You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Real Talk About Friends On Steem... Or Lack Thereof

in #friendship5 years ago

Awwww, Matt~ It's always hard to make friends, really. I've found very few willing to engage at a real level, there are sooooooooooooo many Steemians whose posts I've faithfully visited with comments, to offer them a chance of friendship, of real connection, and the few that did take up the offer is fewer than 10%

It has certainly demoralized me.

I've decided to stop my mountainous commenting commitment last week. Almost 25k comments I've made in less than 2 years in Steemit, and I'm finally defeated. Thanks, Steemians!!!

Kidding aside, I did meet some really beautiful people, that I'm thankful for. Maybe all that invested time and efforts did pay off, after all :)

Last week, I actually met @kommienezuspadt in person, and I was super happy now that I've decided to break my own inner fears to do it :D :D :D

A-ny-way, just saying, there's a few good eggs around <3 And though the numbers might be depressing some days, some other days, I think we have to give thanks for every little rainbow we get, hey? :)

Sort:  

Meetups with Steem friends are fun (at least so far). My wife and I hosted a couple for a few days a couple weeks ago and they are awesome folk. Looking forward to meeting them again later in the year or next year. Hopefully will catch up with @kommienezuspadt at some point too (maybe at a shoot :D).

Wow, that'd be cool, if you do meet with Lars at a shoot!!! I'd definitely be looking forward to see a post on that :D !!!!

I'm glad your experiences has been fun at Steem meetups, too :) I've had terrible meet ups with internet people in the past that did NOT care for new friends' boundaries. They just think they know better than others about everything, so I am very cautious.

But Lars was an absolute awesomeness :D I'm really, super glad to have met the few awesome people, for sure :D :D :D

Your wife and you seem to be awesome folk, too! It's always great to find gems like you :D Making friends and real connections and always happy to engage * ___ * Beautiful souls!

But Lars was an absolute awesomeness :D I'm really, super glad to have met the few awesome people, for sure :D :D :D

I am hoping that one day it is more possible to get to know people here. Until that post, I didn't realise you were in Australia. :)

Part of the problem of Steem currently is not being able to easily find the people that matter to us, but perhaps that is also what makes them more special when we do.

I think we can find people over time, it's just the maintenance or growth of those relationships hits a wall when they're exclusively boxed in on Steem.

I agree, but it isn't always possible to meet up which is why the offchain chats are important also. There are only a handful of Finnish Steemians and not all are as charming as @eveuncovered

Offchain chats could easily be on the phone, Whatsapp, etc.. Discord seems to be the limit for most, which makes sense, but maybe one day that barrier will be knocked down.

I talk with people offchain too and on the phone. Discord is easier for many though and it keeps more anonymity which some appreciate. I have also had people visit me and when I travel try to meet people.

As evidenced by your superb writing skills, tenacity, creativity, and dedication, it seems that you're certainly an exception to the rule.

Do not feel demoralized, you really should not. Social media has changed so much the interactions with people, it is saddening to see. Furthermore, irl friends are also overrated, because it does not always comes from 2 sides.

Hahah, I will try not to let it get to me, but it really has gotten a lot harder these days so I'll dial down for now :) Besides, twenty four thousand comments is a lot of commitment and my energy isn't a limitless resource....

friendships are always tricky, you are right, both irl and online.... it's always difficult to find the genuine ones but i guess those are the ones that are worth all the other troubles for :)

Thank you for the encouragement comment, though! I appreciate you taking the time to reply <3

Could you please host training sessions on "The Ideal Steemian?" You're the cream of the crop with world-class interpersonal skills, thoughtfulness and kindness.

I get the demoralization thing as you can see. I've spent a lot of time thinking that genuine communication would help real world relationships develop, but for some reason (or my ineffectiveness), not many people have shown interest in that. Some start off that way, but then vanish unless I reach out. It's no fun if it's not mutual and there's no need to force it.

On the bright rainbow side, YOU, I think you're quite far away from where I am, but feel free to message me directly on Discord and we can chat more there. Whatsapp makes non-Steem communication simple and free for those who don't fear crossing that line.

I am sure that your labors were not in vain! At least you found out about such a wonderful person like me! Forgive me for my modesty. :D

Hahahah, I AM glad I found you... I remember at first I thought you weren't very talkative and I kept commenting and visiting and I was happy when you finally started to reply :)

Really, sometimes I worry that I'm bothering people with my visits/comments/attention so it's always good when I get signals that they at least do not mind my attempts at friendshipness lol

There's SO many accounts I visit/comment/reach out to, daily........ so it's always feels great when there's a pulse back :D

You're NEVER EVER bothering me with your visits. They're usually the best ones on my posts, so keep that in mind if you're doubting that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70765.98
ETH 3797.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.46