Yesterday, it finally arrived!

in #freewrite7 years ago

IMG_20170627_123317.jpg

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/weekend-freewrite-12-20-2017-single-prompt-option

I've always wanted a note from a bank in San Antonio, ever since I started collecting paper money.

The early paper money was so beautiful, unlike the ugly bills in circulation today.

Finally, yesterday I received my first $5 San Antonio note, from San Antonio National Bank.

This note is very special to me as it happens to have 78228 on it. That was the zip code that my dad use to pitch at the post office. He had to memorize all the streets in that zip code and know the carrier who walked that route.

All Texas notes are hard to find so I'm lucky to get my hands on this one. 🇨🇱

Thanks for reading, Bruni

Sort:  

Hi @wonderwop! You have received 0.1 SBD tip + 0.02 SBD @tipU from @brisby :)

Check out new tipuvote! feature :)

Thanks for sharing your photo and your story! tip! Isn't it funny how some numbers have a special meaning to us? I still remember the phone number for the house we lived in when I was 5.

That's an interesting bank note! I've been interested in old bills, but have never taken the plunge into buying any.

I started with buying a graded Hawaii & Africa note, then it took off from there. Those two notes are must haves for paper money collectors so I figured I wouldn't be hurt if I had to sell them.

Thank you for the upvotes @goldkey & @silverstackeruk I really appreciate it. Happy New Year 🎉

I too have been thinking about buying old paper currency. I would agree that the older bills look a lot better than what is printed today. I still need to do some research about the best places to buy them/what they are worth so I can get the best value for the best price.

I try to stay around $100 for a graded note AU 55 and higher. For the Hawaii & North Africa. That's more than I would normally spend but I wanted nice specimens on those two.

I started with buying graded 1957 Silver Certificates Star Notes. You can usually pick those up for under $20 on eBay.

That gives me a good place to start. Thanks!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @wonderwop to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67475.08
ETH 3475.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65