It was Saturday morning...

in #freewrite7 years ago (edited)

IMG_20180201_101328.jpg

The market doors opened and I rushed inside, heading towards the back to grab my sample cart before Lisa noticed that I was 20 minutes late.

I was pulling my blue apron over my head when I registered the long line. Beginning in the bakery section, winding down around the Cheeses Of The World display, and past the salad bar. What the hell? It was Saturday morning! Didn’t people know how to sleep in? I sent up a prayer that they weren’t waiting for me.

The backroom doors parted to reveal Lisa, my cart, and a bunch of confetti filled balloons with “GRAND OPENING” written on them. (I guessed that was a “request denied” on my prayer…)

Not only was I seriously busted, not only was that line clearly waiting for me, but that meant three samples. The Mac & Cheese Phyllo Bites, the Micro-Ready Steak Chimichangas, and the Maple Chicken Sausages were stacked and ready to go.

My manager’s face was beaming. Her love of schadenfreude radiating from every part of her body.

I was going to be mauled. I plugged in my cookers and said "please give me a few minutes to cook my samples", the crowd grew restless.

I couldn't even coax them to go try the peanut butter smores, one isle away. Lisa just stood there with a big smurk on her face, pointing at her watch. ⌚

The maple sausages came out first, I just cut them in half, to get the line moving. I told them to get back in line if they wanted to try the other samples.

That sure dispersed them quickly, most went to the other stations and came back to visit me a little later. The line was long for most of the day, just my luck, it rained all day. 🌦

That's the last time I'll stop for breakfast 🍳before going to work, plus I had to stay over 20 minutes to clean the cookers.

We write by @brisby & @wonderwop

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-100-freewrite-history-and-a-contest-of-sorts

Sort:  

Great handling of the crowd @wonderwop! Looks like you managed to not be mauled after all! LOL tip! Thank you for teaming up and for finishing the story! Here's the link to the one you began.
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@brisby/saturday-s-visitor-we-write-with-wonderwop

Hi @wonderwop! You have received 0.1 SBD tip + 0.03 SBD @tipU from @brisby :)

@brisby wrote lately about: Saturday'S Visitor: We-Write With @Wonderwop. Feel free to follow @brisby if you like it :)

Tipuvote! - upvote any post with with 2.5 x profit :)

That's quite long for a 5 minutes writing. I just posted mine, please check.

This was different from the usual 5 minute freewrite exercise. For a We-Write, there is a total of 10 minutes for the story (since 2 people are writing for 5 minutes each). Have a great day!

Well done you guys!!! Brisby, tsk tsk - stopping for breakfast before work when you can eat samples for free all day long!!! 😜

And Bruni - you took care of the crowd in such a peaceful way!! No fistfights at all!!!

The coffee shop had 2 for 1 bacon rolls! How could I pass that up? 😂

That would be hard :)

Lesson learned. You can’t mess with grazers and their freebies.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60623.84
ETH 2572.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57