Geiger Kilo .999 Fine Silver Bar

in #freewrite6 years ago

IMG_20170702_125744_567.jpg

Below is my 5 minute #freewrite for today's prompt: quit

If you've never created a #freewrite before, please check out today's post by @mariannewest

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-271-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-quit

I've been watching the price of silver plummet the last three weeks and silver closed at $15.85 today. I was trying to quit buying silver until the end of the month, but when a hell of a deal comes across your doorstep, you better jump on it. I got a call from a buddy of mine that needed some money to fix his car's a/c, that went out last night. It's a 100° outside in San Antonio, so a/c is a necessity. He asked me if I wanted to buy a Geiger Kilo for $500, that's 1000 grams of .999 fine silver. Geiger's sell for a huge premium, so I know he paid big money for this bar. I took the bar, put it in my safe, and gave him $500, but I told him it would just be a loan, when he pays me back my $500 and a 12 pack of Diet Dr. Pepper, I'll give him back his bar. I don't like to take advantage of people when their luck turns, and I would hope that they would not take advantage of me. Pay it forward my friends! 💜

Story and photo by Bruni

z2u3jv2innyratziv1mo.jpgThanks @fireawaymarmot
U5dsLKV33HXTDu76NWm82XTqf9vk7ZG.gif

U5drpP6qjs4GazpyKU1saYeHLPtKDGV_1680x8400.png
Click my referral link for free Manna

DQmQJqzrUJjdziuTV2vq7pycn7nrHZ8MRo8wnKCZNX4RMUj_1680x8400.png

banner_bananafish.jpg

Sort:  

That's a good story: short, but sweet. That's nice of you to give him the option to buy the bar back at the same price (plus the 12 pack). Not many people would do that. Good for you!

Sometimes you just have to do the right thing, it's not like I'm making any real interest on my money, sitting in the bank. 👌

It's not always easy, but it's nice that you're helping him out while he's in a hard spot. And it's true, the banks don't pay much at all. Might as well help someone out. If he doesn't want to buy it back, then you still got a great deal!

It was so nice of you to help your friend in need and not taking advantage of him. It doesn't surprise me, knowing how you are always helping others. There are so many people in this world these days that are only looking out for themselves.

Resident cat here, wondering what blues you will choose: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-272-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-blues

Win a Membership in Steem Basic Income - Tell us About a Favorite Freewrite

Greetings, brave storyteller!
Finish the Story Contest - Weeek #21 is out, crispy and warm, for the first time on the Bananafish blog!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56787.81
ETH 2507.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.24