TUTORIAL | DIY PANDAN JUICE AND EXTRACT FROM FRESH LEAVES ๐Ÿƒ๐Ÿƒ๐Ÿƒ

in #fruitsandveggiesmonday โ€ข 5 years ago (edited)

Pandan-4.jpg

Never heard of pandan before? I hadnโ€™t either until a few months ago and now I am hooked. I tried it first as an ice cream flavor and it was love at first bite.

Ever since I have been on a mission to find, grow and use this wonderful plant. Though my plants still need to do a bit of growing, my friend gave me some leaves from her plants to start experimenting with this wonderful aromatic flavor.

What is Pandan?


Pandan is a herbaceous, palm-like tropical plant with long, slender, and spiky leaves. The plants grow abundantly in Southeast Asia. Pandan leaf is also known as screwpine leaf.

Pandan-3.jpg

In Asian cuisine, Pandan leaves lend their unique taste and aroma to flavor desserts and drinks as well as savory dishes.

Though the taste is quite different from vanilla, pandan is often referred to as the Asian vanilla. To be honest, I think it is even better than vanilla but hey flavors are personal so you will have to taste this green treat yourself to form your own opinion.

And whatโ€™s more, Pandan is packed with many good-for-you plant nutrients that are believed to relieve headaches, cramps, and chest pains, and may even lower blood pressure.

Pandan-18.jpg

DIY PANDAN JUICE AND EXTRACT FROM FRESH LEAVES


PANDAN JUICE vs PANDAN EXTRACT


Pandan juice the easiest to make. Not that the extract is more difficult or that much more work to make lol.

Pandan juice is what you get when you blend the leaves with water.

Pandan extract, on the other hand, is the sediment that accumulates at the bottom of the jar of pandan juice after you leave it for 24 to 48 hours. The sediment is the pigment, chlorophyll, which gives pandan its green color.

Pandan-2.jpg

Pandan-19.jpg

Both will give your dishes the typical, sweet, yummy, aromatic flavor. Pandan juice is a watery, less concentrated version of pandan extract. Use this in recipes that allow you to use more liquid (to flavor rice, make steamed buns or cakes, etc).

Pandan extract will taste more bitter on its own as it is very concentrated. Use the extract in recipes that don't require much liquid. Make sure to get the balance right to avoid bitter-tasting dishes.

Now let us get to itโ€ฆโ€ฆ.

INGREDIENTS


  • Fresh pandan leaves
  • Water

Ratio: 30 gram fresh mature pandan leaves : 1 cup water

Pandan-17.jpg

Pandan-7.jpg

I had about 100 grams of leaves so I used just over 3 cups of water.

EQUIPMENT


  • Powerful blender
  • Cheesecloth or nut milk bag
  • Jar

INSTRUCTIONS


Choose mature pandan leaves. They are darker green compared to younger leaves on the top.

Pandan-5.jpg

Thoroughly wash the leaves to remove dirt.

Pandan-6.jpg

Using a scissor, cut the leaves into 1-inch pieces. Pandan leaves are very fibrous so the need to be cut in smaller pieces to ease the blending process.

Pandan-8.jpg

Put the leaves in a blender with water (ratio 30 gram leaves for 1 cup water). Blend until all leaves are broken down and you are left with a smoothie-like juice.

Pandan-9.jpg

Pandan-10.jpg

Strain using a cheesecloth or nut milk bag. Fine sieve works too.

Pandan-11.jpg

Pandan-12.jpg

Pandan-13.jpg

Pandan-14.jpg

Pandan-15.jpg

Transfer the liquid to a jar. This is your pandan juice.

Pandan-16.jpg

If you want to make a more concentrated extract, leave the pandan juice in the refrigerator for about 24-48 hours. The green sediment will sink to the bottom of the jar. Discard the water (it will still have a slight pandan flavor so I made ice cubes from it). And then you are left with your pandan extract.

Pandan-1.jpg

Pandan-20.jpg

Curious what I made with the extract? I will share some recipes with it as soon as I find some time. I made a raw vegan cheesecake with it and the ice cubes I am using to make a special cocktail for new years eve.

Stay tuned and happy holidays.

Oh I almost forgot..... happy #fruitsandveggiesmonday everyone! Let's not forget to send some extra love to @lenasveganliving and @plantstoplanks.


