SAVORY VEGAN BREAKFAST | AVOCADO PESTO ON WALNUT RYE TOAST ๐Ÿฅ‘๐Ÿ…๐Ÿฅ’

in #fruitsandveggiesmonday โ€ข 6 years ago (edited)

avocado-pesto-7.jpg

Good morning lovelies. I hope you all had a great weekend. Mine just started with this yummy savory morning treat. Though I'm more a sweet tooth in the morning, it's market day today so we didn't have much fruits and veggies left to make a yummy, sweet green morning drink.

If you have been following my blog then you may know we bought a bakery with a friend 2 months ago. Though I would never have thought to open a bakery as we don't eat bread very often, when we saw a bakery up for sale it was the perfect opportunity for my friend and baker from Belgium.

For a while, he had been dreaming about moving to Cambodia or any other (preferably tropical) country that isn't Belgium to get a whole new and different experience. But life has been tough for him in the past few years, so when we called him to let him know there was a bakery up for sale the disappoint couldn't be any bigger as he didn't have the money for it, but he realised this was an opportunity he might only get once in his lifetime.

That's when my hubby and I decided to team up with him and buy the bakery together so my friend could start living his dream too... so here we are.... proud bakery owners.

All that to say, that even though we do not eat bread very often, we always have some in the freezer made by my friend with love and wholesome, organic products. Local if possible. All flours are glyphosate free!

Walnut rye is one of my favorites.....

DSC_0009.jpg

avocado-pesto-2.jpg

The beauty of sharing homegrown foods


And what made this savory morning toast even better... the other day I traded some of our homegrown bananas and papayas from beautiful organic avocados my friend has in her garden.

Though I love living in Cambodia for many reasons, the abundance of fresh fruits and veggies growing everywhere is just wow. We all have so much and it brings neighbors and friends together to share. Just as our ancestors did..... FREE HOMEGROWN FOOD ROCKS!

avo-1.jpg

avo-2.jpg

AVOCADO PESTO ON WALNUT RYE TOAST ๐Ÿฅ‘๐Ÿ…๐Ÿฅ’


INGREDIENTS


For the avocado pesto


  • 1 avocado
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • 1 cup fresh parsley
  • ยผ cup toasted sunflower seeds
  • ยผ cup extra virgin olive oil
  • ยฝ T lime juice
  • Sea salt and black pepper to taste

avocado-pesto-5.jpg

For the toast


  • Cucumber slices
  • Tomato slices
  • Finely chopped spring onions
  • Toasted sunflower seeds
  • Toasted rye walnut bread

avocado-pesto-8.jpg

DIRECTIONS


  1. Combine all pesto ingredients in a blender and process until smooth.
  2. Toast walnut bread. Spread with avocado pesto and top with spring onions, toasted sunflower seeds, tomato, and cucumber slices.

avocado-pesto-1.jpg

avocado-pesto-3.jpg

avocado-pesto-9.jpg

avocado-pesto-4.jpg

avocado-pesto-6.jpg

HAPPY #FRUITSANDVEGGIESMONDAY แƒฆ แƒฆ แƒฆ


New to #fruitsandveggiesmonday? It a wonderful weekly contest hosted by @lenasveganliving. Go check her out to learn more about it!!


signature-new.png

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL!
PICTURE(s) TAKEN WITH NIKON D5600


LET'S CONNECT!


Website - Facebook - Google+ - Twitter - Pinterest - YouTube


FYI: For green smoothie tips, tricks, and recipes, download my FREE GREEN SMOOTHIE EBOOK HERE!


