Time to Think

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

366958167_939986949c_b.jpg
Exam hall | by jackhynes

My Saturday morning began in the library waiting for the start of the college entrance exam. Sitting by the window, three pencils sharpened, and my lucky pair of high tops, I watched as the proctor came into the room.

She looked pensive. We all listened to her speech about the importance of doing well, remaining calm, and the no brainer: no cheating.

To prepare, I studied all the parts of speech, knew to double-check my algebraic equations, and felt pretty sure about my grasp of philosophy. For better or worse, the proctor could start the exam.

"For this section, you will have a total of 90 minutes. No talking. When you are done remain sitting in your seat quietly."

The hours of preparation ended now. It was crunch time.

The first question was a multiple-choice question about the definition of an adverb. Easy stuff. I blew through that section in no time sure of my answers.

Then an essay question. It started with a paragraph about the use of artificial intelligence, robots, and humans. Like, how will we as humans can survive the future in a world of intelligent robots, or something along those lines. Then the question: Write an integrated, articulate essay about the rising reality of smart machines.

First off, my phone is smarter than me. So the reality is I'm already surrounded by smart machines. I could write that, but then I'd have a whole page to write.

Think!

What about all the free time I will have to spend hanging out YesIChat? No. That sounds like I'm lazy.

I could lie and say smart machines will allow me to paint or write or solve complex problems. Sounds like I'm running for homecoming queen.

Think!

I need an introduction, three supporting sentences, and a final wrap up. Wow, that sounds so easy.

"You are halfway there. Just 45 minutes to finish this part of the exam," the proctor said.

45 minutes?

I looked at the exam. I still had another essay to write and a section on parts of speech. Ugh

I just need to write something. In all honesty, maybe it doesn't matter if I spend too much time in the chat rooms.

Think!


Day 159: 5 Minute Freewrite: Monday - Prompt: think by @mariannewest

wordsmith-divider.png


DQmdH9oFNudU2pPyjrMh1pxFSCMyVTAtfwJ5tSyQ8GjPRzG.png
wordsmith-divider-bottom.png
DQmbPpXJ2wef8iLbmMqTsqmHNN6fPzFrjuiND4MTMzB2Joi_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

THE ROBOT WILL NEVER BE MORE INTELLIGENT THAN US, BECAUSE THEY DO NOT THINK

they compute way better than us and this might be enough for them.

I don't know. I saw Ex Machina and I think she could take me.

This post reminded me of how I used to feel before or during an exam while I was studying at the university. Thanks for sharing it!

same here! ahaha

Of course, I still dream I have somehow missed the entire semester of lectures in Biology and now need to take the exam. I have a Biology grade, but to this day, I think I missed it. ;-)

It depends on how you define intelligence.

Nice piece. It reminded me of those lost memories of exams. As much good as I way, I used to hate them.

Keep the freewrite spirit! All posts from the awesome community #freewrite get an automatic sponsor vote from @lablockchain ;-).

Thank you for helping with the prompt delivery!

You live in Las Vegas!! Are you coming to the Steemit Creator Conference? If you use my name @mariannewest when buying a ticket - you get $ 25 off.
https://www.steemcreators.com/

I may not be here. Dad had open heart surgery replacing a valve and bypassing two arteries. I've been traveling near you to Temecula each weekend to keep him honest. But if I manage to stay in town, I'll look into it. Thanks for the generous offer!

Hope he is healing fast!!!

First of all, Thank you very much for recommending me for the @freewritehouse upvote! It means a lot to me you did that, and even more that you enjoy my content!

Second, darn you for reminding me I am going to college again next year! :P

Good story nonetheless, enjoyed the read :D

Oh, thank you, I was just seeing my own experience taking the entrance exams; those were tough for me. And as for your story, it's brilliant.

Yeah, I believe.. Such exams are difficult both because of the stress and because of their content... Ugh...

Shy
Thank you! You're making me blush :3

I loved all of the questions going through your mind. I could relate as I was always prepared and froze during exams. I enjoyed this story. : )
Resident cat here, just a small tiger, trying not to forget anything as I deliver today's prompt: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-160-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-tiger

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58440.50
ETH 2618.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39