WISHING YOU ALL A WONDERFUL DAY แƒฆ แƒฆ แƒฆ


signature-new.png

FYI: For green smoothie tips, tricks, and recipes, download my FREE GREEN SMOOTHIE EBOOK HERE!


ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL!
PICTURE(s) TAKEN WITH NIKON D5600


LET'S CONNECT!


Website - Facebook - Google+ - Twitter - Pinterest - YouTube


๐Ÿฅ‘๐Ÿ“๐Ÿ† FIND MORE YUMMY PLANT-BASED CREATIONS BELOW ๐Ÿฅ‘๐Ÿ“๐Ÿ†

DETOXING APPLE, GINGER, MORINGA MORNING LOVE แƒฆ แƒฆ แƒฆ

TRIPLE CHOCOLATE POTATO DESSERT PLATE

POST WORKOUT CARROT HEMP SMOOTHIE

SPICY BUTTERNUT SQUASH & BLACK BEAN TOSTADAS WITH PARSLEY AVO SAUCE ๐ŸŒถ๐ŸŒถ๐ŸŒถ

VEGAN ACAI BERRY NICE CREAM - ICE CREAM FOR BREAKFAST!?! YES YOU CAN!

GINGERY PAPAYA PEANUT CHIA SEED PUDDING


DQmeghPGYhwUy1Bafh4LpeqbRKFykxNwtufJxJtMCCuCNom.gif

7ohP4GDMGPrUMp8dW6yuJTR9MKNu8P8DCXDU9qmmoBZUcHz58m3pP6QX7KjeCNfAsekinuSbJ8Snb8X4RZ5GchCZ7iRBkBC.png

Sort: ย 

๐Ÿ‡ Happy new year! ๐Ÿฅฆ
I wish you all a fruitful new year!

A very happy new year to you too

I LOVE PANDANUS!!! ๐Ÿ’œ๐Ÿ’š๐Ÿ’œ We have a plant (several) outside our back door in Thailand - a fresh leaf tossed into the rice cooker & a spoon of coconut milk in with the cooking water = HEAVEN!!

Lovely post. Please think about using the @ecotrain tag for extra upvote support (no requirements, delegation or rules!) or joining the @naturalmedicine community... you have so much knowledge other peolle woukd benefit from!!


Leading the curation trail for both @ecotrain & @eco-alex.
Together Weโ€™re Making This World A Better Place.

Click Here To Join the manually curated trail "@artemislives" to support quality eco-green content.

ecoTrain

We love it too. Though we do not eat rice very often I ll try it next time. Still exploring the possibilities of this yummy leaf. Thanks for the tips. I will definitely try to to use these tags more often... Happy new year xxx

I attempted to grow this before at home without success and after reading youโ€™re story.? I plan to try again .. Thanks

Where do you live? It doesn't seem to like the cold. Have a beautiful day and happy new year

In Indonesia, I'm using almost everyday pandan leaves for dishes and cakes

I should visit Indonesia one day. I have heard it is beautiful and so much good food too. Thanks for stopping by

I like it .. Thanks!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks ๐Ÿ˜ป

Oh my goodness, this is incredible Amy!!! Altough I can't grow my own, I found the powder on Amazon. I can't wait to taste it. Thank you for sharing this spectacular plant with us my Dear and I hope you will successfully grow your own ๐Ÿ’š๐ŸŒฟ๐Ÿ’š
01.jpg

My latest addiction. I hope the powder tastes as good. Thanks for all the love and support dear lena. I wish you all the best in 2020. I hope you are recovering well xxx

Thank you so much Amy and same to you. All the best in 2020, lots of success and prosperity

I will buy that powder next month for sure. It's not cheep, so I have to wait a little to recover from my December overspending first, lol. I am planning to make some green raw dessert with it ๐Ÿ’š๐ŸŒฟ๐Ÿ’š

CONGRATULATIONS TO YOUR 1st PRIZE DEAR AMY ๐Ÿ’š๐ŸŒฟ๐Ÿ’š
1PRIZE.png

Thanks so much for the honor.

Always a pleasure Amy ๐Ÿ’š๐ŸŒฟ๐Ÿ’š

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66263.69
ETH 3419.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63