๐Ÿฅ‘๐Ÿ“๐Ÿ† FIND MORE YUMMY PLANT-BASED CREATIONS BELOW ๐Ÿฅ‘๐Ÿ“๐Ÿ†

GREEN SMOOTHIE OF THE DAY | MANGO GINGER ZINGER
BREAKFAST | PINA COLADA CHIA SEED PUDDING (VEGAN, GLUTEN-FREE)
CARROT CAULIFLOWER BURGER WITH GREEN BEAN MASH AND HOMEMADE TOMATO CHUTNEY
BREAKFAST | CHUNKY MONKEY BANANA CHOCOLATE CHIP ICE CREAM
EASY ONE-POT DINNER | MANGO EGGPLANT CURRY WITH BLACK BEANS
GREEN SMOOTHIE OF THE DAY | CARROT COCONUT MORINGA SOURSOP MORNING LOVE


DQmeghPGYhwUy1Bafh4LpeqbRKFykxNwtufJxJtMCCuCNom.gif

Sort: ย 

Where do you get giant advocato lol we only get lil ones here

From my friend's backyard. Organic, homegrown and free. So good. Thanks for stopping by ;)

Hi @amy-goodrich it's looking very nice and healthy dish. I like your post ๐Ÿ‘ please visit my blog too and give me follow and upvote if you like my posts ๐Ÿ˜Š stay connected

@amy-goodrich goodness of veggie and fruit with bread my type of Breakfast :)

Glad you like this one. Thanks for passing by ;)

@amy-gooddich your welcome I love to eat break with fruit jam.

Posted using Partiko Android

Mmmm! Avocado toast is possibly my favourite meal. I'm missing it here in Morocco the avo's cost a fortune.

Really. Here in Cambodia locally grown, organic avocados are around $3-4 a kilo. Wish I could send you some.

Avocado pesto sounds and looks really tasty! I'm a bit jealous of you having all those fruits and veggies straight from the garden, it sounds too perfect to be real! ๐Ÿ˜

Thanks! Avo on toast lover here hehe. Every country has its pros and cons. Fresh fruits and veggies, plenty of free, wild animals and super friendly people are the things keeping us in Cambodia. Have a lovely day.

Sounds really great, I'd love to visit Cambodia! You too have lovely day! ๐Ÿ˜Š

Avocado toast is pretty much a staple in my breakfast rotation, so this is right up my alley! My boyfriend thinks that with the way temperatures are warming up here we may finally be able to grow avocado trees in our yard. ๐Ÿ˜‚ Not quite sure if it's that warm yet, but we'll see.

At least that's a bonus of climate change :( We are having a particularly tough start of the rainy season... heavy rain for 2 weeks now. Almost non-stop. Luckily we live on a hill, so many people are flooded right now. The climate is def changing. Enjoy the heat and sun ;)

That is crazy! I'd much rather get avocados elsewhere than see such violent weather pattern changes. Seems to be changing all over the place. I know farmers here were having trouble this year because they never know what the weather is going to be like. :/

I hear you. We need to change things fast before we ruin everything.

I hear you. We need
To change things fast before we
Ruin everything.

ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย - amy-goodrich


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-07-16T02:54:15
Account Level: 4
Total XP: 1380.91/1600.00
Total Photos: 166
Total comments: 22
Total contest wins: 7
And have also received a 4.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

I have to confess Amy, I love bread and I can live on bread, avocado and tomato,lol. So if I eve come visit you, this is all I need plus some fruits, lol. And I am so happy for all three of you, living your dream ๐Ÿ’ ๐ŸŒ๐Ÿ‘๐ŸŒฟ๐Ÿ๐Ÿ“๐Ÿ‡
1 Collage.jpg

Easy peasy. Though avocados have their season I reckon. Not sure when my supply will run dry. But always some fresh fruits and bread around hehe! Have a lovely week Lena!

I guess I will have to aim on avocado season, lol...........have a lovely week too Amy ๐ŸŒธ๐Ÿ’–๐ŸŒธ

SO envious of your organic giant avo! And your bread making skills are on point! ๐Ÿ‘Œ

Gotta love my friends. Fresh avocados and a baker with 20 years experience. They truly made this dish.

Hehe good friends to have! ๐Ÿ˜€

Oooh what a handsome and nutritious plate of fresh food! I adore your photos in amongst lush greenery, it always makes everything so appealing, and my mouth practically overflows with drool as I scroll down haha :-) You sure are lucky to have an abundance of amazing fruits & veg. Great recipe, great post!

Thanks, Joanna! The garden is quite lush and wild these days with the non-stop rain.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59908.77
ETH 3191.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43