Friendsday--cactus

in #friendsday5 years ago

My #friendsday post for the challenge by @shasta

Tag a friend with what you
know they like!
Any day, everyday.

This post is especially for @erikah, because she asked to see more of my prickly photos!

Cholla cactus are native to the Southwestern USA and Northern Mexico.

Scientific name: Cylindropuntia

image

They are known for their barbed spines that attach themselves to skin, fur, and clothing. One variety is known as the jumping cactus, and although they don't actually jump, it is best not to get too close.

image

image

If you come in contact with any cactus spines and are not carrying forceps, you can search for two sturdy sticks and use them to grasp the barbed spines and pull them free.

There are lots of prickly plants in the desert! Here is a variety of my cactus photos....

image

image

image

image

image

image

Shadow Photo Contest Round 51- Tool Shadows



Posted with eSteem

if you want to try using eSteem, but have questions, feel free to ask! I'd be happy to help!

Do you use eSteem?
eSteem is a Mobileiphone& PCcomputer app. for Steem with great features. Also, you get Incentives posting through eSteem apps.

eSteem Spotlight; eSteem provides rewards for it top users in Leader Board with most Posts, Comments and Highest Earners.

Download eSteem for your Mobileiphone
Android devices Google Play Store
IOS devices Apple Store

Download eSteem Surfer for your PCcomputer
Available for all OS Github


Join eSteem Discord https://discord.gg/UrTnddT

Join eSteem Telegram http://t.me/esteemapp

Proud to be a member of The Steemians Directory

image

Sort:  

Cholla catus are impressive. They can make a real tangle of spines! When I lived in Arizona, I ate Cholla buds regularly. They take some processing, but are good vegetables. The first time, I made a giant mistake.

I boiled the buds to remove the spines (instead of burning them off on coals from a fire, which works better). The boiling did get the spines off the cholla buds and the spines were all soft. I cleaned up my kitchen with a dishrag and towels that I put into my regular laundry. Those spines got into all my laundry, including my underwear, and they got hard and sharp again when they were dry. It was a painful experience! :O

I've also crashed my bicycle into a few of them, riding at night. I'm not the brightest or the most coordinated Cholla in the cactus patch, I guess. Thanks for the chance to reminisce!

It is so wonderful to hear from you! I check in every once in a while to see if you have posted something new and I'm always disappointed.

I will never look at Cholla cactus without remembering your laundry story! They are certainly tenacious. I have eaten prickly pair, and I'm sure the preparation is much simpler with them.

Oh yeah, Prickly Pear pads or the red fruit are so much simpler. I'll be posting again pretty soon. I'm trying to get back in the swing of things, especially to see what everyone else is doing. It's nice to see your shadow photo contest series is going well!

It will be good to have you back! The Shadow Contest is a lot of fun. Let me know if I can help in any way.

Thanks!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

The cacti look like they are glowing in some of the photos.

That late afternoon desert sun can create some incredible light. I have a bunch of photos that I hesitate to post because it looks like I have oversaturated them, when really it was just the desert sunlight creating crazy colors.

beautiful cactus my friend.
the excellent photography @melinda010100

Thank you so much! 😊

Thank you so much Melinda, I love them all, it's so nice to see them again 🙂🌵🏜️

I hope someday you are able to travel to the American southwest so that you can see them for yourself!

Buenas tardes amiga @melinda010100 deseo que se encuentre bien al igual que su familia amiga , hermosas imágenes de las variedades de cactus . Deseo que tenga una feliz tarde y noche y que mi Dios me la proteja amiga.

Muchas gracias, @edgar! Espero que estés a salvo y bien.

I love that final sunset on a saguaro. :-)

Oh, thanks! I have only traveled through the southwest a few times but it fascinates me. It is all so different from Wisconsin!

Howdy again Melinda! This is a great selection of cactus plants and photos! I don't really like cactus but they look great in photos! lol.

I probably wouldn't be thrilled if they were growing in my yard! But as a novelty to take pictures of when I am traveling through the west they are interesting!

Right! yes, they are marvelously designed plants. Only humans can destroy them I think. The variety and styles are amazing and you do such a great job of showcasing them!

These photos of all these cactus are beautiful. 🌵

Thanks, D! How are things in your world today?

Today I was at home all day. Seeing news of what happened and then Nicolas Maduro is sworn in as president and is supposed to be president until 2025

Time to get out of there.

Yes, that is what I want. Get out of here, because everything seems to get worse! You know here every day the price of the dollar changes and that makes the food more expensive

I worry that things will turn violent. Desperate people do desperate things.

I'm worried about that, too. Today I would like to leave here now! But you do not get that easy when you do not have the money for go out

I sincerely wish I had the money to help. I have had some big expenses of my own. My furnace has quit working and I am hopeful they can come tomorrow to install a new one, but it will cost $3,000. We all really need the price of Steem to go up now!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by melinda010100 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68789.22
ETH 3862.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66