodphotography

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 23:44:14
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 27.20/100.00
Total Photos: 4
Total comments: 7
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

After interviewing @teamsteem on the Alternative Lifestyle Show last Friday I am going to try going vegan for a week. So I am on the lookout for tempting vegan recipes. I have added this to the list.

Make sure you eat the right stuff, my friend. Do some research before you try it and I honestly recommend not doing it like this. I made a slow 4-month transition to vegetarian and vegan diet. Because my body was used to eating meat for years. A sudden change would create a shock to the body and can have negative side-effects. So if you are really going to try it then try it for 3-4 months. To give it a real shot. One week is too little to judge it. Just my advice to you. If you need any help you can contact me in DM on Discord. :)

Hey @pennsif, we thought your ambassador application was great and we replied to you in the comments. can you please confirm that you are happy with the comment so that we can proceed?
https://steemit.com/ambassadorapplication/@pennsif/my-steem-ambassador-application-pennsif

I am really hungry right now! Can I have a stuffed eggplant please?

You can get as many as you want my friend. :P Basically you can eat as much as you want of this stuff. :)

Thank you! Ngom Ngom Ngom.... 🍴

eggplant is also by favorite it has a great taste, specially in the oven. I don't know what amarath is but seems interesting.... the rest of the ingredients look like they would combine well with the eggplant :D! it's good to try eating vegan food at least once or twice a week :)

@cobamaximus I posted a link to an article about amaranth. It is highly nutritious and called super-food for a reason and you should definitely check it out. Start once or twice a week and you will notice a difference. Write down how you felt during the day of vegan and when you ate meat and compare. :)

Sounds like a good tip, I'll also check the amaranth post :) thanks

Oh when I show this to my mother xD lol she's gonna make this in a few days period. She likes this kind of food, and I am not blaming her :D Stay healthy bro!

hehe that is awesome. Let me know if she tries it. Even though she can probably make it better than me. So take some pictures for me if she does. :)

Stay healthy as well brother. :)

I will! I hope she will make this, really looks delicious, but more to that it's healthy..

Much love!

ballot-1294935.png

iTALENT CONTEST VOTING HAS STARTED

All contestants must vote if they want to stay in the competition, contestants that don't vote until the 10'th of March are diqualified
How and where to vote you can find in the link below

https://steemit.com/art/@ivan.atman/italent-qualifications-or-voting-time-has-now-begun-or-all-contestants-vote-from-6-th-until-10-th-of-march

Good luck @awakentolife

For any questions join the iTalent discord server

https://discord.gg/g4EZQ3d

discorg.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62471.79
ETH 2621.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56