The Housewife Recipe Book - Chana Puri: A classic Mauritian Snack - Page 33

Hello lovely foodies of the steemit world!

Welcome to another page of The Housewife Recipe Book! The 33rd page of today will be my contribution in the Friday Foodies contest organized by the lovely and supportive @maryfavour! This is my 2nd time entering this new contest! Do check out @maryfavour blog for more info!

So today I will show you how to make a very tasty but not so healthy classical Mauritian snack named Chana Puri! If I am not mistaken this snack originates from India, if anyone knows would be great to get some more info on it!

Chana Puri
DSC_0053.JPG


To make these yummy fried snacks, you will need:

  • Flour
  • Yeast
  • Salt
  • Water
  • Potato
  • Yellow split peas
  • Coriander leaves
  • Cumin powder
  • Turmeric powder
  • Garlic paste

You have to start by making the dough which is like a thick pancake batter!
Mix the flour with salt and yeast!
Add warm water till you have a like a thick pancake batter!

DSC_0032.JPG


This is how the batter will look after adding the warm water!
Let it rest for about 2 hours in room temperature!

DSC_0036.JPG


In the meantime, put the potato and yellow split peas to cook in little salted water!

DSC_0038.JPG


Once cooked, crush it with a spoon or fork and add turmeric powder, cumin powder, coriander leaves, garlic paste and season with little salt!
Put the mixture back on fire till it is well dry!

DSC_0040.JPG


When dried up, make small balls with the potato-yellow split peas mixture and reserve!

DSC_0042.JPG


After the 2 hour rest, this is how the batter will look like!
Ready to cook!

DSC_0039.JPG


Put the small balls on the batter and coat them with the batter with your hand!

DSC_0049.JPG


Put one by one to fry in hot oil!
They cook quite rapidly! And they don't need to have too much coloration, the whiter they are the better!

DSC_0050.JPG


Once cooked, put on kitchen paper to drain the excess oil!
Eat as soon as possible with a hot chutney!

DSC_0053.JPG


Bon Apetit my friends!

So voila my dear friends, my entry into Fridayfoodies as well as the 33rd page of my series!

Do try it out, I am sure you will love it!

I hope you enjoyed this new page of The Housewife Recipe Book!

Kindly upvote, comment and resteem for more to come very soon!

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL!

Thank you!
@creativewoman

Sort:  

AJ picked your post @creativewoman for his #TOP5 FOOD POST. Visit AJ's FOOD ROUNDUP to view where your post is ranked.
badge.jpeg

I love almost everything fried hahah. Guilty pleasure.

Hi my dear! Thank you for your comments, am glad that you love them.

Hello, my friend @creativewoman. Your 2nd entry came in quite early. I'm still preparing the post for selection of winners for the 1st contest. Hopefully, I'll finish working on that tonight so that I can be free to create the Friday foodie 2 post for tomorrow.
I would also do my best to enter for @steemit-ironchef's contest next week.
Thanks for sharing this new recipe-Chana Puri. Instead of deep frying, I'll try to see if I can make it using my new airfryer. Steem on!

Hi my dear! I sent my entry early because today i went to my aunt, and your entry in steemit iron chef it will be very funny, and you will enjoy in this contest, am sure, i hope you love this Mauritian Chana puri, because here the Mauritian like it so much, they like all kinds of salted cakes in deep frying.
If you try it let's me know.
Have a great weekend.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by creativewoman from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Hello @creativewoman, I am loving this snacks, even from the look I feel like eating them...

Always having a meal with short procedures...this my be my entry for next #fridayfoodies contest if I am able to get the ingredients on time.

Thanks for sharing lovely food recipes..

@bekky

Hi my friend! Am very happy to hear this from you, that you like them, and if you want any help don't hesitate to ask me.

Waoh! Thanks for this reply, I will not hesitate to ask you for any help just aa you said if need be.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62996.10
ETH 3122.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88