LEARNING BY PHOTOS

in #french7 years ago

Studying is not always easy peasy...it can be tedious and dull. But these reasons should not be an excuse to stop, instead, it should be the reason to be creative. And learning a new language needs definitely needs creativity.

Being a foodie, anything edible is something that strikes my interest. So, when offered to attend an event that will serve some French delicacies, I grabbed that opportunity and started learning some basics. Unfortunately, memorizing new words and phrases are not really my strength, so I had to devise and adopt a system that will make the words and phrases easier to remember. After a few days of trying different methods, I finally found the one that suits me, and it is remembering by association. I know that pictures are better remembered by the brain so I grabbed some pen and post-its and wrote the words that I recently learned from the language application that I'm using, pin it in front of me, and started making random sentences about it.

old-station-2808526_1920.jpg

Today I learned the word the French words "aller-retour" (round-trip) and "aller-simple" (one-way). So I made sentences like: "Je préfère les billets aller-retour que les billets aller simple parce que c'est moins cher" (I prefer round-trip tickets than one-way tickets because it's cheaper).

It's simple yet effective!

Sort:  

Congratulations @foodiesupertramp! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60526.80
ETH 2335.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53